Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-07-2020, 02:55 PM
paulyg paulyg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: South Africa
Posts: 5
Default How can I make Windows sound louder when using Pro Tools?

I have a Lenovo Thinkpad laptop 16 GB RAM, 256GB SSD, Core i7 3.8GHz, Windows 7. I am still relatively new with Pro Tools, I am quite comfortable with using Windows, altough I am not a programmer, so my knowledge is far from expert level.

By default, Windows' audio output isn't very loud, specifically the low end. By "default audio output", I mean Realtek High Definition audio in Control Panel/Hardware and Sound/Sound/Playback tab.

My question is, how can I make Windows louder when using Pro Tools? Specifically, the low end.

====================

What have I tried?



Several pieces of software have been created to, amongst other things, boost the volume output in Windows. I use Fx Sound Enhancer. Here is a link to their description.

Fx Sound Enhancer works well as a playback device when streaming music as well as using standalone synth programs such as Equator, but I cannot get it to work with any piece of software that uses Asio4All. This includes FL Studio 11 and Pro Tools 12.


Why is it odd to me that Fx Sound Enhancer does not work with Pro Tools?



Fx Sound Enhancer appears in Control Panel/Hardware and Sound/Sound/Playback tab. It is set as my default device, and Realtek HD Audio is disabled.

Like I said, sound is playing when streaming music or playing audio files (and it sounds amazing).

But the thing is, when opening Pro Tools and going to the ASIO control panel, Fx Sound Enhancer does not appear in WDM Device list.

Here's what makes even less sense to me:

Realtek HD Audio is the only device that appears in WDM device list in ASIO control panel (even after it's disabled in Windows Control panel!) And Pro Tools produces sound without problem with Realtek HD Audio disabled in Windows Control panel (but enabled in ASIO Conrol panel).


So my actual question is twofold:
1) Is it possible to get Fx Sound Enhancer to appear in ASIO Control Panel
2) If not, how else can I make Windows louder in Pro Tools, specifically the low end?



EDIT:

I don't mix with my laptop speakers. I use proper speakers (Alto Professional Kick 15) with subs. I also alternate with my headphones (Sennheiser HD 215).

Here's the thing: If you play audio in Windows with speakers or headphones, then it sounds a certain way.

If you play the same audio on your phone through the same speakers or headphones, then it sounds different. In, my case, the low end on my Galaxy S10 sounds way better than the low end in Windows.

(Also, if you play the same audio in Mac for example, with the same speakers or headphones, it will sound different)

This is in my experience anyways

Last edited by paulyg; 04-07-2020 at 05:31 PM. Reason: Made it clear that I don't mix with my laptop speakers
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-07-2020, 03:43 PM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,907
Default Re: How can I make Windows sound louder when using Pro Tools?

Honestly, get better speakers, and if necessary a sub for lows. Also a proper audio interface.

If you're going to be doing any recording of physical instruments, you're going to need a proper interface as well. On board audio might be fine for mixing or if you're working with samples and synths only.

You pretty much want Windows to stay as far away from your DAW audio device as possible - I disable my interface in Control Panel/Sounds for example. I use my sound card for Windows sounds, but my audio interface is for DAW use only.

You also don't really want to have any audio enhancer software on your DAW output. The goal with your DAW output is to sound as true as possible so you can accurately mix. Adding that sound enhancer is just going to trick you into thinking the sounds you're mixing sound one way, when they will sound completely different to everyone else. That's where flat response studio monitors are benificial.

Joel
__________________
Jam Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3570 / 12GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 2020 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Asus B450 Pro4 / Ryzen 5 2600 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 2020 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Fender Mustang V 412 / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-07-2020, 04:01 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,362
Default Re: How can I make Windows sound louder when using Pro Tools?

This^^^^

And along with an interface, headphones and proper monitors rather than trying to use your computer speakers.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-07-2020, 05:25 PM
paulyg paulyg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: South Africa
Posts: 5
Default Re: How can I make Windows sound louder when using Pro Tools?

Ok, I should have stated this explicitly.

I don't mix with my laptop speakers. I use proper speakers (Alto Professional Kick 15) with subs. I also alternate with my headphones (Sennheiser HD 215).

Here's the thing: If you play audio in Windows with speakers or headphones, then it sounds a certain way.

If you play the same audio on your phone through the same speakers or headphones, then it sounds different. In, my case, the low end on my Galaxy S10 sounds way better than the low end in Windows.

(Also, if you play the same audio in Mac for example, with the same speakers or headphones, it will sound different)

This is in my experience anyways
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-07-2020, 05:32 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,521
Default Re: How can I make Windows sound louder when using Pro Tools?

I'm still not 100% clear on your complete setup. If you don't use a separate audio interface for Pro Tools, this is probably not going to find a decent solution. For the vast majority of Windows users, its necessary to set Windows to NOT use the same interface as the Windows Default Playback Device(under Windows Sound Properties). The reason being that(too often) Windows will take control of the sound device and prevent Pro Tools from being "in charge" of the hardware. You might be suffering a similar issue of a hardware conflict between Windows and PT
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-07-2020, 05:37 PM
paulyg paulyg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: South Africa
Posts: 5
Default Re: How can I make Windows sound louder when using Pro Tools?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoelG View Post
You pretty much want Windows to stay as far away from your DAW audio device as possible - I disable my interface in Control Panel/Sounds for example. I use my sound card for Windows sounds, but my audio interface is for DAW use only.


Joel
Can you please explain to me how you do this?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-07-2020, 05:39 PM
paulyg paulyg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: South Africa
Posts: 5
Default Re: How can I make Windows sound louder when using Pro Tools?

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
I'm still not 100% clear on your complete setup. If you don't use a separate audio interface for Pro Tools, this is probably not going to find a decent solution. For the vast majority of Windows users, its necessary to set Windows to NOT use the same interface as the Windows Default Playback Device(under Windows Sound Properties). The reason being that(too often) Windows will take control of the sound device and prevent Pro Tools from being "in charge" of the hardware. You might be suffering a similar issue of a hardware conflict between Windows and PT
Can you please explain to me what you mean by separate audio interface?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-07-2020, 07:27 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,755
Default Re: How can I make Windows sound louder when using Pro Tools?

Agree with above. You need additional gear.

1. Use a dedicated audio I/O device for Pro Tools, make sure the Pro Tools I/O settings point to it, and connect audio outs to a mixer. (I use a Presonus Central Station, but you'll need a mixer if you need to monitor Pro Tools and Windows and other sources at the same time.)
2. Connect computer audio out to mixer. Make sure Windows sound settings do NOT use the dedicated Pro Tools audio I/O box. I'd turn off the FX sound enhancer junk, too.
3. Connect other sources (like your phone) audio out to mixer.
4. Connect studio reference speakers to mixer.
5. You can skip the mixer if your dedicated audio I/O has extra available ins. Just patch-in Windows, phone, other audio sources & use Pro Tools aux's.
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7 hex 3.9GHz / 32GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.3 / Win 10 / HP ProBook / i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy: PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for demo
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-08-2020, 05:04 AM
paulyg paulyg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: South Africa
Posts: 5
Default Re: How can I make Windows sound louder when using Pro Tools?

Quote:
Originally Posted by EGS View Post
Agree with above. You need additional gear.

1. Use a dedicated audio I/O device for Pro Tools, make sure the Pro Tools I/O settings point to it, and connect audio outs to a mixer. (I use a Presonus Central Station, but you'll need a mixer if you need to monitor Pro Tools and Windows and other sources at the same time.)
What do you mean by dedicated audio I/O device? I'm having trouble finding something online.

Also, I just want to make 100% sure we're on the same page. I use ASIO4ALL. If I understand correctly, this piece of software allows your soundcard to dedicate itself entirely to Pro Tools (this reduces latency significantly). A consequence of this, is that if Pro Tools is open, and you then play a something on Youtube for example, you will hear no sound from the Youtube video. With this in mind, do you still believe I need a mixer?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-08-2020, 10:41 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,362
Default Re: How can I make Windows sound louder when using Pro Tools?

To all the above I will add that playing the same audio through different "interfaces" be they the onboard soundcard or a real interface is going to sound different, sometimes not much, sometimes a lot. It will also depend on what the volume settings are when playing the same audio file through different computers and "interfaces" as well as how far you are away from the speakers or even if the speakers are the same. Even with headphones, the audio will be different when played through different devices.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
make mix louder Bermaster 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 06-26-2005 08:16 PM
Mastering - Trying to make it sound louder Somebody General Discussion 11 07-30-2003 02:06 PM
How do I make my recordings louder? TrippSTRAT Tips & Tricks 19 01-11-2003 12:36 AM
how do I make a Pro Tools mix louder without clipping??? rmeuchel Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 09-01-2002 07:53 PM
How can I make my final song sound LOUDER!? Emo King 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 02-22-2002 03:19 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:27 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com