Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-16-2004, 06:54 AM
audiocase audiocase is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: London
Posts: 205
Default mbox vs m-audio ozone

I've heard that the mbox's Analog to digital converter sounds aweful by the time you finished mixing etc.
Judging these (M-audio and mbox)by thier A/D converters,which would guys say sounds better?


looking for a real usb mobile solution.
__________________
Be ready to capture the magic... even in your sleep.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-16-2004, 11:12 AM
AppleFunk AppleFunk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 159
Default Re: mbox vs m-audio ozone

I can't say for A/D's but here's my experience with D/A's for monitoring purposes, which is also very important in my eyes.

I had an m-audio audiophile 24/96, and then tried an MBox. I must say that I really didn't like the MBox sound that much at all. It sounded unclear in the low-mids and somewhat unfocused. The m-audio card sounded far far better and composed. The difference in sound was obvious. This is just my experience and there may be others who disagree with me. I myself would like to know what others think on this. I didn't try to record anything, just playback. But in my opnion D/A's are just as important as A/D's. Accurate monitoring directly influences how your mixes come out.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-16-2004, 05:37 PM
audiocase audiocase is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: London
Posts: 205
Default Re: mbox vs m-audio ozone

you're about right on point there, applefunk.Even my non-musical patner complained about hearing any low end with the mbox.
So,I wonder if anyone has done professional work with the mbox.
Anyone?

Is the mbox (audio quality wise)worth getting on a budget?

__________________
Be ready to capture the magic... even in your sleep.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-16-2004, 07:40 PM
a sparrow a sparrow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: australia
Posts: 34
Default Re: mbox vs m-audio ozone

I read on this board a while ago a post from someone who says they had opened up both the 002 and a MBox and the converters were the same. (i can't verify this myself but that's what was posted)

I haven't heard the m-audio ozone so I can't give you a comparison but I use the MBox and think it sounds just fine. But in all of these debates about whether the mbox or similar units give you a 'pro' sound it really depends on what you want to achieve and what you expect to get for your money!!!!

Bottom line IMHO there absolutly nothing to stop you producing real good sounding material with an MBox. The pre's are acceptable and can be used, and the converters give you a clean & true reproduction.

As a stand alone unit it's probably way to pricey compared to it's opposition but with PT.LE and the software bundle included its a pretty good deal and if you only need two inputs you're set to go.

Obviously there are muchmuchmuchmuchmuchmuchmuchmuchmuchmuchmuchmuch better pre's and converters out there but it's all about price. The Mbox isn't going to be used in a serious studio but as far as a good quality home setup or doing field recordings with a couple of mics & a laptop then it's really good.
__________________
what do you mean you forgot to press record!?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MBox + Ozone + Leopard holden_caulfield Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 12-12-2007 05:00 AM
Loading M Audio ozone to Mac OSX 10.4.10???? olynch76 Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 08-20-2007 12:57 PM
M-audio Ozone gets no love? mookungfu Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 10-11-2005 12:24 PM
M audio Ozone surchur 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-08-2004 01:40 AM
any one got the m-audio ozone surchur 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-26-2004 02:51 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:57 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com