Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 11-12-2012, 07:16 PM
CME CME is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ardmore OK
Posts: 3,207
Default

And while I definitely understand the desire for lots of AAX DSP plugs. Lets not forget HDX is better about mixing native and DSP plug-ins. I do believe waves has said they'll do AAX native. So you'll still be able to use them. Just not on the HDX cards.

And I'm just playing devils advocate there. I recently sold my platinum native bundle and have moved on.
__________________
Dell T5810. Harrison Mixbus 32C. Haven't used PT since 2015 and never been happier.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 11-13-2012, 12:31 AM
Oblivion777's Avatar
Oblivion777 Oblivion777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Slovenia, E.U.
Posts: 495
Default Re: AVID Must DO Something for AAX DSP

Well I have and use about 40+ Waves plugins. And I will continue to use them natively (even when PT11 will be out as Waves will support AAX-Native). I won't be able to track through them, but I have found nice alternatives for that. Besides what was mainstream yesterday can and does easily change tomorrow.
__________________
**********
Main DAW: MacPRO 5.1, 8-Core Xeon 2.93GHz, 24 GB RAM, OSX 10.13.6, HDX2, PT2019 Ultimate, 2x UAD-2 Quad Satellites (v9.x) 2x HD I/Os, 1x Omni HD I/O, C|24 Control Surface
Auxilary DAW: MacBook Pro with Retina Display (2012), 2.6GHz quad-core Intel Core i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.13.6, PT2019 Ultimate, 1x UAD Apollo Quad Audio Interface /w Thunderbolt Interface (v9.x)
**********
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 11-14-2012, 01:31 AM
Wolfgang Eller Wolfgang Eller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,036
Default Re: AVID Must DO Something for AAX DSP

I think my best investment was to not buy WUP for the last 2 years.

If they offer AAX Native with a regular WUP update I will do it.

If not...

I don´t care. I have so many replacements for Waves which are most of the time even better that the pain for the missing 1 plugin (mondomod) is not really severe.
__________________
www.srs-mastering.de
Mac Pro 6.1-8core, OS 10.13, PT2018, HDX2, Sonnet Echo Express III-R, Madi Interface.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 11-14-2012, 03:06 AM
Pirate Post Pirate Post is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Studio City, CA USA
Posts: 639
Default Re: AVID Must DO Something for AAX DSP

What would you replace the Waves MV2 with?
__________________
Peter Cole - Head Pirate
http://www.beforenoonpost.com
http://www.piratepost.net
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 11-14-2012, 07:12 AM
psmworld's Avatar
psmworld psmworld is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: austria
Posts: 354
Default Re: AVID Must DO Something for AAX DSP

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirate Post View Post
What would you replace the Waves MV2 with?
slate fg-x

they´ll be out with aax by january
__________________
Selling:


Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 11-14-2012, 12:43 PM
Wolfgang Eller Wolfgang Eller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,036
Default Re: AVID Must DO Something for AAX DSP

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirate Post View Post
What would you replace the Waves MV2 with?
It must be younger than 2 years, so I don´t have it and I don´t have to replace it.
__________________
www.srs-mastering.de
Mac Pro 6.1-8core, OS 10.13, PT2018, HDX2, Sonnet Echo Express III-R, Madi Interface.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 11-15-2012, 01:45 PM
matt-o- matt-o- is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 225
Default Re: AVID Must DO Something for AAX DSP

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirate Post View Post
What would you replace the Waves MV2 with?
Oh boy, how do I miss Elemental Audio's Neodymium, that was a fine dynamics plug-in. MV2 appears like the ultra-ultralight version of it...

flux deexpander is the only other low level upward expander I am aware of, though definitely hindered by parameterisitis ;-)
as MV2 replacement: flux solera (the full package with all 4 dynamics units....) parameterisitis x4 :-(

Cheers
__________________
MacPro Sixcore 3.3 GHz, 24GB RAM, HD native
PT 11.3.2, 10.10.3
www.imdb.com/name/nm0501611/
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 12-29-2012, 09:14 PM
A1's Avatar
A1 A1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 431
Default Re: AVID Must DO Something for AAX DSP

...2013 will be a good year for AVID PT AAX…
PT11 and New MacPros in the horizon…
more and more Native/DSP plugs being released…
and promises/rumors of Waves'…
__________________
:+:
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 12-30-2012, 05:18 AM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 1,734
Default Re: AVID Must DO Something for AAX DSP

Quote:
Originally Posted by A1 View Post
...2013 will be a good year for AVID PT AAX…
PT11 and New MacPros in the horizon…
more and more Native/DSP plugs being released…
and promises/rumors of Waves'…
Please don't build your hopes up. The promises/rumours/Facebook teasers from Waves are NOT about AAX DSP. They are NOT doing HDX period I know this for a fact.... They'd like to and they could do if they could make a return on 72 man years of HDX development and optimisation but they can't.

No doubt they'll be a flurry of naysayers following this post but believe me, it's really NOT going to happen. I heard it straight from the horses mouth. It's a bitter blow to the many thousands of pros who use Waves, not to mention the 592 who signed my petition.

https://www.change.org/en-GB/petitio...ge-of-plug-ins

BTW. Can we get this to 600 by the end of the year?
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Avid HDX1, PT12 HD, HD I/O 16x16, Avid S6 M10 24-5, 2013 12 Core Mac Pro. Robby The Robot meter bridge ornament.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 12-30-2012, 06:21 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,897
Default Re: AVID Must DO Something for AAX DSP

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marsdy View Post
Please don't build your hopes up. The promises/rumours/Facebook teasers from Waves are NOT about AAX DSP. They are NOT doing HDX period I know this for a fact.... They'd like to and they could do if they could make a return on 72 man years of HDX development and optimisation but they can't.

No doubt they'll be a flurry of naysayers following this post but believe me, it's really NOT going to happen. I heard it straight from the horses mouth. It's a bitter blow to the many thousands of pros who use Waves, not to mention the 592 who signed my petition.

https://www.change.org/en-GB/petitio...ge-of-plug-ins

BTW. Can we get this to 600 by the end of the year?
Once again Dave doesn't know what he's talking about with regards to Waves and AAX dsp. He refuses to acknowledge the announcement Waves is going to make at NAMM next month regarding AAX dsp/HDX support because it contradicts what he's been told by his supposed confidential source at Waves.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can Avid HEAT run in PTHD 10/11 without an Avid Audio Interface or HDX Card? hatepop Pro Tools 11 1 12-19-2013 02:26 AM
Unable to locate Avid hardware. Avid Pro Tools SE 8.0.3 (M-Audio KeyStudio 49) azndisast3r Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 3 09-21-2013 03:31 PM
Will (Avid/M-Audio) Pro Tools MP 9 support Avid Vocal Studio: Producer USB Microphone XDosShane Windows 0 02-04-2012 10:17 PM
AVID Website | Pros & Cons | Dedicated to the AVID Web Crew 25ghosts Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 07-28-2010 09:49 PM
New Avid Brand Identity, Product Announcements and an updated Avid.com Avid General Announcements 0 04-20-2009 01:56 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:01 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com