Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools SE and Essential (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 10-24-2010, 07:35 PM

Default To use PT SEE or not to use PT SE?

I have been a PT LE user as a voice actor since mbox 1. I am also a video editor and the mbox doesn't play well with other products as a primary sound card (core audio driver issues).

I have a pre sonus firebox for doing audio in STP and Logic. One problem. I am so used to PT and the TCE algorithm, that I become all thumbs in logic at times for simple VO spots.

I would love to still have PT 8 (my current version) on my MAC PRO for recording VO as an editor via my presonus sound card. Can I purchase PT SE as a stand alone product? I also have the mbox factory pack with the ilok key. Can it be used to run Pro Tools LE as a stand alone? I know I can't run LE without the MBOX attached via USB.

I am trying to find a work around to use PT without the MBOX.

Any suggestions?
Old 10-28-2010, 11:57 AM

Default Re: To use PT SEE or not to use PT SE?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nelsonmay View Post
I have been a PT LE user as a voice actor since mbox 1. I am also a video editor and the mbox doesn't play well with other products as a primary sound card (core audio driver issues).

I have a pre sonus firebox for doing audio in STP and Logic. One problem. I am so used to PT and the TCE algorithm, that I become all thumbs in logic at times for simple VO spots.

I would love to still have PT 8 (my current version) on my MAC PRO for recording VO as an editor via my presonus sound card. Can I purchase PT SE as a stand alone product? I also have the mbox factory pack with the ilok key. Can it be used to run Pro Tools LE as a stand alone? I know I can't run LE without the MBOX attached via USB.