Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-22-2007, 08:38 PM
pguy pguy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 443
Default Pro Tools Difficulty level....

Hey Guy's

I'm a soon to be pro tools user, just ordered the 003 Rack, and I was wondering, since I'd assume that lot of you her are pretty experienced Pro Tools users, based on the expertise in your posts,

.....anyway, I was wondering how you would rate Pro Tools as far as difficulty level on a scale of
1 to 10, with 1 being real easy and 10 being very difficult?

Also, how would you compare Pro Tools difficulty level as compared to Sonar, Cubase, as far as being more or less difficult?

I've heard PT is real difficult.

I'm curious as to what I'm getting in to.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-22-2007, 09:06 PM
DSG LABEL DSG LABEL is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Syracuse NY
Posts: 53
Default Re: Pro Tools Difficulty level....

if you have no experiance with a DAW you will find PT difficult. Save your self a ton of time and get a dvd like Serets of the pros or some of the PT videos from ask video. I personaly got the secrets of the pros and i can say they are worth every red cent. also watch the method one dvd that comes with the 003 befor you even hook it up.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-22-2007, 09:16 PM
Kris75's Avatar
Kris75 Kris75 is offline
Space Cabin Audio
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,555
Default Re: Pro Tools Difficulty level....

Don't get ahead of yourself. Look at a few main areas first then expand.

Input/Output
Inserts
Send
Bus

Can you use the copy and paste function in Word, Notepad, or any other windows app? Chances are yes. Worry about more advanced PT stuff as you NEED it. It's one of the best manuals in the industry. Easy to read, and written with common sense in mind.

Pro tools is only as hard as you make it. You can run an easy session with only a few hours of use. Obviously there is more than PT knowledge that goes into making a great recording though.
__________________
Sign up for all things....AWESOME!




Kris
May the music move you
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-23-2007, 01:33 AM
mandal mandal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Norway, Mandal
Posts: 253
Default Re: Pro Tools Difficulty level....

Here is a small exercise...

First download a free REX2 file from here: http://www.platinumloops.com/


Before you start you need to learn the different windows...
a) Menu: Window -> Mix
b) Menu: Window -> Edit
c) Menu: Window -> Transport


Now you are ready to...

1) Create a stereo audio track in "ticks" (Track -> New)
2) Menu: Window -> Workspace
3) Drag'n drop the RX2 file into the track.
4) View -> Transport (select all: Counters, MIDI, Expanded)
5) Adjust tempo in the Transport window by clicking the conductor...
6) Select the audio on the same track with the selector-tool....(in the Edit Window)
7) Edit -> Duplicate the audio a few times...(in the Edit Window)
8) Select the audio again with the same selector-tool...(in the Edit Window)
9) AudioSuite -> Reverb -> D-Verb
10) Press the "Preview" button and select a reverb.
11) Press the "Process" button to add reverb to the track.
__________________
Avid OMNI PCIe
Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5
Avid HEAT
Dell 43" 4K LED P4317Q
CPU: Intel Core i9-10980XE
Motherboard: Gigabyte X299X AORUS MASTER E-ATX
Cooler: Be quiet! Dark Rock PRO 4
RAM: 64 GB Crucial Ballistix Sport LT DDR4
Screen card: MSI GeForce GTX 1660 VENTUS XS OC
Cabinet: Fractal Design Define 7 XL Black
Disk1: Samsung 970 PRO 1TB M.2 SSD
Disk2: Samsung 840 PRO SSD
Disk3: Samsung 860 EVO SSD
Power: Corsair RM750x, 750W PSU
Microsoft Windows 10 Home 64-bit OEM DVD
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-23-2007, 03:18 AM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Pro Tools Difficulty level....

Note, for those with version 7.4 make sure 'Import REX Files as Region Groups' is checked unless you require your REX files converted into the session's audio file format.






filosofem
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-23-2007, 07:41 AM
VanDerGraf VanDerGraf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Anytown, USA
Posts: 411
Default Re: Pro Tools Difficulty level....

There is a bit of a learning curve, as with any powerful program. Definitely read the manual. I also found the Groovebox Videos very worthwhile.

Good Luck!
__________________
vandergraf.net

"All the truth in the world adds up to one big lie" :: Bob Dylan
¯
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-23-2007, 07:42 AM
Third Eye Studios Third Eye Studios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Albuquerque, NM USA
Posts: 1,877
Default Re: Pro Tools Difficulty level....

Hello,
IMO if you know recording basics, Pro Tools is pretty easy to start using right away. I've always thought Pro Tools was more intuitive than the others. You don't have to get that deep into it to start recording. As you start to require more from the program it will have everything you need. It's like learning to play guitar, when you start to play you can learn your first song in a day, but it will take years to master it.

Have fun with it and make sure to back your sessions up!!

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-23-2007, 11:03 AM
pguy pguy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 443
Default Re: Pro Tools Difficulty level....

Thanks Everyone!

I've spent about 6 to 7 years with Sonar donig simple basic recording and stuff, but I'm sure every DAW presents its own difficulties.

Kris75 mentioned that the Pro Tools manual is one of the best in the industry.

Why? How is it different from other DAW manuals?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-23-2007, 05:20 PM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: Pro Tools Difficulty level....

Quote:

Why? How is it different from other DAW manuals?
I'll give you an opinion or two...
First of all, some of the software and hardware I've used originates outside the English speaking world and the manuals loose a bit (or a lot) in the translation.

One piece of software I use a great deal, the manual is lacking in many of the common terms specific to that software, or the explanation is too brief and/or illogical.
Many times the index function is incomplete as well.

I find none of that in the Digidesign reference guides.
I agree they are excellent... if not the best in the industry.

While you're waiting on your hardware to arrive, why not head for the Downloads section and see what you think...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-24-2007, 09:17 AM
pguy pguy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 443
Default Re: Pro Tools Difficulty level....

JMS40 Thanks.

I'll definitely do that.

I also have Pro Tools DVD Volumes I & II, which seem to be pretty good. They mention a few things that they claim are not in the manual.

So I guess it's a good supplement. Good visual.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Difficulty buying Pro Tools 11 upgrade from Avid store brendan jury macOS 3 02-01-2014 10:44 AM
Damaged Pro Tools LE 8 Disc, Registration Difficulty larboy57 Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 10-10-2012 02:12 PM
Difficulty opening Pro Tools Omee3 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 10-25-2010 07:32 PM
New To Site, New to Pro Tools LE, Having Difficulty... :) rhcpspokane1981 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 01-20-2009 07:27 PM
Difficulty installing Pro Tools LE 5.1 (OS 9.1) - DigiSystem INIT Hugen 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 07-03-2003 03:04 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com