Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid Pro Mixing General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-23-2018, 07:19 PM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angles
Posts: 388
Default Avid Matrix Mic Pre clicking

Posting a question to any users of the Avid Matrix with the A/D card with mic pre option.

Is anyone experiencing clicks or pops when increasing or decreasing the mic pre gain? We have four units that all experience this issue when adjusting.
Wondering if this is intentional (not sure why) or a circuitry defect.

Thanks.

Last edited by its2loud; 08-24-2018 at 07:06 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-23-2018, 09:41 PM
LDS LDS is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 636
Default Re: Avid Matrix Mic Pre clicking

Quote:
Originally Posted by its2loud View Post
Posting a question to any users of the Avid Matrix with the A/D card with mic pre option.

Is anyone experience clicks or pops when increasing or decreasing the mic pre gain? We have four units that all experience this issue when adjusting.
Wondering if this is intentional (not sure why) or a circuitry defect.

Thanks.
I haven't used the Matrix, but clicking is pretty common in a lot of devices when increasing gain. I'm pretty sure the Avid Pre does the same thing, as do a whole slew of digital mixing desk preamps, etc. From my understanding it is the result of the digital gain control, which is incremental rather than continuously variable like in fully analogue circuits. The PGA2500 mic preamp chip is a prime example, where the clicks can be minimised by design but not necessarily removed entirely. It appears in a whooooole lot of audio interfaces being made today.

Even in higher end designs, to achieve high levels of matched digital gain control, relays are pretty commonly used. It wouldn't surprise me if the clicks and pops are just a byproduct of the design.
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6. OSX 10.14.6. HDX. Avid Omni. MacBook Pro 2018. 6 Core i7. 32Gb. 4x mSata SSD Drives + 4x HDD. Blackmagic Intensity PCIe. ATI RX580. Sync HD

Free Lexicon 224XL Impulse Responses
Free Sony DPS-V77 Impulse Responses
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-24-2018, 07:24 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,122
Default Re: Avid Matrix Mic Pre clicking

Yes, it's the relays. This is to achieve the best quality we can. (You shouldn't be adjusting the gain whilst recording)

Accurate Mic-pres with relay gain system
The MTRX mic pre’s have an outstanding performance with an equivalent input noise below -130 dB. A resistor-based gain step circuitry with relays ensures that no un-linear distortion is added to the sensitive microphone signal when amplified. Each 0.1 dB gain step is digitally compensated for an inter channel accuracy of 0.1 dB.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-24-2018, 07:27 PM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angles
Posts: 388
Default Re: Avid Matrix Mic Pre clicking

Ha ha. Thanks Eddie. Not sure if that’s good news or bad news. So, I’m not supposed to adjust the gain on the fly when recording ADR and the actor goes from screaming to whispering in a scene? Is there no way to fix this gain structure so it doesn’t happen? Riding mic gain is normal part of record dialog for animation or ADR.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-24-2018, 07:29 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,122
Default Re: Avid Matrix Mic Pre clicking

This is a standard design in high-end mic pres. It has 130db headroom...you could use the fader.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-24-2018, 07:32 PM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angles
Posts: 388
Default Re: Avid Matrix Mic Pre clicking

Fader? I’m using the S6 fader to adjust gain now. Just trying to figure out the best way to minimize clicks. I get the circuitry and the relay factor.

Please clarify what you mean by “use the fader”.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-24-2018, 07:36 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,122
Default Re: Avid Matrix Mic Pre clicking

You would set the Mic gain so that the absolute Max signal hit 0db (or -1) digital. Then use the fader to ride gain for cues. With some compression/limiter if needed.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-24-2018, 07:37 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,122
Default Re: Avid Matrix Mic Pre clicking

If there were obvious scenes where you knew there was going to be whispering etc then you would preset the Mic gain before the take.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-24-2018, 07:44 PM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angles
Posts: 388
Default Re: Avid Matrix Mic Pre clicking

Are you referring to using an aux fader in ProTools? If so, I get that. That’s how we record now. But when you’re using compression on said aux feeding an audio track and want the incoming signal to have more gain to the aux, sometimes you need to adjust the pre gain. Just a matter of logistics. Not arguing semantics here. Just want to know if reducing the clicks is possible. I get the pre has tons of headroom. That’s great.

Every analog mic preamp in existence did not exhibit clicks and pops when increasing or decreasing gain. Not sure if that makes it acceptable for
A/D preamps to exhibit opposite behavior.

Appreciate your input.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited by its2loud; 08-24-2018 at 07:52 PM. Reason: Spelling
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-24-2018, 07:47 PM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angles
Posts: 388
Default Re: Avid Matrix Mic Pre clicking

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
If there were obvious scenes where you knew there was going to be whispering etc then you would preset the Mic gain before the take.


That’s not always an applicable way things operate in the real world unfortunately.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
M/S matrix, how do I set this up? thultmark Pro Tools 12 6 01-11-2016 08:47 AM
SSL MATRIX and MORE PWrightIII Buy & Sell 0 01-02-2016 12:32 AM
Matrix 1000 + Pt 8 alessio MIDI 1 09-05-2009 03:46 AM
M-S matrix tirt1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 10-01-2002 08:30 AM
where is the matrix ? sandman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 11-12-2001 12:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com