Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-21-2019, 06:23 AM
WKG WKG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,187
Default Question for Win 10 Pro Tools 2018 users...

Quick question for Win 10 PT 2108 users.

I have been running PT 2018.7 with little to no problems on Win 10 Pro build 1703 and recently let Window update to 1803. Seems ok so far but was wondering if build 1809 might bring some improvements?

Whose running which build and what's working best?
__________________
I7-4930K, X79-Deluxe, 2133 32 GB,
GT640, 512GB 860 Pro, 1TB Evo, WDB 2TB X2,
Win 10 Pro, PT Ultimate 2019.6 REAPER 5.963
RME, Daking, ISA, Sytek, BLA

ASUS N71Jq i7 940xm 8GB DDR3
PTHD 12.1 REAPER - Win 10 HP
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-22-2019, 07:48 AM
WKG WKG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,187
Default Re: Question for Win 10 Pro Tools 2018 users...

Anybody having issues with PT 2018.x and Win 10 1809?
__________________
I7-4930K, X79-Deluxe, 2133 32 GB,
GT640, 512GB 860 Pro, 1TB Evo, WDB 2TB X2,
Win 10 Pro, PT Ultimate 2019.6 REAPER 5.963
RME, Daking, ISA, Sytek, BLA

ASUS N71Jq i7 940xm 8GB DDR3
PTHD 12.1 REAPER - Win 10 HP
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-22-2019, 08:21 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,134
Default Re: Question for Win 10 Pro Tools 2018 users...

No, but I don't "stress" PT with lots of tracks, plug-ins and VIs. That said, I always do a clean uninstall of the previous PT version, reboot, run CCleaner, install the new version, reboot and run CCleaner again. I also do the Trasher "dance" on a regular basis. Only issues I had are the very occasional, very brief "spike" of static/distortion, but I think it may be my pre rather than PT. After a Windows OS update I also recheck my Sound and USB optimizations and that System Restore is OFF for all my drives (I use a backup program nightly). Some Windows updates can "flip" those optimizations to default.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-23-2019, 02:09 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,805
Default Re: Question for Win 10 Pro Tools 2018 users...

Since its nearly impossible to prevent the updates unless I keep the internet disconnected, I just allow the damn updates but keep drive images(in case I need to roll back). So far, knock on wood, none have wreaked havoc(although I am constantly going into Device Manager to kill Power Management on many USB ports(aka USB Root Hub). Each recent update has reset SOME, but not all....
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-23-2019, 03:47 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,134
Default Re: Question for Win 10 Pro Tools 2018 users...

I have Win 10 Pro and, using Group Policy Editor, can completely disable Windows Defender and Windows Update. No updates on my PT computer unless I do it manually. Not even a notification of an update. And yes, the computer is hard wired to my router, so connected to the Internet.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-23-2019, 04:14 PM
gonsdeejay's Avatar
gonsdeejay gonsdeejay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: México City
Posts: 198
Default Re: Question for Win 10 Pro Tools 2018 users...

Here i'm running 1809 Insider Preview Windows Pro 10, and Pro Tools 2018.12, and Actually I Noticed for example, Running Sessions at 32 Buffer size on my Apollo Duo and Twin duo MkI without any AAE Errors, and a Lot more Plugins… without issues!!! Hope this can work for your answers.
__________________
Pro Tools 2018.12. UAudio Apollo 8 Duo & Apollo Twin. Custom PC i7-7700K 16 Gb Ram Thunderbolt 3 SYSTEM-1KRK V88. Yamaha HS7 Korg ESX-1 MBOX2 003Rack Mackie MCU Producing My Own Life
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-23-2019, 06:43 PM
ejinbc ejinbc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 43
Default Re: Question for Win 10 Pro Tools 2018 users...

I keep my DAW always offline using dual boot with Win 10 - Asus Z370 Prime A, 8700K, MOTU 1248. My strategy has been to only update the Win 10 DAW partition on the big fall updates - that was 1809. No problems with 2018.7. Very happy. The online partition is always kept up to date in Win 10. More people should consider dual boot - reboots are very fast in Win 10 and it keeps your DAW safe from the interweb.

I was on PT 2018.7 for several months and had never had a crash or any other problem. I installed PT 2018.12 and had a access violation error after about 30 minutes use which required a reboot. I went back to 2018.7 - no blame, could have been for many, many reasons. YMMV. There are just too many variables for trouble shooting.

My new policy - unless there is a killer new feature I need, no PT updates. If it ain't broke, make music.

e
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-23-2019, 07:04 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,805
Default Re: Question for Win 10 Pro Tools 2018 users...

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post
I have Win 10 Pro and, using Group Policy Editor, can completely disable Windows Defender and Windows Update. No updates on my PT computer unless I do it manually. Not even a notification of an update. And yes, the computer is hard wired to my router, so connected to the Internet.
I'd love to see details on exactly how to set that. All I could find was a way to delay update for 30 days.(also running Win 10 pro).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-24-2019, 12:14 AM
krabbencutter krabbencutter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: germany
Posts: 73
Default Re: Question for Win 10 Pro Tools 2018 users...

I'm running 1803 and 2018.07 without issues. If you go to the windows update settings > advanced settings you can switch your update channel from Semi-annual Channel (Targeted) to Semi-annual Channel. You will then receive feature updates like 1809 etc. only after MS has 'certified' them for enterprise usage. So at least most of the initial kinks - which 1809 had a lot of them on release - will be fixed by then.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-24-2019, 04:15 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,134
Default Re: Question for Win 10 Pro Tools 2018 users...

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
I'd love to see details on exactly how to set that. All I could find was a way to delay update for 30 days.(also running Win 10 pro).
Here you go.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 2018 installation question Thenewexhibit Pro Tools 2018 7 07-24-2018 05:39 PM
Pro Tools 2018.3 / 2018.4 crashing when switching window configurations matthewmkb macOS 0 06-27-2018 06:33 AM
Pro Tools 2018 Multiple Users Video Dude Pro Tools 2018 0 02-16-2018 12:58 PM
question for stylus rmx and pro tools users,help!! moon1pulse MIDI 2 12-12-2006 04:51 PM
Question for Logic and Pro Tools users cliepe12 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 12-23-2004 10:41 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com