Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-01-2009, 06:38 AM
Kolethomsen Kolethomsen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 6
Default Asus P6T WS Pro (Core i7) for HD2 Accel PCI-X

Hi all,

I'm currently using an HD2 Accel PCI-X system on a G5 2x 2,7 Ghz, running 4 UAD-cards in an old expansion chassis.

However, since i'm doing a lot of mixing, it's really lacking RTAS-power.
I've been looking into assembling a PC based on this motherboard:

http://dk.asus.com/products.aspx?l1=...09&modelmenu=1

Has anyone tried it? - It would be perfect for my use, since i have no intention of buying the overpriced 6x PCI-X -> PCIe chassis and the equally overpriced Mac Pro 8-core.

My HD2 Accel is enough for my use, and this motherboard would fit the two PCI-X Digi-cards, plus PCIe 1x graphics and possibly 2x UAD-2 PCIe.

Anything to take into consideration?

Thanks!


Kristian, Denmark
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-03-2009, 02:34 AM
GeneOuse GeneOuse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 613
Default Re: Asus P6T WS Pro (Core i7) for HD2 Accel PCI-X

The only thing to worry about is that the ProTools HD plays well with X58 chipset that this board is based on.
ProTools LE runs great on i7 based PC's so if there aren't any compatibility issues with X58 and Digi's PCI-X cards it should run just fine. So far I havent heard anyone go HD based on i7 CPU so will have to wait and see.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-29-2009, 09:19 AM
sundayhouse sundayhouse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 7
Default Re: Asus P6T WS Pro (Core i7) for HD2 Accel PCI-X

Kristian, I'm looking to build the same machine. Did you try this?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-29-2009, 11:33 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,540
Default Re: Asus P6T WS Pro (Core i7) for HD2 Accel PCI-X

I think the X58 chipset is the only i7 setup at this time and its working great with LE.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-03-2009, 02:32 PM
slapovi slapovi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: ljubljana
Posts: 2
Default Re: Asus P6T WS Pro (Core i7) for HD2 Accel PCI-X

Hi all,

does anybody knows if there is some way to have both, HD2 core process PCI-X and Accel PCIe, together on the same machine (PC, PT8/HD), what configuration of PC do you suggest?
Thanx, Martin
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-19-2009, 04:01 AM
Paneka Paneka is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1
Default Re: Asus P6T WS Pro (Core i7) for HD2 Accel PCI-X

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kolethomsen View Post
Hi all,

I'm currently using an HD2 Accel PCI-X system on a G5 2x 2,7 Ghz, running 4 UAD-cards in an old expansion chassis.

However, since i'm doing a lot of mixing, it's really lacking RTAS-power.
I've been looking into assembling a PC based on this motherboard:

http://dk.asus.com/products.aspx?l1=...09&modelmenu=1

Has anyone tried it? - It would be perfect for my use, since i have no intention of buying the overpriced 6x PCI-X -> PCIe chassis and the equally overpriced Mac Pro 8-core.

My HD2 Accel is enough for my use, and this motherboard would fit the two PCI-X Digi-cards, plus PCIe 1x graphics and possibly 2x UAD-2 PCIe.

Anything to take into consideration?

Thanks!


Kristian, Denmark
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-31-2010, 10:07 AM
kilroyrock kilroyrock is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 48
Default Re: Asus P6T WS Pro (Core i7) for HD2 Accel PCI-X

Hi Kolethomsen,

I'm looking into pc's with pci-x slots, did you ever figure out your solution? Anything you can recommend to me? Thanks!

Rob

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kolethomsen View Post
Hi all,

I'm currently using an HD2 Accel PCI-X system on a G5 2x 2,7 Ghz, running 4 UAD-cards in an old expansion chassis.

However, since i'm doing a lot of mixing, it's really lacking RTAS-power.
I've been looking into assembling a PC based on this motherboard:

http://dk.asus.com/products.aspx?l1=...09&modelmenu=1

Has anyone tried it? - It would be perfect for my use, since i have no intention of buying the overpriced 6x PCI-X -> PCIe chassis and the equally overpriced Mac Pro 8-core.

My HD2 Accel is enough for my use, and this motherboard would fit the two PCI-X Digi-cards, plus PCIe 1x graphics and possibly 2x UAD-2 PCIe.

Anything to take into consideration?

Thanks!


Kristian, Denmark
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
asus k8ndl mother board with accel pie55 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 5 05-18-2012 08:35 PM
ASUS P6T WS/ i7/ windows7/ HD2 PCIX core and accel itguy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 02-25-2011 06:20 AM
Have a Quad Core (Asus P5K). Use Only One Core Active For Best Results? MIDI Issues. epu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 08-12-2009 02:24 AM
HD 3 Accel PCIe = 2 Accel Core + 1 HD Accel???? Eduardo Apolonia Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 24 08-04-2007 02:20 PM
Runing Accel plugs on the "Accel PCIe core DaveSB Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 12-19-2005 10:25 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:30 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com