Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-17-2019, 05:01 PM
johnnyv johnnyv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 1,081
Default Many playlists slowing computer down?

Hey all,

Our clients record vocals with us quite often, and in the process they often use playlists in their process.

Yesterday, we had a session with almost 150 playlists on one track.

If we put that track into Waveform mode, the computer is nice and snappy. Hit play and it immediately goes into play.

But if we put that track in Playlist mode where we can see all the playlists, the computer becomes super super slow when trying to solo different playlists to make a vocal comp.

We've never had a session with anywhere near that amount of tracks.

In our testing so far, we've dumped PT preferences, we created a new Session and just imported that one track, and still the computer bogs down when trying to jump around and solo different takes.

We are using a 2012 Cheese Mac Pro, 12 core, 48G of ram, and there's lot of hard drive space on both our system drive and our recording drive. We are using PTHD 2018.12.

Has anyone else noticed a slowdown when using lots and lots of playlists on a single track?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-17-2019, 05:32 PM
johnnyv johnnyv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 1,081
Default Re: Many playlists slowing computer down?

I'm going to try updating to 2019.6 and see if that helps...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-17-2019, 06:24 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,433
Default Re: Many playlists slowing computer down?

What OS version? What version of Pro Tools are you on now?

What GPU and what display/resolution is it driving?

What happens to Activity Monitor CPU use when this happens?

Several folks have reported edit windows being visible on screen causing lots of CPU use that were fixed or helped by moving to Mojave.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-17-2019, 06:45 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,150
Default Re: Many playlists slowing computer down?

Try this: Preferences>Editing and Uncheck “Separate Clip” Operates On All Related Takes

(When selected, editing a clip with the Separate Clip command also affects all other related takes (recording passes) with the same User Time Stamp. This option helps you compare different sections from a group of related takes.)

Until I unchecked this Preference my editing slowed down when I had a lot of edits on the timeline. May or may not work for your issue.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-17-2019, 10:16 PM
johnnyv johnnyv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 1,081
Default Re: Many playlists slowing computer down?

Hey thanks for the great suggestions!

As it turned out, I guess it's a known bug that was corrected in the 2019 versions of PT. We updated to 2019.6 and all is fine now.

Can't believe it!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to automatically expand playlists that are recorded using loop to new playlists ZdonTheRapper Pro Tools 12 4 03-17-2018 10:46 AM
S6 slowing down PT bucha Pro Tools | S6 13 12-19-2017 03:12 AM
My computer is slowing down after installing Pro Tools MJ Pacifica 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-11-2003 04:01 PM
Seems like PT is slowing down... Dr. J Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 07-16-2002 07:21 PM
PT5/G4 slowing down midimac Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-15-2000 06:35 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:42 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com