Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-19-2019, 10:18 PM
adam79's Avatar
adam79 adam79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 597
Default MDW Hi-Res Parametric EQ 5

I was reading about the MDW Hi-Res Parametic EQ 5, but then learned that there's no demo and it's like $600! How is this plugin compared to other EQ plugins out there that are WAY less money?



Also, I found it interesting that when listening the instances, they go up from 48 to 96hz. Is this because the plug is working more efficiently at 96? I've found this to be the case with mostly everything, which really screws me on my UAD interface, which is just a DUO. I've found all plugs to sound better and work better at 96 than 44.1 or 48.


Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-20-2019, 05:20 AM
Johnny Hulst's Avatar
Johnny Hulst Johnny Hulst is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Staphorst, The Netherlands
Posts: 115
Default Re: MDW Hi-Res Parametric EQ 5

Dont buy the MDW EQ from Avid, the plugin is still corrupt, bouncing a song with 1 of this plugin in the session gives me a hard pop or click in front of the bounced file.
Its been this for years now and it seems they dont care...

(im on ultimate 2019-6 but it was also in previous versions of PT)

I know UAD has the same plugin, but I dont know about theirs... I didnt want to spent another dollar on a plugin I already own.
__________________
Johnny Hulst
Hulst Audio Engineering
--------------------------------------------------------------
MacPro (late 2013) 3ghz 8-core, 32gb Ram, 512gb SSD
1x Avid HDX & 1x UAD-2 Octo --> Sonnet Echo Express III-D
2x OWC PCI Express SSD (2TB) --> Sonnet Echo Express SE II
1x MTRX+MOM+1DA-card+SFP/LC module multimode 1300nm low output LED
4x 192 I/O (64 analog inputs)
1x HD Native Thunderbolt
Avid Artist Mix
Rupert Neve RNHP

http://www.hulst.nu
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-20-2019, 09:20 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,092
Default Re: MDW Hi-Res Parametric EQ 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Hulst View Post
Dont buy the MDW EQ from Avid, the plugin is still corrupt, bouncing a song with 1 of this plugin in the session gives me a hard pop or click in front of the bounced file.
Its been this for years now and it seems they dont care...

(im on ultimate 2019-6 but it was also in previous versions of PT)

I know UAD has the same plugin, but I dont know about theirs... I didnt want to spent another dollar on a plugin I already own.
Find the link to the betas in these forums. The developers have fixed this in the beta a while back. They posted links in the forum (there are betas for both AAX-DSP and AAX, Windows and Mac; make sure you get the right one that matches your ilok license). So far two betas have been posted (obviously you want the latest which I think ended with “R11” and was posted sometime in spring 2019)
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-20-2019, 03:31 PM
Johnny Hulst's Avatar
Johnny Hulst Johnny Hulst is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Staphorst, The Netherlands
Posts: 115
Default Re: MDW Hi-Res Parametric EQ 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
Find the link to the betas in these forums. The developers have fixed this in the beta a while back. They posted links in the forum (there are betas for both AAX-DSP and AAX, Windows and Mac; make sure you get the right one that matches your ilok license). So far two betas have been posted (obviously you want the latest which I think ended with “R11” and was posted sometime in spring 2019)
Thanks, have just downloaded this R11, going to try it tomorrow, very strange to put the link only here at the duc.
I could not care anymore with MDW, it took too long.

Happy heavy user now of the ssl duende x-eq, my new eq friend 😁 for 2 years now.
__________________
Johnny Hulst
Hulst Audio Engineering
--------------------------------------------------------------
MacPro (late 2013) 3ghz 8-core, 32gb Ram, 512gb SSD
1x Avid HDX & 1x UAD-2 Octo --> Sonnet Echo Express III-D
2x OWC PCI Express SSD (2TB) --> Sonnet Echo Express SE II
1x MTRX+MOM+1DA-card+SFP/LC module multimode 1300nm low output LED
4x 192 I/O (64 analog inputs)
1x HD Native Thunderbolt
Avid Artist Mix
Rupert Neve RNHP

http://www.hulst.nu
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-22-2019, 02:12 AM
Johnny Hulst's Avatar
Johnny Hulst Johnny Hulst is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Staphorst, The Netherlands
Posts: 115
Default Re: MDW Hi-Res Parametric EQ 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
Find the link to the betas in these forums. The developers have fixed this in the beta a while back. They posted links in the forum (there are betas for both AAX-DSP and AAX, Windows and Mac; make sure you get the right one that matches your ilok license). So far two betas have been posted (obviously you want the latest which I think ended with “R11” and was posted sometime in spring 2019)
Wel, it seems my system thinks the beta is not a valid 64 bit plugin and asks me to remove the plugin from the pluginfolder

Well I just deleted it. Bye MDW
Attached Images
File Type: png Schermafbeelding 2019-08-22 om 10.07.28.png (26.3 KB, 0 views)
__________________
Johnny Hulst
Hulst Audio Engineering
--------------------------------------------------------------
MacPro (late 2013) 3ghz 8-core, 32gb Ram, 512gb SSD
1x Avid HDX & 1x UAD-2 Octo --> Sonnet Echo Express III-D
2x OWC PCI Express SSD (2TB) --> Sonnet Echo Express SE II
1x MTRX+MOM+1DA-card+SFP/LC module multimode 1300nm low output LED
4x 192 I/O (64 analog inputs)
1x HD Native Thunderbolt
Avid Artist Mix
Rupert Neve RNHP

http://www.hulst.nu
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-22-2019, 08:01 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,963
Default Re: MDW Hi-Res Parametric EQ 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Hulst View Post
Wel, it seems my system thinks the beta is not a valid 64 bit plugin and asks me to remove the plugin from the pluginfolder

Well I just deleted it. Bye MDW
It works fine here.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-22-2019, 08:39 AM
Johnny Hulst's Avatar
Johnny Hulst Johnny Hulst is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Staphorst, The Netherlands
Posts: 115
Default Re: MDW Hi-Res Parametric EQ 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
It works fine here.
Well on a pc or 2019-5 maybe, on my mac with majove and 2019-6 not.
__________________
Johnny Hulst
Hulst Audio Engineering
--------------------------------------------------------------
MacPro (late 2013) 3ghz 8-core, 32gb Ram, 512gb SSD
1x Avid HDX & 1x UAD-2 Octo --> Sonnet Echo Express III-D
2x OWC PCI Express SSD (2TB) --> Sonnet Echo Express SE II
1x MTRX+MOM+1DA-card+SFP/LC module multimode 1300nm low output LED
4x 192 I/O (64 analog inputs)
1x HD Native Thunderbolt
Avid Artist Mix
Rupert Neve RNHP

http://www.hulst.nu

Last edited by Johnny Hulst; 08-22-2019 at 09:11 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-22-2019, 12:17 PM
abc1mce2's Avatar
abc1mce2 abc1mce2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Motor City
Posts: 218
Default Re: MDW Hi-Res Parametric EQ 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Hulst View Post
Wel, it seems my system thinks the beta is not a valid 64 bit plugin and asks me to remove the plugin from the pluginfolder



Well I just deleted it. Bye MDW
Did you install DSP or Native version? I'm on Windows and if I remember correct I installed the Native version and it didn't work or I had to install the DSP version....I could be wrong but I do know something weird happened during the installation process.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
What is more relaxing then Music?

GigabyteX79-UP4 Rev 1.1
Xeon E5 2680 v.2. 10 Core cpu Windows10 v.1903
Avid HDX 2019.10 HD - 16x16 - 8x8x8 HD I/O - PT Dock - PT Control - AVID Artist Mix (2)
Universal Audio UAD2 Pci-E and Satellite USB Octo - Pci-E Quad - SOLO 610 - Twin-finity
Antelope Trinity - 10M
Grace Design M905
Bricasti M7 (2)
Lexicon PCM96
Burl B2
Dangerous 2Bus
Neumann KH805 - KH310
Yamaha NS-10M
Avantone Mixcubes
Etc, etc, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-23-2019, 05:58 PM
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 1,691
Default Re: MDW Hi-Res Parametric EQ 5

Good news!

Rail Jon Rogut from Massenburg DesignWorks® says the final build MDWEQ5-AAX 5.2.1r17 is now available.
Works on Mojave plus more – please see:

System requirements:
MAC – Mac OS X 10.7 or higher (32 or 64-bit)
Windows – 64-bit Windows 10 or Windows 7 Home Premium, Professional, or Ultimate (64-bit only)

Important: Anyone installing from the following links should first update their PACE software from https://www.ilok.com/#!license-manager

macOS:
DSP + Native Version:
https://1drv.ms/u/s!ApgArEWWsfnhh-81Xw47E5APj3o58w
Native Version:
https://1drv.ms/u/s!ApgArEWWsfnhh-82wHQKwC8rtPL0wg


Windows:
DSP + Native Version:
https://1drv.ms/u/s!ApgArEWWsfnhh-9QjnEEFa8V-Lk-ig
Native Version:
https://1drv.ms/u/s!ApgArEWWsfnhh-9RebtKVyKdqQ2EoA


If anyone has any issues, please contact MDW support: https://massenburgdesignworks.com/contact-us/
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.6/10.3.10 and 12.5.1 HD - Studio One 4 Pro - Win7 64 Ultimate (SP1) – Lenovo W520 ThinkPads & 433830U Docks – Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 - AIR Mini 32
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-27-2019, 11:34 AM
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 1,691
Default Re: MDW Hi-Res Parametric EQ 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Hulst View Post
Wel, it seems my system thinks the beta is not a valid 64 bit plugin and asks me to remove the plugin from the pluginfolder ....
Sorry for the late reply - hope you find time to give this a try:

Download & install the latest version of iLok License Manager from https://www.ilok.com/#!license-manager
In iLok License Manager, right-click on your License and choose “Deactivate”
After the spinning beach ball has stopped, under the “Available” Licenses Tab, right-click on your License and choose “Activate”
Once your License is back on your iLok, right-click on your iLok and choose “Synchronize”.

If that does not fix it, please post here
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.6/10.3.10 and 12.5.1 HD - Studio One 4 Pro - Win7 64 Ultimate (SP1) – Lenovo W520 ThinkPads & 433830U Docks – Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 - AIR Mini 32
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: MDW Hi Res Parametric EQ jsvalmont Buy & Sell 2 03-02-2018 11:14 PM
Go-to Parametric EQs PatriotsBiker AAX Plug-ins 47 06-08-2016 09:44 AM
MDW Hi-Res Parametric EQ v5 is now available Avid Technical Alerts 1 08-24-2012 01:55 PM
parametric output EQ krishkrasj VENUE Live Sound Systems 1 05-10-2010 01:48 PM
What is Q in a parametric? dummy20707 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 02-22-2002 09:03 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:03 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com