Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Old 06-29-2020, 04:55 PM

Default Tracks for remote artists

I am sure this question has been asked before, but I haven't been able to find the right search terms to find the threads.

I would like to add a track(s) to a project for a singer(s) in another city. No way to get together at the moment. I will be grateful for links to articles, "how to", and other info to help me learn how to do this.

I am new to Pro Tools; working with it about one year. I have used Logic Pro X in the past. Still, a noob by any measure.
Old 06-30-2020, 10:45 AM

Default Re: Tracks for remote artists

While there is likely several ways to handle this, here is how I do it:
1-Create the track on my PT system
2-Bounce as a stereo file(from zero) and name it with the bpm(such as "songtitle_110BPM")
3-Upload to the other person with wetransfer.com(or other large file sharing like dropbox).
At the other end, that person imports the audio file into a session with the tempo set to match(hence the BPM number). When they finish their contributions, there are a few ways to get the files back onto your system for mix. Just make sure they either bounce from zero, or consolidate the track(s) back to zero(and then, Export Clips as Files). Paying attention to the tempo and consolidating back to zero means that importing audio will always line up.