Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-13-2018, 06:16 AM
jamesleonard jamesleonard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 141
Default Sending Session File (MIDI)

Hi,

I have been asked to send a Session File (I have pt 12.8.3_iMac) because I have a problem with a Plugin. See below:


'' We are sorry about your issue but its in depth so we need more in depth info from you below if you can so we can test this here as close as we can to your situation.

Can you attach the Pro Tools session file with the Syntronik, etc (no audio is needed) so we can load it here and try it. Make sure once you make all your Syntronik changes or a few to make sure to re-save in Pro tools last and exit. ''



So if I go to: File>Save Copy In.

What else do I need to do?

It is midi only_44.1kHz_24bit. (8 bars - nothing special!)

Do I need to checkbox anything else in the Save Copy In, Window?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-13-2018, 01:07 PM
jamesleonard jamesleonard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 141
Default Re: Sending Session File (MIDI)

Anyone...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-13-2018, 04:31 PM
EdwardWilliam's Avatar
EdwardWilliam EdwardWilliam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Santa Fe/Las Vegas, NM USA
Posts: 34
Default Re: Sending Session File (MIDI)

I’d simply attach the session file to your email. It contains the midi data. Alternatively, check nothing in the Save Copy In window.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
__________________
Edward
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-13-2018, 05:19 PM
jamesleonard jamesleonard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 141
Default Re: Sending Session File (MIDI)

Alright...!

Last edited by jamesleonard; 01-13-2018 at 05:22 PM. Reason: Used to indicate a positive occurrence
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-16-2018, 04:10 PM
jamesleonard jamesleonard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 141
Default Re: Sending Session File (MIDI)

I was talking-to a friend of mine and he stated that:

'' Support may need a complete problem project file, saved from your host, to see why the Syntronik settings are not saved. ''

Could somebody explain what this process consists of?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-17-2018, 01:09 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,423
Default Re: Sending Session File (MIDI)

He may have meant Pro Tools Cloud?
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-17-2018, 07:11 AM
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 1,518
Default Re: Sending Session File (MIDI)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesleonard View Post
Do I need to checkbox anything else in the Save Copy In, Window?
First – save your own Syntronik settings by selecting Preset>Save Settings As, then also save your Pro Tools Session.
Then:
'Save Copy In'
Tick 2 items: 'Selected Tracks Only' (your selected MIDI and Aux Tracks) and 'Session Plug-In Settings Folder'

'a complete problem project file'
– in your case – is just a MIDI Track and an Aux Track, with Syntronik instantiated – small enough to email.

Mac Path for Syntronik Plug-In Settings:
Macintosh HD/Users/*username*/Documents/Pro Tools/Plug-In Settings/Syntronik

All the Syntronik (.pak) files should be in IKM's Samples Folder.
(Image of Windows location attached)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Syntronik Samples location (Windows).JPG
Views:	0
Size:	39.7 KB
ID:	9775  
__________________
Vanilla 2018.4/HD 11.3.2 & 10.3.10 - Studio One 3 Pro - Win7 64 Ultimate – Lenovo W520 ThinkPads (427637U & 4282-UN7) & 433830U Docks – Samples & Songs HDDs - Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 - AIR Mini 32 - Champ 12 - Rode NT2-A, SM57
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-20-2018, 05:50 AM
jamesleonard jamesleonard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 141
Default Re: Sending Session File (MIDI)

Thanks for the information, unkJE

I have done what you said. Will the people at the other end be able to ascertain what the problem is?

This is what Support stated to me in an email:

'' This is a perfect first fault finding exercise and by sending him those 2 files he will be able to test them on known systems and come up with the next steps. '' (Their Words)

Thanks

Last edited by jamesleonard; 01-21-2018 at 12:50 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-21-2018, 11:08 AM
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 1,518
Default Re: Sending Session File (MIDI)

Might just be a lot quicker to uninstall what you've got, then re-install. Doesn't take that long – this is what I did:

Created a Folder on my Samples drive – named it: IKM
From:
http://www.ikmultimedia.com/products...iew.php?C=free
Downloaded and installed:
SampleTank Custom Shop - Latest version: 3.7.1
Released on: 11-20-2017
Syntronik Free - Latest version: 1.1
Released on: 11-14-2017
Then: Any add-on instruments (like Syntronik Pro-V or SAM, etc)

See images depicting various Folders and their content – all Instruments in one Folder, all Samples in one Folder, etc

Also check the following for content:
C:\Users\Public\Documents\IK Multimedia

My Syntronik Presets location:
C:\Users\*User name*\Documents\Pro Tools\Plug-In Settings\Syntronik
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1 - IKM on Samples drive & Patterns.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	52.2 KB
ID:	9800   Click image for larger version

Name:	2 - Instruments.JPG
Views:	0
Size:	78.2 KB
ID:	9801   Click image for larger version

Name:	3 - Samples.JPG
Views:	0
Size:	79.2 KB
ID:	9802   Click image for larger version

Name:	4 - Multis.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	54.0 KB
ID:	9803   Click image for larger version

Name:	5 - Arpeggios & Library Info.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	73.9 KB
ID:	9804  

__________________
Vanilla 2018.4/HD 11.3.2 & 10.3.10 - Studio One 3 Pro - Win7 64 Ultimate – Lenovo W520 ThinkPads (427637U & 4282-UN7) & 433830U Docks – Samples & Songs HDDs - Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 - AIR Mini 32 - Champ 12 - Rode NT2-A, SM57
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-22-2018, 04:12 AM
jamesleonard jamesleonard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 141
Default Re: Sending Session File (MIDI)

Um... I should have said I purchased the: USB drive/boxed version (quite pricey as well!).

Will this make a difference - if I re-install [this]?

For example, I already have: Syntronik Free - Latest version: 1.1 in 'My Products' (incidentally, this is what led me to purchase the: USB drive/boxed version - because I was very impressed with it).


One more thing I wish to ask:


Let me try to explain this more:

* I received my serial number in boxed USB

* I authorise Syntronik (Authorization Manager). i.e. 1. insert the USB flash drive and launch the product installer. 2. I use the following Serial Number in the Authorization Manager to authorise my product

* Go to My Products >Syntronik (the one I paid for) - shows: My boxed serial number, however, when I have the 'Plug in: Syntronik opened' - it shows a totally different serial number in the Authorization Manager - and THIS serial number is attributed to SYNTRONIK FREE! in My Products/Serials/Authorizations


''For example: If i bought a car - I would expect the 'logbook' to contain the exact 'car registration' as indicated on the car - otherwise I would assume something is not right (imagine if i DID buy the car and I wanted to sell it one day?)''


I bought the 'USB version' for an easy connection - but this seems very strange. Because... the serial number is not my Serial Number.

Surely my Authorisation Manager should show the serial number I received with the: USB drive/boxed version?


I have had nothing but problems with this - since I received it in the mail - and that was nearly 2 months ago!

Thanks

Last edited by jamesleonard; 01-22-2018 at 04:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sending just aaf file w/o audio files paulmmoran Post - Surround - Video 6 02-24-2012 12:45 PM
How to copy midi file from one session to another Raoul23 Pro Tools 9 2 07-16-2011 01:52 AM
sending PTS File using just a "Plug-in" via ADSL ?? andre67 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 09-15-2007 01:53 AM
File Type problems Sending over Intenet..... tomhartman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 13 12-01-2005 12:21 AM
Sending file over net Hypekeez 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 12-03-2002 12:07 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:31 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com