Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #61  
Old 10-22-2019, 10:46 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,901
Default Re: Falcon 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Lambert View Post
Maybe they're waiting until the offer expires?
Do we know For sure we are supposed to get Falcon 2 with our active plans and with subscriptions! When we got Falcon 1 we got a special Avid library that only worked as AAX64 bit and also only with active support plans and annual plans which stopped working when a customer stopped paying.

The new Falcon is a whole other library and it is a 260-ish value before the 27th so has anyone actually heard or read somewhere (where if that is true) that Falcon2 will be part of any of the license plans this time around? Either when updating our support and annual plan of a perpetual license or with a subscription that only works as long as we are paying the subs fee.

Would be interested in reading where this was written and everrything should have been explained there.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 10-22-2019, 11:34 PM
WorldStudios WorldStudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 811
Default Re: Falcon 2

It seems no one has any definitive answer and I would say that at 114 euros for V2, the full library and about 5 expansions (If you used MachFive), who cares? Owning it feels so much better. There are no free lunches. Avid wants you to feel obligated to renew the subscription because you started to use all the plugins that comes with pro tools. I am out of coverage right now and it feels good showing Avid that I am not paying for things I don’t need or already own.
__________________
Johan Bejerholm
World Studios
Sweden

Phone +46707773443
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 10-23-2019, 06:27 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,102
Default Re: Falcon 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
Do we know For sure we are supposed to get Falcon 2 with our active plans and with subscriptions! When we got Falcon 1 we got a special Avid library that only worked as AAX64 bit and also only with active support plans and annual plans which stopped working when a customer stopped paying.

The new Falcon is a whole other library and it is a 260-ish value before the 27th so has anyone actually heard or read somewhere (where if that is true) that Falcon2 will be part of any of the license plans this time around? Either when updating our support and annual plan of a perpetual license or with a subscription that only works as long as we are paying the subs fee.

Would be interested in reading where this was written and everrything should have been explained there.

The short answer is no. There's nothing I've seen written by either Avid or UVI that states that Avid users of any sort will receive the upgrade to F-2. The only place its been mentioned, as far as I can tell, is right here on this discussion thread. So, absent any official announcement from either company the safest bet is that it isn't happening.
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 10-23-2019, 06:32 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,093
Default Re: Falcon 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonaldM View Post
the safest bet is that it isn't happening
Yes, and even if it was, the safest bet is neither is announcing the giveaway until the promotion ends. Why would they? Now customers have incentive to upgrade.

At least if I was wearing that tie, I would demand that both parties didn't say a word about the giveaway until the promotion is over.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 10-23-2019, 06:41 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,646
Default Re: Falcon 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonaldM View Post
The short answer is no. There's nothing I've seen written by either Avid or UVI that states that Avid users of any sort will receive the upgrade to F-2. The only place its been mentioned, as far as I can tell, is right here on this discussion thread. So, absent any official announcement from either company the safest bet is that it isn't happening.
I think I mentioned it here but anyways UVI has no knowledge that any individual has the Avid provided Falcon. Login to your UVI account if you have one and you'll see that Falcon does not show as part of your account unless you purchased it from them or an authorized reseller.

When I had a tech support ticket in with UVI about the license assets for both the Avid provided Falcon and the purchased F2 from UVI existing on the same iLok I also asked if they knew if Avid was going to provide F2 to those who have the Avid version and the person I dealt with said he didn't know but that it would be up to whatever Avid and UVI can negotiate with each other.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 10-23-2019, 09:49 PM
Joseph Magee's Avatar
Joseph Magee Joseph Magee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1
Default Re: Falcon 2

Still no Avid Falcon 2 , contacted UVI, in Paris....they had the same exact wording as Avid...."available in a few days."


Been a few weeks now, any news as to when? UVI had Falcon 2 up around 10/10/19
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 10-25-2019, 11:21 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,102
Default Re: Falcon 2

By the way, for anyone using either Falcon 1, Falcon AVID, or the new Falcon 2, there is an excellent video tutorial series at Groove 3 by Eli Krantzberg "UVI Falcon Explained". He's using Falcon 1, but it would apply to Falcon 2 as well, as far as how you navigate the menus, edit patches, create patches, use FX, create Multi's, add layers, add modulations, etc etc. Its a beast, and requires a bit of a learning curve. So, if you are a Groove3 subscriber, this series is VERY helpful to get you started!
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 10-25-2019, 12:20 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,646
Default Re: Falcon 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonaldM View Post
By the way, for anyone using either Falcon 1, Falcon AVID, or the new Falcon 2, there is an excellent video tutorial series at Groove 3 by Eli Krantzberg "UVI Falcon Explained". He's using Falcon 1, but it would apply to Falcon 2 as well, as far as how you navigate the menus, edit patches, create patches, use FX, create Multi's, add layers, add modulations, etc etc. Its a beast, and requires a bit of a learning curve. So, if you are a Groove3 subscriber, this series is VERY helpful to get you started!
I like Eli's videos but his presentation doesn't carry a lot of excitement to it. I know undertakers that have a more emotive delivery. Good info though if I can stay awake through them
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 10-25-2019, 12:44 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,102
Default Re: Falcon 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
I like Eli's videos but his presentation doesn't carry a lot of excitement to it. I know undertakers that have a more emotive delivery. Good info though if I can stay awake through them

Hey, as long as I can understand how to use this beast, I'm happy! What I like about Eli is how thorough he is in explaining everything. He tells you everything he's doing while he show it to you. That's what I need for stuff like this!
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 10-25-2019, 05:03 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,102
Default Re: Falcon 2

I bit the bullet and got F-2 tonight. I went through Sweetwater so I could do the 3 payment plan to make it easier on the budget. The process was painless. My agent took the order over the phone, made sure I had the two libraries I wanted. UVI's Portal app makes authorizing and downloading too easy - why can't other developers make it that easy?????


But the real kicker was getting the thank you email from UVI with a $100 voucher to spend on ANY of their Soundware items. My head is spinning! So basically, for around $265 (with tax) you get about $550 worth of stuff, including one of the most versatile and powerful VI's out there! Not bad...not bad at all!!!!



Even IF Avid made F-2 available to users, I seriiously doubt it would come with the full F-2 library, plus the other bonuses. We didn't get the Falcon library with the original plan, just a special PlugSound version. Which was nice, but not quite the same.


All in all....its going to be a fun weekend. I'm ALONE...family gone elsewhere...what to do..oh, what to do!!!!!
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I get Falcon to work? orvillej Virtual Instruments 12 04-16-2019 02:46 PM
UVI Falcon - stand alone? strangeLoop Virtual Instruments 1 03-07-2019 02:03 AM
Falcon Problem notr2d2 Virtual Instruments 5 01-05-2019 07:19 AM
Falcon UVI vs NI Komplete Ray Lyon Virtual Instruments 4 12-16-2018 04:08 AM
Falcon - New VI from UVI DonaldM Virtual Instruments 3 11-09-2015 07:45 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:09 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com