Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-19-2009, 03:41 PM
chumbox chumbox is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 53
Default Marking End Point of Song for Bounce?

Can't even believe I'm asking this as I'm no noob on Pro Tools but cannot for the life of me work out how to mark the end of a song for bouncing?

Everytime I think I have it right it runs another 10 secs at least longer.

*wanders off in shame*
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-19-2009, 03:50 PM
SeedGuy SeedGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 416
Default Re: Marking End Point of Song for Bounce?

Highlight the timeline with the desired length of your bounce?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-19-2009, 03:53 PM
cneal92's Avatar
cneal92 cneal92 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Lubbock, TX USA
Posts: 530
Default Re: Marking End Point of Song for Bounce?

I always use memory locations (markers) and set one at the top and one at the end. Then recall (or click) on the first memory location, hold shift and recall the end marker and then bounce. Of course you can also save the selection as its own memory location and just recall the one memory location.
__________________
Chris Neal :: South Plains College
.: Program Coordinator & Asst. Professor in Sound Technology
.: cneal@southplainscollege.edu
.: Pro Tools Certified Instructor
.: Pro Tools Expert Certified in Music
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-19-2009, 05:19 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,805
Default Re: Marking End Point of Song for Bounce?

Good suggestions already. If you end up with a file with too much blank at either end, its simple to import it to a mastering session(or any session) of the same sample rate/bit depth and trim the ends of the file and export. I always bounce with a little extra at both ends and trim it back later(if I need it perfect).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-20-2009, 01:16 PM
Mikeren Mikeren is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: 41.66 N / 88.54 W
Posts: 417
Default Re: Marking End Point of Song for Bounce?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SeedGuy View Post
Highlight the timeline with the desired length of your bounce?
+1. I've never done it any other way, now that I think of it.

MR
__________________
Learn to listen. Listen to learn.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-22-2009, 04:57 PM
DrFord's Avatar
DrFord DrFord is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 873
Default Re: Marking End Point of Song for Bounce?

I actually found a fun trick I use on every session as part of my new session template. I create a mono audio track and set the voice to nothing. So it doesn't use any resources. Or just make it inactive. Then I highlight roughly 5 minutes of audio from session start, and consolidate selection. Shift + Option + 3. You should have a file with nothing in it that doesn't playback. That is then saved to my template.

Now I typically start all my songs at bar #9 so that if I need to do an intro or anything I have some blank space to work with (I don't use pre 0 tape out of habit) and then I will use the trim tool to adjust the start and end length of the blank audio file to form the bounds of my song. This I then name "Guide Track" and it serves as a nice way to quickly double click the blank audio file at any place in the song and it will begin from wherever you set it.

Explaining this takes longer and seems more complicated than actually using it. I always mix with my Master Fader far left, followed by my effect sends. So I drag the Guide Track all the way to the left beyond the master fader so I it sits at the very top underneath the "Universe View" for easy access.

This also allows you to scroll off the end of the song easily and add or remove your selection with the trim tool to cath the perfect amount of reverb tail.

There's my trick! Works like a charm. When you are ready to bounce you just double click the region and hit bounce.
__________________
DRFord
Homepage | Facebook | YouTube
Mac OSX 10.12.6 | Mac Pro 5,1 | 12core 3.46ghz
Avid HD Native PCIe Core | Pro Tools HD 2018.1
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-28-2009, 01:27 AM
trondned trondned is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 68
Default Re: Marking End Point of Song for Bounce?

If I understand you question right, the bounce/recording continues longer than what you've highlighted. Could it be you have the 'post roll' engaged?
__________________
Trond Nedberg
Das Hit Music Production
Kongensgate 16
0153 Oslo
Norway
http://www.das hit.no
trond@das hit.no
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-28-2009, 06:36 AM
barismanco123 barismanco123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Planet Gong
Posts: 474
Default Re: Marking End Point of Song for Bounce?

Select all tracks by holding alt and clicking them all in the edit window then turn off tab to transients - press tab until you get to the very last region of the song. Thats precise.

Press return until you get to the beginning of the session and select all tracks now press tab and you will be at the beginning of the session - now press control shift and tab and you will have selected the exact beginning and exact end of your song.

Either that last one or memory locators will be efficient.

Peace
__________________
PTLE8 with an Mbox 2, for now!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-28-2009, 07:55 AM
getz76 getz76 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,491
Default Re: Marking End Point of Song for Bounce?

Quote:
Originally Posted by trondned View Post
If I understand you question right, the bounce/recording continues longer than what you've highlighted. Could it be you have the 'post roll' engaged?
Same thing I was thinking...
__________________
| Logic Pro 9 | Reason 6.5 | Pro Tools 10 | MOTU UltraLite mk3 | RME ADI-2 | Summit Audio 2BA-221 x 2 | MOTU 8pre x 2 |
| Mac Pro (4,1) 2.26gHz Xeon x 2 16gB OS X 10.7.4 | Macbook Pro (8,2) 2.2gHz i7 Quad 16gB OS X 10.7.4 |
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-01-2009, 02:38 PM
Mikeren Mikeren is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: 41.66 N / 88.54 W
Posts: 417
Default Re: Marking End Point of Song for Bounce?

Pre and post roll shouldn't matter on a bounce, no?
__________________
Learn to listen. Listen to learn.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
song won't play from insertion point davidp158 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 12-29-2012 04:52 PM
Marking an end point for scoring and printing trin Tips & Tricks 2 06-15-2010 01:49 PM
New Song start point? tonyridino 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 03-14-2010 11:24 PM
Changing the end of song point BlueThursday 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-09-2009 05:47 PM
MARKING AND END POINT IN A PT 6 SESSION Johnny916 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 04-23-2004 11:29 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:09 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com