Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-05-2010, 02:26 PM
TDub TDub is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NB Canada
Posts: 423
Default ART TPS II ... thoughts?

Hey Everyone,
I picked one of these up and i know very low budget, but had 2 questions:
1- anyone used one of these and did you like it?
2- anyone trade out tubes and gotten improved sound, and if so, what tubes?

appreciate it

TDUB
__________________
TDub

Digi002 R with Command 8 - PTLE 8.03
Intel Quad Q9550
Asus P5Q Pro
Win XP
4GB
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-07-2010, 04:12 AM
TDub TDub is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NB Canada
Posts: 423
Default Re: ART TPS II ... thoughts?

sorry to bump guys ... i know everyone's chatting on PT9 (very cool) ... but anyone have any experience to share on this one?
appreciate it.
__________________
TDub

Digi002 R with Command 8 - PTLE 8.03
Intel Quad Q9550
Asus P5Q Pro
Win XP
4GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-07-2010, 07:36 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,390
Default Re: ART TPS II ... thoughts?

Many of us view that piece as nothing more than cheap, so not many use it, or have experimented with tubes. Many cheapo tube preamps run the tubes at low voltage(like 50V) so they don't really achieve the sound of the better tube preamps(like a UA610). If you like the sound of it, absolutely use it. If you have a few bucks to toss around, look for hand-selected NOS tubes from Mullard, GE or Sylvania(and others I don't know) and see what happens. I know that changing out the chinese tube(likely what you have in there) for a NOS Mullard in my MXL V69 mic made an improvement, and I did the same with an ART Pro VLA II(but the difference there is subtle at best).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-07-2010, 12:02 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: ART TPS II ... thoughts?

I would look at spending the extra coin and grabbing a new or used MPA which has its fans.

They make a version of the TPS II called the DPS II that I might consider if I needed to add a pair of SPDIF inputs to LE to achieve the MAX18 I/O and I was low on dough.

From what I have heard the TPS is perhaps thought of as an effects channel for adding some tube warmth rather than a great tube powered pre. Buy a used one off eBay cheap and if you dont like it resell it.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-07-2010, 02:07 PM
TDub TDub is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NB Canada
Posts: 423
Default Re: ART TPS II ... thoughts?

Appreciate the replies guys.
So if I were to have say $200 to $300 to spend, whats the best bang for my buck for decent mic Pre? (i can probably return the ART)
appreciate any suggestions.
I currently have a couple of the Presonus tube pre's. They aren't bad, but wondering if will notice difference to spend bit more.

thanks
__________________
TDub

Digi002 R with Command 8 - PTLE 8.03
Intel Quad Q9550
Asus P5Q Pro
Win XP
4GB
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-07-2010, 03:13 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 3,339
Default Re: ART TPS II ... thoughts?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TDub View Post
Hey Everyone,
I picked one of these up and i know very low budget, but had 2 questions:
1- anyone used one of these and did you like it?
2- anyone trade out tubes and gotten improved sound, and if so, what tubes?

appreciate it

TDUB
I had a TPSII and eventually traded it out for a DPSII but they both bascially sounded the same - very thin and tinny, and that's on the "neutral" setting. I was planning to use them for vocals until I compared them to the pre's in the Digimax and the comparison was night and day - even the 003 pre's sounded tons better. I did put a new Sovtek tube in it but I haven't even bothered to check it out yet as I'm really just using it for my talkback mic.
__________________
Help Us Help You

Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
PreSonus Digimax LT
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS High Sierra Version 10.13.6
Pro Tools HD 2020.5
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
your thoughts please. ManhtnProjct General Discussion 24 11-20-2012 08:32 AM
Used Mac thoughts Kachunk macOS 6 03-20-2012 10:52 PM
My thoughts on being new to Mac and PT8 H-man 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-02-2009 08:48 AM
Thoughts of LE Jonne 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 14 05-13-2008 04:13 PM
Going from LE to MP. Thoughts? Snarf Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 3 01-19-2008 04:43 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:07 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com