Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-07-2012, 05:02 PM
tomcat tomcat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York
Posts: 1,453
Default PT 10.0.1 NOT Ready for Prime Time

Shame on me for upgrading. Major and debilitating automation problems.
Certain tracks in big sessions randomly ignore their volume graph and play back at unity, or they don't play at all. If I start playback of a problem region after the breakpoint for a volume, it plays fine, but if it is cruising along, 60% of the time, it is either ballistic or silent. A restart fixes it for an hour or two.
I have seen this on four big mixes in the past month. Grrrrrrrrrrr. Here at work yet another evening trying to get things out the door correctly.
Thanks for listening. I feel better.
tom
__________________
tom

www.tompaul.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-07-2012, 05:58 PM
The golfer The golfer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Montreal / Canada
Posts: 725
Default Re: PT10.01 NOT Ready for Prime Time

Tom,

I feel sorry for you.

We are currently using two HD6 systems with PT10. They are pretty stable on maxed out session apart from some minor bugs. But we are planning to buy a few HDX systems this month.

Is it possible to know what did you upgrade to? PT 10 software only, Hd native or HDX? On what kind of computer?
__________________
Serge Hamel
Mixer / Sound Designer
http://www.netpostproduction.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-07-2012, 06:40 PM
tomcat tomcat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York
Posts: 1,453
Default Re: PT10.01 NOT Ready for Prime Time

quad core 2x2.8 gig mac pros
hd 6 accel, (expansion chassis)
192
sync
Icon D-Control
__________________
tom

www.tompaul.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-07-2012, 06:56 PM
laki laki is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 507
Default Re: PT10.01 NOT Ready for Prime Time

Hey Tom,

Having similar issues over here.

Do you remember if you had any offline media in the session?

The reason I'm asking is because we are seeing it happen mostly (if not exclusively) in sessions that have an offline clip in them. We haven't had time to confirm though because the bug is so random.

HD3 Accel
192 + 96 i/o
OSX 10.6.8
Mac Pro 1.1 2x Dual 2.6 Ghz
16 GB RAM

Cheers,

Laki
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-07-2012, 07:02 PM
laki laki is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 507
Default Re: PT10.01 NOT Ready for Prime Time

Uh.. Scratch that. Just had a report that it happened in a session without offline media.

Sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-07-2012, 07:07 PM
garnoil garnoil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,219
Default Re: PT10.01 NOT Ready for Prime Time

I see similar issues and also buses that just stop passing sound. Sends also act funky, all of the sudden I get major reverb for no reason at all. Sometimes, if I go back and play with a 30 second pre-roll that automation will kick in again correctly but it is very unpredictable. So many bugz it is very hard to keep track.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-07-2012, 08:28 PM
Postman Postman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Metropolis
Posts: 2,370
Default Re: PT10.01 NOT Ready for Prime Time

+1. I am finding weird and random volume and automation forgetfullness. Strange things. Yesterday I could start play just before an edit and hear the track at unity gain playback but starting playback a couple seconds before results in expected levels. Fixed only with a reboot, nothing else I tried made a difference. Same behavior sometimes with automation. Bypass is most obvious. Or, a track is silent until I reassign the output, then it is fixed. Reboot seems to fix all problems. I am pretty sure each time something weird happened, I have adding tracks or plugs or changed IO at some time before. For me it is changes to the mixer DSP that may be causing trouble. As long as I just push faders or edit, I seem to be stable. Except for the first run of the morning, when I've had reverb oddness. Like this morning with my client sipping his coffee. He didn't notice, I almost crapped.

Very unhappy Avid customer here in this regard. I can comfortably call myself a pro. Not so much the 'Tools.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-07-2012, 11:34 PM
klaukholm klaukholm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Copenhagen/Stockholm
Posts: 236
Default Re: PT10.01 NOT Ready for Prime Time

Same thing is happening here.
As a result we are now mixing most large trackcount material in Pyramix Masscore.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-08-2012, 01:14 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,425
Default Re: PT10.01 NOT Ready for Prime Time

Quote:
Originally Posted by Postman View Post
I am pretty sure each time something weird happened, I have adding tracks or plugs or changed IO at some time before.
Known issue:

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=311045
__________________
PTHDn 2019.10 (OSX10.14.4), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-08-2012, 03:36 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,425
Default Re: PT10.01 NOT Ready for Prime Time

Here´s another "goodie" in 10.0.1 that can lead to lost automation:

http://protools.ideascale.com/a/dtd/...cks/92071-3779
__________________
PTHDn 2019.10 (OSX10.14.4), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IS PT 11 ready for prime time ? bonzerboy Pro Tools 11 4 09-14-2013 06:55 PM
SSD ready for prime time? flommer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-29-2009 12:26 AM
BluRay ready for prime time? docbop Storage Subsystems 1 04-11-2009 02:46 PM
Pro Tools 8 Not Ready for Prime Time -- at least not here losttimestudios Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 52 12-26-2008 10:04 PM
6.7 Ready for Prime Time¿¿¿ NuBus Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 11-21-2004 09:33 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:56 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com