Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-10-2014, 04:18 PM
bryced87 bryced87 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 410
Default Making a backing track and have some issues

Hello

I am making a backing track for someone. The original song is 140BPM. I am recording my instruments along with the original song. Both the grid lines and metronome are matching the original song but when I look at my tracks that I've recorded they aren't matching the grid lines or metronome even though they match the original song. Does anyone know why this would be?
__________________
Macbook Pro

Mac OS 10.10.3
Mbox 2,
Pro Tools 11
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-10-2014, 06:01 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,551
Default Re: Making a backing track and have some issues

Are you referring to MIDI/Instrument/VI tracks, or audio tracks of live instruments? Do you have delay compensation enabled?

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-10-2014, 06:43 PM
bryced87 bryced87 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 410
Default Re: Making a backing track and have some issues

All are audio tracks. Delay compensation is turned on. Should it not be?
__________________
Macbook Pro

Mac OS 10.10.3
Mbox 2,
Pro Tools 11
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-11-2014, 07:36 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,551
Default Re: Making a backing track and have some issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by bryced87 View Post
All are audio tracks. Delay compensation is turned on. Should it not be?
Seems fine so far then. Do you have "Compensate for Delays After Record Pass" enabled? You'll find this in I/O Setup Options.

Quote:
Pro Tools provide two options for compensating
for input and output latency (due to any inherent
latency in the analog to digital and digital to analog
converters of the audio interface) after recording.

When enabled, this option provides automatic
compensation for any analog or digital input delay....
Shane

*Edit - I'm not sure if that is an HD feature only. In the LE era back in the day, this was not an option as it was always compensated for under the hood.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-19-2014, 06:42 PM
bryced87 bryced87 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 410
Default Re: Making a backing track and have some issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shan View Post
Seems fine so far then. Do you have "Compensate for Delays After Record Pass" enabled? You'll find this in I/O Setup Options
I'm not seeing that in Pro Tools 9. Unless it's under another menu.
__________________
Macbook Pro

Mac OS 10.10.3
Mbox 2,
Pro Tools 11
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-19-2014, 10:59 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,551
Default Re: Making a backing track and have some issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by bryced87 View Post
I'm not seeing that in Pro Tools 9. Unless it's under another menu.
I just noticed in your sig that you're on PT LE 9. Compensate for Delays After Record Pass is an HD only feature. This function is automatic under the hood in LE.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Playing to a Backing Track Without Recording PatriotsBiker Eleven Rack 3 12-21-2011 11:28 PM
What is the best backing track worklfow? barters81 The Drum Room 9 02-07-2011 12:02 AM
backing track help?? defalex23 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 05-19-2010 08:45 PM
Click Track / Backing Track Issues... StarSonicEnt 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-02-2007 03:24 PM
Backing Track Help makerthemaker Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 09-09-2002 10:25 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:03 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com