Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Pro Tools | Dock

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-24-2018, 10:59 PM
firmflange's Avatar
firmflange firmflange is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 183
Default Can these buttons be customized?

Hi folks, I'm a new user to the Dock. Everything seems to be working, but I wanted to know if the "dock left edit" and "dock right edit" buttons can be customized with my own commands. In the settings screen I see that there are open boxes where commands can be put in, but when I insert a command, it will only implement the preset command.

For Example: On the Left Edit keys, the "Write" command, I'll assign it as 'save as,' instead of the 'write' command that is labeled on the button. Isn't it supposed to follow the command that I assign it to?
__________________
PT 12HD Native / 192 / Yosemite / Cheese Slicer 3.33GHz 12-core / SSD Hard Drive / 32GB RAM
Slate Raven MTi2 / Artist Control
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-25-2018, 10:32 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 1,656
Default Re: Can these buttons be customized?

Yes these should be able to be changed, not sure why they are not working for you...I'll double check...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-25-2018, 10:52 PM
firmflange's Avatar
firmflange firmflange is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 183
Default Re: Can these buttons be customized?

Thank you Eddie. Boy, after using my Artist Control for so long, it's kind of difficult to get use to the Dock. The weighted jog wheel is beautiful, but many times I'm accidentally running my fingers over the touch strips, which defaults to a horizontal zoom function. It's going to be a tough decision.
__________________
PT 12HD Native / 192 / Yosemite / Cheese Slicer 3.33GHz 12-core / SSD Hard Drive / 32GB RAM
Slate Raven MTi2 / Artist Control
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-26-2018, 08:18 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 1,656
Default Re: Can these buttons be customized?

I agree about the touch strips but you can also remove those controls from them and put them somewhere else.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-06-2018, 05:21 AM
mattrixx mattrixx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide - Australia
Posts: 662
Default Re: Can these buttons be customized?

Yeah, the touch strips can be a bit crazy, but when you assign the sections of them to other functions, they seem to be a little more well behaved.

Kinda like when we gave our 3 yo kinetic sand for eh first time.
Or when kid 1 landed his first trampoline back flip..

Stick at it... The dock is a completely customisable piece of magic.
I seem to keep adding functions and changing them to suit my workflow, with PT Ult and Logic ProX, which I've used for 20+ years and 15 of them with an MCU.

Eucon has really progressed and the Dock can address pretty much all of it!!
__________________
Matt McKenzie-Smith
mattrixx.net
SourceConnect - mattrixx
AVID Collab user - mattrixx
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Semi-customized ProControl + Parts Available in San Francisco jeremiahmoore ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 3 02-07-2018 08:11 PM
Can you still make customized shortcuts on PT12? thierryhenry Pro Tools 12 7 10-22-2015 02:31 PM
Customized Windows XP March314 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 18 06-13-2010 08:21 PM
Customized mouse on an Intel mac? mrhawkinson Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 07-19-2007 10:08 AM
Location for customized comp? Tonemacarone General Discussion 0 04-23-2001 02:35 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:54 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com