Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid Pro Mixing General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-16-2018, 09:33 PM
sign3912 sign3912 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Korea, Seoul
Posts: 18
Default Question about big studio monitor speaker power management

Hi!

I so wonder that How does the big studio or teatre manage their speaker power? For example, i dont turn off the speaker power and turn off Power Strip (Power bar). There s no puck sound (bam, bump) of speaker amp.

But the big teatre and big studio, how do they manage? Always turn off the speaker amp power and turn off audio interface and computer?*

Please let me know this. THANK YOU IN ADVANCE!

***

Last edited by sign3912; 09-17-2018 at 01:35 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-16-2018, 09:51 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 10,809
Default Re: *Hi I have question about big studio monitor speaker power management.

Multi tap? Puck sound? Is this google translator doing a "poor" job again ..
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher


South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
SOUTHSIDEPUB

#ninjakittenshatecrunchyleaves

Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-17-2018, 01:35 AM
sign3912 sign3912 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Korea, Seoul
Posts: 18
Default Re: *Hi I have question about big studio monitor speaker power management.

Sorry I correct my sentence.
Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-18-2018, 07:26 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,046
Default Re: *Hi I have question about big studio monitor speaker power management.

I'm not clear on some of what you are saying, so I will just let you know what many studios do:


#1-its not uncommon to simply leave all the gear powered up(maybe not something a home/project studio would do, but any studio that operates more than 8-10 hours per day might leave everything on because the in-rush of current(AC current) at startup is more harmful to equipment than leaving it all on.



#2-place the power amplifier(assuming a separate power amp) in a place that is convenient to reach and simply turn the amp on last. When you want to shut everything down, kill the amplifier first


#3- add a second power strip that only powers the amp/speakers. This is my own method and I always turn that power on last, and off first. its pretty much a "standard" practice in any audio system(live or studio) to turn amps on last and off first. I use a Furman PL8-PLUS which uses and actual breaker for on/off. The cheaper models use a power strip that wears out sooner as the switches are cheaper and burn out due to arcing in the switch


#4-if you have a separate power amp, check the back(or the manual) and see if it has a remote power feature(so you can wire in a switch somewhere handy for the engineer to reach(I know that many QSC power amps offer this feature)
__________________
HP z820 12 core, 64GB RAM, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs, Warm Audio and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-18-2018, 08:30 PM
sign3912 sign3912 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Korea, Seoul
Posts: 18
Default Re: *Hi I have question about big studio monitor speaker power management.

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
I'm not clear on some of what you are saying, so I will just let you know what many studios do:


#1-its not uncommon to simply leave all the gear powered up(maybe not something a home/project studio would do, but any studio that operates more than 8-10 hours per day might leave everything on because the in-rush of current(AC current) at startup is more harmful to equipment than leaving it all on.



#2-place the power amplifier(assuming a separate power amp) in a place that is convenient to reach and simply turn the amp on last. When you want to shut everything down, kill the amplifier first


#3- add a second power strip that only powers the amp/speakers. This is my own method and I always turn that power on last, and off first. its pretty much a "standard" practice in any audio system(live or studio) to turn amps on last and off first. I use a Furman PL8-PLUS which uses and actual breaker for on/off. The cheaper models use a power strip that wears out sooner as the switches are cheaper and burn out due to arcing in the switch


#4-if you have a separate power amp, check the back(or the manual) and see if it has a remote power feature(so you can wire in a switch somewhere handy for the engineer to reach(I know that many QSC power amps offer this feature)


Thank you for good reply.

And How does engineer on/off speaker, if the speaker attatched to the wall?
I saw those studios. They has remote control function that swtich on/off?
I always on speaker at last, and off speaker at first. But My Mixing room is so medium room. But I wonder how do very big studios manage their power.

Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-18-2018, 09:09 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 11,881
Default Re: Question about big studio monitor speaker power management

As already said many will leave stuff on.

If they are separate power amps many of those have 12VDC driven power switching and lots of Pro and consumer automation systems drive that stuff. Some powered monitors have auto power-down modes (like Genelec models). Some power monitors might have 12V DC control support as well.

But why? Are you building a studio? Buying new monitors? What exact monitors and/or amps do *you* have?

Big hot power amps, especially any exotic/high-end that have continues bias (and therefore suck a log of power at all times) I'd probably power down over night... and many of those have standby mode specifically to do that. Class D amps in monitors... I'd worry less.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-18-2018, 09:14 PM
sign3912 sign3912 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Korea, Seoul
Posts: 18
Default Re: Question about big studio monitor speaker power management

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
as already said many will leave stuff on.

If they are separate power amps many of those have 12VDC driven power switching and lots of Pro and consumer automation systems drive that stuff. Some powered monitors have auto power-down modes (like Genelec models).

But why? Are you building a studio? Buying new monitors?

Hi, Yeah. I was ready to build Post studios. And I use Genelec Active Monitors (L C R LS RS LFE). So I wonder how I can turn on/off everytime after work.

Can I need something control this on/off switch? If power strip.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-18-2018, 09:18 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 11,881
Default Re: Question about big studio monitor speaker power management

Quote:
Originally Posted by sign3912 View Post
Hi, Yeah. I was ready to build Post studios. And I use Genelec Active Monitors (L C R LS RS LFE). So I wonder how I can turn on/off everytime after work.

Can I need something control this on/off switch? If power strip.
You already own these and know the exact model monitors??? (because we don't) ... you can read the documentation for those models to see what they support.

This thread is really a waste of time if that was your specific question.

If you are going to purchase monitors then your Genelec dealer and/or studio designer can explain what power options different models that you should look at for your needs.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 09-18-2018 at 10:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-19-2018, 05:07 AM
sign3912 sign3912 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Korea, Seoul
Posts: 18
Default Re: Question about big studio monitor speaker power management

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
You already own these and know the exact model monitors??? (because we don't) ... you can read the documentation for those models to see what they support.

This thread is really a waste of time if that was your specific question.

If you are going to purchase monitors then your Genelec dealer and/or studio designer can explain what power options different models that you should look at for your needs.

Thank you for reply. Sorry for these bad condition question. But your reply so helps me!! Thank you. I'll ask for this to Genelec dealer. Thank you.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Studio monitoring/speaker management solution? bchrismar Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 8 09-15-2018 12:36 PM
Hi I have question about big studio monitor speaker power management. sign3912 Post - Surround - Video 0 09-09-2018 08:28 PM
Power and speaker question pat6969 Eleven Rack 1 04-21-2015 12:23 PM
speaker monitor question. bchelune Pro Tools Software (Win) 1 07-14-2012 05:59 PM
11R Tube Power Amp/Speaker Cab vs. Full Range Powered Monitor Barry Johns Eleven Rack 22 12-09-2011 04:01 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:53 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com