Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-25-2020, 10:41 AM
Dabbler Dabbler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 49
Default Drag and Drop Audio from Workspace issue

Hi.

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.5.0 on iMac Pro Mojave 10.14.5

I am trying to drag and drop a bunch of audio files which are numbered 1 - 40 into a template with corresponding tracks also numbered 1 - 40 and for whatever reason, whenever I do this Pro Tools seems to scramble the order so that I have to go through and manually move every audio file to the track to where it should be.

It doesn't matter if I grab all 40 tracks or just 3 of them....they don't stay in alpha/numeric order. Huge time killer.

Say for example I have 5.1 interleaved audio files with the following file names:

Stem 1 Live Brass
Stem 2 Synth Brass
Stem 3 Live Strings
Stem 4 Synth Strings
Stem 5 Hi Perc
Stem 6 Lo Perc
Stem 7 Synth Perc Loops

In the workspace they are in numeric order Stem 1 to Stem 7, top to bottom.

Grab all 7 of them together and Drag/Drop to Pro Tools Session with 7 corresponding 5.1 Audio tracks, also numbered 1 - 7 (but track names should be irrelevant). This is what I see:

Track 1 Live Brass = Stem 3 Live Strings
Track 2 Synth Brass = Stem 1 Live Brass
Track 3 Live Strings = Stem 5 Hi Perc
Track 4 Synth Strings = Stem 7 Synth Perc Loops
Track 5 Hi Perc = Stem 2 Synth Brass
Track 6 Lo Perc = Stem 4 Synth Strings
Track 7 Synth Perc Loops = Stem 6 Lo Perc

Seems pretty random, but it is consistent insofar as the "scrambled" order is the same every time if I Quit Pro Tools and then re-open the session and do it again. Also, it doesn't matter if I only grab, for example, any three consecutive Audio files...they show up out of order top to bottom in the Pro Tools Session.

Anyone see this and know what's causing it? I've trashed Prefs/rebooted and restarted protools and still have the issue.

Any ideas would be much appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-25-2020, 11:31 AM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 3,382
Default Re: Drag and Drop Audio from Workspace issue

Hi, Does it matter if you drag them from a folder or from the clips bin?
__________________
Help Us Help You

Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
PreSonus Digimax LT
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS High Sierra Version 10.13.6
Pro Tools HD 2020.5
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-25-2020, 02:48 PM
Dabbler Dabbler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 49
Default Re: Drag and Drop Audio from Workspace issue

From a folder in the finder or from the clips bin it seems to work as I would expect.

That said, I was hoping to find a fix for the problem and not a work around....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-25-2020, 03:02 PM
capt kirk capt kirk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: vancouver
Posts: 464
Default Re: Drag and Drop Audio from Workspace issue

On my system, PT10, when I drag a clip group from the workspace, only a few of the tracks come onto the timeline, but then if i re-drag it from the clipbin, its proper...
__________________
www.kfaudio.ca
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-25-2020, 03:02 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,646
Default Re: Drag and Drop Audio from Workspace issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dabbler View Post
I was hoping to find a fix for the problem and not a work around
If it is a bug then fix would be newer PT version where the bug has been squashed. As you are on Mojave, try 2019.10 instead of the now current 2019.12 which is released for those who need to run Catalina. Some time soon 2020.x should be out too. If that doesn't help contact Avid Support and explain the situation you think is a bug.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-25-2020, 11:02 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 3,382
Default Re: Drag and Drop Audio from Workspace issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dabbler View Post
From a folder in the finder or from the clips bin it seems to work as I would expect.

That said, I was hoping to find a fix for the problem and not a work around....
Oh I wasn't thinking of it as a workaround - that's how I usually work.
__________________
Help Us Help You

Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
PreSonus Digimax LT
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS High Sierra Version 10.13.6
Pro Tools HD 2020.5
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Run as administrator issue - either drag and drop or elastic audio broken tcolvinMS Pro Tools 11 10 02-27-2015 08:17 AM
Can't Drag and Drop from Workspace blizzard Windows 8 02-13-2015 08:39 PM
Drag and Drop from Workspace VERY Slow gfcurtis macOS 36 01-29-2015 09:08 AM
WorkSpace Drag and Drop Not Working in PT11? quantise Pro Tools 11 0 08-14-2013 07:29 AM
Workspace drag and drop issue ZeSnail Post - Surround - Video 3 12-25-2011 08:11 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:48 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com