Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-23-2019, 12:05 PM
atticmike atticmike is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Green
Posts: 86
Default External HDX on Windows?

Hello there,

Has anyone tried HDX cards externally on Windows based Laptops?

Avid doesn't test this and I can't read anything about it.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-23-2019, 02:31 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,646
Default Re: External HDX on Windows?

This could be a PITA, any way you look at it. Consider:
1-unless the laptop has Thunderbolt, I don't there is any way to do it.
2-With thunderbolt, an external chassis and proper cables can make the physical connection, but there my be no Windows driver that works.
3-Even though I am a PC guy, I am reluctant to recommend any windows laptop(in favor of a properly configured MacBook Pro).
4-why do you feel you need HDX? Modern native rigs are more than capable of serious(IOW, "pro") production in most cases.
5-For me, the only reason to use a laptop is for portability and adding a chassis for the HDX card, plus a Digilink interface seems counter-productive(again, that's only my opinion)

I ran a commercial studio in Nashville for several years with an HDN card in a Windows desktop and did plenty of full-blown productions for commercial release and never felt I was cheated(or that I was cheating clients). Its important to have realistic expectations before you rush out and buy lots of stuff(especially if its because somebody told you that you need that). Food for thought
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-24-2019, 06:29 AM
atticmike atticmike is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Green
Posts: 86
Default Re: External HDX on Windows?

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
This could be a PITA, any way you look at it. Consider:
1-unless the laptop has Thunderbolt, I don't there is any way to do it.
2-With thunderbolt, an external chassis and proper cables can make the physical connection, but there my be no Windows driver that works.
3-Even though I am a PC guy, I am reluctant to recommend any windows laptop(in favor of a properly configured MacBook Pro).
4-why do you feel you need HDX? Modern native rigs are more than capable of serious(IOW, "pro") production in most cases.
5-For me, the only reason to use a laptop is for portability and adding a chassis for the HDX card, plus a Digilink interface seems counter-productive(again, that's only my opinion)

I ran a commercial studio in Nashville for several years with an HDN card in a Windows desktop and did plenty of full-blown productions for commercial release and never felt I was cheated(or that I was cheating clients). Its important to have realistic expectations before you rush out and buy lots of stuff(especially if its because somebody told you that you need that). Food for thought
You are reluctant to recommend any Windows Laptop in favor of a properly configured Macbook Pro? WTF? I'd favor any properly specced Windows Laptop over a Macbook Pro...

Yes my Laptop has Thunderbolt 3 and with Thunderbolt 3, there shouldn't be any drivers as with Thunderbolt 2, it should be a straight forward PCI-E transmition of the installed card but I haven't read any experience reports on this.

I've used Macs for years since the G5 up to two following Intel models (2008 and 2010) but right now and switched back to Windows because not only the OS is superior to MacOS but also the cooling of good Windows laptops, upgradabilty such as Ram and HDD as well as some other features as well as a proper Thunderbolt 3 port with all lanes for that very connection, which Macbook Pro's don't even have integrated.

But you are right, the machine is enough powerful by itself but I'd need it for latency free tracking so it'd be nice to hook it up to an external chassis and run it on my Razer Laptop. Have you heard about anybody doing it?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-24-2019, 06:45 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,084
Default Re: External HDX on Windows?

Nothing works without drivers. Thunderbolt 2 or 3 is irrelevant. You have to know that the HDX drivers on Windows support getting to PCIe via Thunderbolt... do they? (I have no idea).

Quote:
MacOS but also the cooling of good Windows laptops, upgradabilty such as Ram and HDD as well as some other features as well as a proper Thunderbolt 3 port with all lanes for that very connection, which Macbook Pro's don't even have integrated.
What are you talking about? The MacBook Pros have dual Thunderbolt 3 busses, fully connected to PCIe3 via the same Intel Titan Ridge chip that similar PC designs will use.

The problem that many of us have on DUC with recommending Windows laptops is so many of them have had issues in the past. And there is such a diversity of configs. If you know great Windows laptops that work with Pro Tools very well then maybe you should be recommending them here.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 06-24-2019 at 06:58 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-29-2019, 06:25 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,708
Default Re: External HDX on Windows?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
The problem that many of us have on DUC with recommending Windows laptops is so many of them have had issues in the past. And there is such a diversity of configs. If you know great Windows laptops that work with Pro Tools very well then maybe you should be recommending them here.
My Lenovo P50 with Windows 10 Pro has a Thunderbolt 3 port and the Intel Alpine Ridge Thunderbolt Controller, and works wonderfully with the HD Native Thunderbolt box. I use the Apple TB3 to TB2 adapter hitch work without issue also. Ialso have a 34mm Express card slot whInch presumably will work with the appropriate Express card to a PCIe adapter.

Assuming you could find an external Thunderbolt 3 to PCIe chassis, expect it to work fine with with the HDX cards as well. The problem that I am aware of with the Sonnet Tech Chassis is that it doesn’t work with the Avid cards on either Windows or Mac with the TB3 version. But they say that the TB2 version does.

Magma says that their TB2 expansion chassis will work with Windows 7/8 and Avid cards. I would expect that they will work with Windows 10 also, since Win10 includes TB drivers as part of the OS.
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com

Home/mobile: Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Focusrite Red 8Pre / Protools HD Native 2018.10 Ultimate
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-13-2019, 04:23 AM
pbthias pbthias is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Hamburg
Posts: 6
Default Re: External HDX on Windows?

... in my experience the TB2 chassis should also work with a TB3 to TB2 adapter...

Slightly related tale from the lab:
I once had 1 hour while building a HDX system with the Sonnet Chassis for a customer. Just for fun I put an old TDM Core PCIe card into it, installed Pro Tools 10HD on a Win 7 Bootcamp Installation (Macbook 2012).
And it worked. No longer testing though. But yeah, I had it running and recording for a few minutes.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
external hard drive for PT 11 w/Windows davidbdaniels General Discussion 1 12-07-2014 04:18 PM
External HDD with mixed Windows/Mac setup ras52 Getting Started 14 05-17-2013 02:41 PM
Do external drives still get defragmented when using MacDrive on Windows? JChance 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-17-2008 02:17 PM
Sharing an external drive between mac and windows danisrael 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 11-17-2006 09:53 AM
External Drive Mac and Windows Compatible acstctws 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-22-2006 02:42 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:28 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com