Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Old 03-16-2001, 02:55 PM

Default Please Help....How can i clock my 888/24 using my rosetta...!!

Hi All,

Im new to all of this but can someone please explain how i can clock my 888/24 using my Rosetta ? Will i need to use inputs 1 & 2 using AES or can it be any of the inputs on the 888? What is the point of having wordclock output on the Rosetta if i clock the Rosetta using AES or SPDIF as suggested in another post ?

I would greaty appreciate it if someone could please provide clear instructions ..

Cheers and Regards

Alen Yu
Old 03-16-2001, 03:46 PM

Default Re: Please Help....How can i clock my 888/24 using my rosetta...!!

Yes, you would clock the 888 with the AES input of channel 1 & 2. Change the sync on the 888 from internal to digital.

You can use the word clock out of the Rosetta for any other unit that is capable of syncing to clock in.

------------------
Dan Matthews
InSight Sound Recording
(970) 663-1650
InSight Sound Web Page
Old 03-16-2001, 03:59 PM

Thanks for your reply....

Is it possible to slave the 888 to the rosetta clock via word clock or will i gain more benefit by using inputs 1 & 2 and using the intenal clock of the rosetta ?

I guess what i'm trying to get at is how will the 888 sound better than norm using the rosetta..?

Thanks for your help...
Old 03-17-2001, 01:43 PM

First off, word clock output on the rosetta is the same as the word clock getting sent out of its AES outs. The 888 only has a 256x clock input, so you cant hook the word from the roestta directly to the 888 but it dont matter.. the word coming out of the AES outs is the same..