Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-28-2010, 12:40 AM
lheagle lheagle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 56
Default trouble while recording on Mbox Micro

Hi, after many troubles on my set up, and after all the treads that I wrote, I'm asking to somebody who can help if there's something I can get to be able to set up my cpu to be able to record, edit and run protools le 8.04 without troubles that I already have like latency issues, crashes, and cessions stop in the middle of recording.

Will I need to by an Hard Drive?

Will I need more ram?

Can I add an an Firewire Port?


SiSoftware Sandra

Computer
Model : Sony VGN-NW21EF_S
Workgroup : WORKGROUP
Host Name : LehnKessen-VAIO
User : Lehn Kessen

Processor
Model : Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU T4300 @ 2.10GHz
Speed : 2GHz
Cores per Processor : 2 Unit(s)
Threads per Core : 1 Unit(s)
Type : Mobile, Dual-Core
Integrated Data Cache : 2x 32kB, Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way, 64 byte line size
L2 On-board Cache : 1MB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 4-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing

Computer
Platform Compliance : Intel Centrino Mobile Technology
Mainboard : Sony VAIO
BIOS : AMI R1120Y4 08/20/2009
Bus(es) : PCI PCIe IMB USB FireWire/1394 i2c/SMBus
Multi-Processor (MP) Support : No
Multi-Processor Advanced PIC (APIC) : Yes
Total Memory : 4GB DDR3 SO-DIMM

Chipset
Model : Sony GM45 Mobile Controller Hub
Front Side Bus Speed : 4x 199MHz (796MHz)
Total Memory : 4GB DDR3 SO-DIMM
Channels : 2
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 398MHz (796MHz)

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : Nanya NT2GT64U8HD0BN-AD 2GB DDR2 SO-DIMM PC2-6400U DDR2-800 (5-6-6-18 3-24-6-3)
Memory Module : Nanya NT2GT64U8HD0BN-AD 2GB DDR2 SO-DIMM PC2-6400U DDR2-800 (5-6-6-18 3-24-6-3)

Video System
Video Adapter : ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4570 (80 SM4.1, 512MB DDR3, PCIe 2.00 x16)

Graphics Processor
STREAM Processor : ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4570 (80SP)

Storage Devices
WDC WD3200BEVS-26VAT0 (320GB, SATA150, 2.5", 5400rpm, NCQ, 8MB Cache) : 298GB (C:) (I:)
RICOH R5C822 : N/A (D:)
RICOH R5C592 4GB : 4GB (E:)
HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GT20N (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 1MB Cache) : N/A (F:)
NOFQ V8PEJ0LY30 (SCSI, BD-R, DVD+-R-DL, CD-R) : N/A (G:)
NOFQ V8PEJ0LY30 (SCSI, BD-R, DVD+-R-DL, CD-R) : N/A (H:)

Logical Storage Devices
System Reserved : 100MB (NTFS)
Protools (I:) : 126GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD3200BEVS-26VAT0 (320GB, SATA150, 2.5", 5400rpm, NCQ, 8MB Cache)
Hard Disk (C:) : 162GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD3200BEVS-26VAT0 (320GB, SATA150, 2.5", 5400rpm, NCQ, 8MB Cache)
Recovery : 9GB (NTFS)
Removable Drive (D:) : N/A @ RICOH R5C822
Removable Drive (E:) : 4GB (FAT32) @ RICOH R5C592 4GB
Optical Drive (F:) : N/A @ HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GT20N (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 1MB Cache)
Optical Drive (G:) : N/A @ NOFQ V8PEJ0LY30 (SCSI, BD-R, DVD+-R-DL, CD-R)
Optical Drive (H:) : N/A @ NOFQ V8PEJ0LY30 (SCSI, BD-R, DVD+-R-DL, CD-R)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : Sony (ICH9M) LPC Interface Controller
Audio Device : Sony (ICH9) HD Audio Controller
Audio Codec : Realtek Semiconductor 262 High Definition Audio
Audio Device : Sony RV730XT Audio device [Radeon HD 4670]
Audio Codec : ATI (AMD) HDMI Audio
Serial Port(s) : 2
Disk Controller : Sony (ICH9) Mobile SATA AHCI Controller
Disk Controller : Sony SD Bus Host Adapter
USB Controller 1 : Sony (ICH9) USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller 2 : Sony (ICH9) USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller 3 : Sony (ICH9) USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller 4 : Sony (ICH9) USB2 Enhanced Host Controller
USB Controller 5 : Sony (ICH9) USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller 6 : Sony (ICH9) USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller 7 : Sony (ICH9) USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller 8 : Sony (ICH9) USB2 Enhanced Host Controller
FireWire/1394 Controller 1 : Sony R5C832 IEEE-1394 Controller
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel 801xx/63xx SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : PDFCreator (4000x4000, Colour)
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer (600x600, Colour)
Fax : Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)

Peripherals
Media Player : R5C592 (3.78GB)
Media Player : ()

Network Services
Network Adapter : Marvell Yukon 88E8057 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller
Wireless Adapter 1 : Atheros AR928X Wireless Network Adapter (802.11g (ERP), TKIP, 54Mbps)

Power Management
Mains (AC) Line Status : On-Line
Battery No 1 : 100%

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 7 Home 6.01.7600
Platform Compliance : x64

Windows Experience Index
Current System : 5.0
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-28-2010, 01:00 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,183
Default Re: trouble while recording on Mbox Micro

You will need a dedicated qualified second hard drive for your sessions. This computer is equipped with a 5200-RPM system drive. This should be replaced with a 7200-RPM drive. Disable the wireless while running Pro Tools. This Pentium computer is powerful enough for basic tasks and smaller sessions in Pro Tools 8.0.4. Running large sessions at low buffer settings (for less latency) will be difficult. More RAM might help some if your motherboard can handle it.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-28-2010, 01:10 AM
lheagle lheagle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 56
Default Re: trouble while recording on Mbox Micro

ok so from you I should not try to add a firewire port but just replace my low hard drive?
I heard I can add like 8go ram on my empty port so I'll do it
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-28-2010, 01:38 AM
lheagle lheagle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 56
Default Re: trouble while recording on Mbox Micro

so I just caught that I already have myself a firewire port, (thanks for the idea of a sandra report)

now that I already have that now, I can just get the secondary hard drive running 7200 and the ram then I'll be good, won't I?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-28-2010, 04:46 AM
shtik shtik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 165
Default Re: trouble while recording on Mbox Micro

I know a seperate drive for audio is required.. but then, what's the point of having an Mbox micro? If all you need is the micro and a computer, fine. But if you need another external drive, it's not that portable anymore..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-28-2010, 05:03 AM
lheagle lheagle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 56
Default Re: trouble while recording on Mbox Micro

I'm about to sell my mbox micro to upgrade to an mbox that gon make me able to record my hardware devices like keyboards and Mpc.

Sorry, I had to mention it. And the fact is that's why I'm questioning about what I really need now with my current laptop with the last mbox for example cause I wanna stay on Protools LE 8.04
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-30-2010, 07:34 AM
djgizmo djgizmo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 79
Default Re: trouble while recording on Mbox Micro

Hit me up if your interested in some kind of trade for your micro as I'd like to down grade from a mini to a micro.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-30-2010, 03:59 PM
lheagle lheagle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 56
Default Re: trouble while recording on Mbox Micro

just sold it dude
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trouble recording with mbox 3 mini (sound seems to work but can't record it) Vince6700 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-10-2011 07:20 AM
Trouble registering Mbox Micro! and upgrading to PT9 devineandrew 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-16-2010 06:51 AM
MBox Micro 2 and other recording hardware InvalidInk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 02-16-2010 02:45 PM
OS trouble after using Mbox Micro Andmoore1230 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 01-06-2009 08:35 AM
S/PDIF + Mbox = Recording Trouble. Can you help? nickdahl 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 08-01-2006 10:12 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com