Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-28-2009, 06:01 PM
dan3211 dan3211 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Default win7-64 issues with essentials install

If anyone has had this issue let me know if theres a fix...
Installed protools 8 essentials and have a new fast track mkII
Fast track works fine, but essentials wont run. it installs fine, ran it as administrator, the interlok driver installs, the problem is the protools wont run, gives error 7 message lol.....
also downloaded the 8.03 update and it says it cant find an installation of protools, also running updater as administrator, still cant find essentials install. was hoping updater would fix problem but it cant even find the installation. the digi site says win7 64 bit is supported, but it sure wont run after install
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-29-2009, 09:55 AM
conholster conholster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 8
Default Re: win7-64 issues with essentials install

The 8.0.3 update isnt compatible with PT Essential yet.. or thats what the announcement says.

The Fasttrack must be connected when you start PT or it wont start.

What are the error messages you are getting. Probably contains a clue to solve your problem.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-19-2010, 04:52 PM
Papa Giorgio Papa Giorgio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Clarita
Posts: 1
Default Re: win7-64 issues with essentials install

When I start my Pro Tools M-Powered Essential, I get this "WARNING:"
Loss of Plug-In authorization keys may occur.

This system contains one or more drive(s) formatted with NTFS, which have volume names longer that 11 characters. This combination is know to corrupt some InterLok Plug-In authorizations. If you know which drives are authorized and they are not configured this way, or if you have no InterLok protected plug-ins, then you may continue. In order to remedy this issue before corruption can occur click "Yes" to quit Pro Tools and rename NTFS volumes to names that are 11 characters or less. Next re-launch Pro Tools and this dialog should not appear

Quite Pro Tools?
And then there is a "Yes" or "No" button choice. To better understand my system, you may check out this link.

I am not too tech savvy, so if you have suggestions on how to fix this... I am in 5th-grade.

PapaG (by-the-way, muck thank for any help in this matter).

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-20-2010, 11:30 AM
Jared Jared is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 86
Default Re: win7-64 issues with essentials install

Your system contains one or more drive(s) formatted with NTFS, which have volume names longer that 11 characters.

This is know to corrupt some InterLok Plug-In authorizations, however, Pro Tools Essential does not support InterLok Plug-in authorizations, therefore you have no InterLok protected plug-ins, so you may ignore the error.

If you don't want to see this message, you can rename your hard drive that is 12 characters or more to a name that is 11 characters or less.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
64 bit Win7 install ??? ScreaminRick Windows 4 04-08-2011 10:27 AM
Pro Tools Essentials 8.0.2 Install Error tloc623 Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 0 09-20-2010 10:20 PM
My M-Powered Essentials WONT Install Please HELP crunkman24 Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 4 04-18-2010 07:50 PM
Can't install 8.03 on win7 zakkwylde13 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 02-16-2010 04:17 AM
Essentials 8.0.2 Win7 compatibility Chrono Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 1 12-31-2009 11:21 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:28 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com