Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools | First Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-10-2020, 11:26 AM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,566
Default Pro Tools First Catalina Compatibility

I have been doing my best to get some of my clients to move to Pro Tools. One client bought the MacBook Pro 16", and of course it comes with macOS Catalina (as does every new mac). I showed him how to register for Pro Tools First so that he could try out the app and see if he can get used to it . . .

and away we go . . .

Yes, we've had the full version of Pro Tools working with Catalina since last year - but here we are nine months later, and still no Pro Tools First update. How difficult can it be to make a slimmed down version of 2020.5?

I can't even show my client now why it would be worth him switching. This "First" version is an important stepping stone for pulling in your future customers, and this incredibly long wait for an update does nothing for Avid's business.

Please. Pretty please . . . do yourselves a favor. . . and at least give us all some updates on progress, expected release date, etc.

Last edited by Tweakhead; 08-14-2020 at 12:55 PM. Reason: meant to have "Catalina" in the title. maybe an admin can re-title the actual thread name.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-11-2020, 07:10 AM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,333
Default Re: Pro Tools First Mojave Compatibility

If you are just looking to get their feet wet, you could have them try the trial version of regular Pro Tools.

Pro Tool Free Trial
__________________
Will K

System Details
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-11-2020, 07:04 PM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,566
Default Re: Pro Tools First Catalina Compatibility

thansk, but it seems he'd have to buy a physical iLok just to try it out, as they don't offer a simple web auth for the trial.

Last edited by Tweakhead; 08-14-2020 at 12:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-12-2020, 07:20 AM
Netmania Netmania is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 37
Default Re: Pro Tools First Mojave Compatibility

You can install and use Pro Tools Full with ilok Cloud Session. The only need is a internet connection. No physical ilok dongle needed since Pro Tools 2018. Should work for your client as well.

Best
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-14-2020, 12:53 PM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,566
Default Re: Pro Tools First Catalina Compatibility

Thanks Netmania. I didn't think that was even possible. Much appreciated for the tip.


In fact I found a cool walkthru on YouTube for anyone interested in doing it. (this dude should do voiceovers professionally):
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x0prY209ai4


p.s. A nice little tip for anyone wanting to download a YouTube video in either 720p or 1080p, is to simply add the two letters 'pp' after the word 'youtube' in any url. eg:
https://www.youtubepp.com/watch?v=x0prY209ai4


It will then give you the ability to save any YouTube tutorial via y2mate.com.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-14-2020, 01:11 PM
Netmania Netmania is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 37
Default Re: Pro Tools First Mojave Compatibility

Thanks for your feedback. Benoni is doin professional stuff already, as far as I can see. He is also member of this community.

Best
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-31-2020, 09:59 AM
hanky hanky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Athens, GA
Posts: 2
Default Re: Pro Tools First Mojave Compatibility

Is it the case that Pro Tools First isn't compatible at all with Catalina right now?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-01-2020, 12:49 AM
Netmania Netmania is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 37
Default Re: Pro Tools First Mojave Compatibility

As stated July 21 from Avid still no Catalina Support. Maybe it will come after Big Sur is introduced :-(
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-02-2020, 08:35 PM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,566
Default Re: Pro Tools First Mojave Compatibility

yeah . . . and then Apple will be switching from Intel processors to their own processor chips. Oh the fun.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-03-2020, 11:10 AM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,333
Default Re: Pro Tools First Mojave Compatibility

FYI, Pro Tools First 2020.9 was just released which has support for macOS Catalina (10.15.6).
__________________
Will K

System Details
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 12.5 on Mojave anyone? Kerochan Pro Tools 12 0 03-28-2020 12:54 PM
iMAC Mojave and DIGI003 compatibility michaelacomptonmusic macOS 1 02-12-2020 03:42 PM
Mojave compatibility AlexLakis Pro Tools 2019 2 05-09-2019 09:03 AM
Pro tools on Mojave It's time mixgate macOS 8 05-06-2019 06:04 PM
Mojave compatibility mightyduck Pro Tools 2018 2 02-22-2019 09:10 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com