Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-04-2002, 06:32 AM
ticctaccthesoulrebel ticctaccthesoulrebel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: new york
Posts: 4
Default PT 6 SHOWN AT AES.WHAT ABOUT MBOX

info about pt 6 is at osxaudio.com
Is it true that all of our rtas plug-ins have to be updated.
Yet the tdm plug-ins don't have to get updated. i'm sure digi make most of their money from le users yet we dont the same treatment. also why can't the mbox get 32 tracks like digi 002 it can't be that hard for 8 more tracks i don't need 8 inputs and moving faders but i would love more track but i'm not paying 2000+ to get it [img]images/icons/confused.gif[/img] osxaudio
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-04-2002, 09:40 AM
Shawn Parr Shawn Parr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Fort Wayne, IN 46807
Posts: 260
Default Re: PT 6 SHOWN AT AES.WHAT ABOUT MBOX

All plug-ins will need to be re-written to work under OS X. It will take a while, many manufacturer's haven't said anything yet, some are hoping to have all their plugs ready by the end of 2003.

I didn't see in the article on OSXAudio where TDM plugs do not need to be rewritten? They should also have to be rewritten, although if you think about it they all had to be rewritten to work with HD anyway, and people may have been thinking ahead and HD plugs may already be kosher with X.
__________________
Shawn Parr
Muskrat Studios
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-04-2002, 10:33 AM
Slaterman Slaterman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Chesapeake, VA, USA
Posts: 265
Default Re: PT 6 SHOWN AT AES.WHAT ABOUT MBOX

This is a crucial opportunity for plugin developers to leap ahead of their competition. Little companies like Cycling74 or bigger ones like Logic have the opportunity of a lifetime to gain market share that bigger companies (Waves, NI, BombFactory) currently have.

If I were a small plugin software developer company, I would do all I could to make my stuff available ASAP to garner hearts and minds and marketshare of "early" adopters of OSX audio.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-05-2002, 09:10 AM
davidp158 davidp158 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Belleuve, WA, USA
Posts: 804
Default Re: PT 6 SHOWN AT AES.WHAT ABOUT MBOX

Sorry if this has been mentioned elsewhere, but will PTLE 6 run in "classic" mode (OS9 emulation) on a machine running OSX and still use exisitng RTAS plugins? Obviously, that will be the major drawback for any PT user will a lot of RTAS plugins.

Why does it take so long for developers to rewrite their code? Hasn't an OSX software developer kit been made available to these people? Most of my graphics applications have been OSX native for 4 to 6 months, some even longer. And these are full blown applications. Seems that plugins would be much easier to rewrite, but I could be totally wrong. Maybe developers been waiting for Jaguar before doing any plugin rewrites.

I guess I'm tired of reading about OSX, and realizing that its still, after so much hoopla, a long way away from being a working option for me.

dave patterson / knobville
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-05-2002, 10:02 AM
auxsend1 auxsend1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 871
Default Re: PT 6 SHOWN AT AES.WHAT ABOUT MBOX

Well, being that PT 5.x.x will not run in classic mode, I highly doubt that PT6 would.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-05-2002, 10:14 AM
Bastiaan Bastiaan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nederland
Posts: 6,914
Default Re: PT 6 SHOWN AT AES.WHAT ABOUT MBOX

I think you do not need to worry:

Quote:
SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS
Digidesign-approved Pro Tools TDM (Pro Tools|HD, Pro Tools|24 MIX, Pro Tools|24) or LE (Digi 001 and ToolBox) system running Mac OS X ( support for Mbox and Digi 002 coming soon ).

Pro Tools on Windows XP support of the new features, and OSX compatibility with AVoption|XL, Unity, and MediaManager are scheduled for Q2, 2003.
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">This is from the requirements for PT 6.

http://www.digidesign.com/news/hotnews/PTv6/
__________________
What's that?
- That's the machine that goes "pling".


Bastiaan
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-05-2002, 10:18 AM
auxsend1 auxsend1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 871
Default Re: PT 6 SHOWN AT AES.WHAT ABOUT MBOX

So, I guess we can assume that Mbox support is coming in Q1 2003? I mean, the Windows XP support is stated to be out in Q2 2003, so I would assume that Mbox support, if "coming soon," would be before that....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade from 7.3 to 7.4: "LE 6.x" shown Mike Borok 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-01-2008 06:07 PM
Pro Convert shown at AES minister Post - Surround - Video 4 10-12-2007 02:00 AM
Pro Tools 7.2 is being shown at NAB dfusion 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-24-2006 03:54 PM
PT 6 to be shown at Audio One Armando Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 20 02-08-2003 10:19 AM
PT won't play at tempo shown! darla Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 06-20-2001 08:59 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:02 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com