Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-04-2016, 10:36 AM
graveleye's Avatar
graveleye graveleye is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 2,239
Default monitor management

What are you guys using for monitor management? I finally find exactly what I need in the form of the SM Pro Audio M-Patch 4M, only to find they are pretty much out of business. Harmon apparently bought them out and that one isn't made anymore. I want something similar to it as it would make things much easier with the setup that I have. I have active Adam A7s, so I don't need a power amp for them, but I do want to hook up another set of passive monitors in my control room to a/b stuff which will require an amp. Something similar to the M-Patch 4M would be perfect from what I see to avoid having to do everything through the MOTU software + it has a talkback feature which is awesome. Ideas?
__________________
GIGABYTE X58A-UD3R, INTEL CORE i7 960, NVIDIA GEFORCE 8400GS, WIN 7, MOTU 896mk3 HYBRID, PT 10.3.2


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-04-2016, 10:42 AM
29CountsNY's Avatar
29CountsNY 29CountsNY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Saratoga Springs NY
Posts: 515
Default Re: monitor management

I just added a Crane Song Avocet and could not be happier!
It's not cheap but it was worth every penny.
__________________
www.montabonsound.com
www.29counts.com

Pro Tools HD 2018.4 | HD Native PCIe | HD I/O | 2 x Digi 192 | 2010 Mac Pro 12 Core 3.46ghz | macOS Sierra 10.12.6 | 48 gigs RAM | Tascam DM3200 | Crane Song Avocet II | Antelope Isochrone OCX | Universal Audio Quad & Duo | Waves Mercury + Studio Classics v9.6 & Abbey Road Collection
Pro Tools HD2 8.1.1 | 2 x PCIe Core Card | Digi 192 | 2009 Mac Pro Eight Core 2.26ghz
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-04-2016, 10:53 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 2,558
Default Re: monitor management

Pre Sonus Central Station is working great for me.
__________________
Desktop: Win 7 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7-980X hex @ 3.9GHz / 32GB / PT 9 / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: Win 7 / HP ProBook 4730s / i7-2630 / 8GB / PT 9 / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Info/Services link
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-04-2016, 11:05 AM
graveleye's Avatar
graveleye graveleye is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 2,239
Default Re: monitor management

that Crane looks nice but that's way out of my price range and probably does a lot of things that I don't even know I need yet!!

I am looking at the Mackie Big Knob at the moment. I really wanted something that has the hi-z jacks on it, but I haven't seen much out there with them.
__________________
GIGABYTE X58A-UD3R, INTEL CORE i7 960, NVIDIA GEFORCE 8400GS, WIN 7, MOTU 896mk3 HYBRID, PT 10.3.2


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-04-2016, 04:08 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,051
Default Re: monitor management

Another vote for the Central Station. Be aware that Presonus made a manufacturing change at some point and the older style with the 5 pin XLR connection for the power supply are no longer made(and that power supply is not available if it dies). The good news is that they are pretty dependable(still running the same one here for 6 years). The one I have that the PSU failed was hit with a power surge. I was able to buy a used one off craigslist for $200
__________________
HP z820 12 core, 64GB RAM, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs, Warm Audio and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-04-2016, 11:02 PM
Hannibal Lecter's Avatar
Hannibal Lecter Hannibal Lecter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: East Coast
Posts: 98
Default Re: monitor management

Antelope Audio Satori
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-05-2016, 09:42 AM
brianjanthony brianjanthony is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: PA USA
Posts: 1,063
Default Re: monitor management

I use the Dangerous Monitor ST.

I used to use the Presonus Central Station. I went thru 4 remotes with them and 2 units (still have one in storage if you want a cheapie but no remote).

The Dangerous has been going strong now for 3 years. That's about 1100 or so sessions. It never crackles, pops, hisses, or etc. Totally reliable. Now, I HATED the price tag. HATED it. But it's been totally solid so I'm glad I ponied up.

It gives me 3 sets of speakers plus a sub, assignable everything (volume/sub per speaker set for example), and I can monitor 4 sources (in my case, the mix going to each of my rooms). Talkback system is flawless. And those guys are ready and willing to answer any q.
__________________
Brian
www.brianjanthony.com
MacPro 6 core 3.46 Cheese Grater
HDX and HD NATIVE
48 gig Ram
PT 2018.3.
Sierra
192 IO and 96 IO

TDM user way back. PT user since 98.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-05-2016, 01:27 PM
graveleye's Avatar
graveleye graveleye is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 2,239
Default Re: monitor management

I'm seeing some good stuff and getting some good ideas. Thanks for the replies.
My monitors have XLR plugs on them, so I would like to have them on whatever unit I buy but I'm seeing either/or, and what seems to have only XLR doesn't also have the talkback mic. On the ones that have the standard 1/4" plugs, do you think I would have any quality loss going from XLR to 1/4" to XLR?
__________________
GIGABYTE X58A-UD3R, INTEL CORE i7 960, NVIDIA GEFORCE 8400GS, WIN 7, MOTU 896mk3 HYBRID, PT 10.3.2


Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-05-2016, 01:49 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 11,892
Default Re: monitor management

Quote:
Originally Posted by graveleye View Post
I'm seeing some good stuff and getting some good ideas. Thanks for the replies.
My monitors have XLR plugs on them, so I would like to have them on whatever unit I buy but I'm seeing either/or, and what seems to have only XLR doesn't also have the talkback mic. On the ones that have the standard 1/4" plugs, do you think I would have any quality loss going from XLR to 1/4" to XLR?
Why do you care about the output connector? It's going to be XLR or 1/4" TRS or maybe D-sub and you just use whatever cable is appropriate to get to your monitors. Lower-end manufactures are certainly going to save space and money and more likely to use TRS sockets. Worse case it costs you a couple of dollars for an XLR to TRS adapter or better still to cut off the XLR connector on one end of a cable and replace it with a 1/4" TRS. This should not be anywhere near the top of what you are worrying about in a monitor control system... there are usually lots and lots of things to think about there that are worth worrying about.

Grace m905 would be my pick... but I suspect outside your price range (but they do have a lower cost analog only version now).

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 03-05-2016 at 02:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-05-2016, 02:11 PM
graveleye's Avatar
graveleye graveleye is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 2,239
Default Re: monitor management

I care because in the old days it did matter if you were going from one type plug to another and if you used adapters, which I don't plan to, it made it worse. That's why.
__________________
GIGABYTE X58A-UD3R, INTEL CORE i7 960, NVIDIA GEFORCE 8400GS, WIN 7, MOTU 896mk3 HYBRID, PT 10.3.2


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Noob questions: Bass management and surround monitor calibration Dingo90 Post - Surround - Video 5 12-12-2010 10:24 PM
OT: Monitor management. Two outputs mixed together for 1 set of Monitors. Dizzi45Z Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 12 06-15-2010 12:57 PM
Looking for monitor management options Jperkins General Discussion 8 09-02-2009 08:18 PM
LCRS/5.1 monitor switching...and Bass Management Chris Coleman ICON & C|24 7 09-01-2002 03:12 PM
DSP Mix Management bluemt Tips & Tricks 0 03-31-2000 10:57 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:14 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com