Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-12-2004, 03:31 AM
Reckless Erik Reckless Erik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Reykjavik,Iceland
Posts: 673
Default USD Firmware

Can't seem to upgrade the firmware in the USD. The only serial ports I have on my G4 now is the Griffen port and of course the serial port on the mix card. Neither work. Keep coming up with a communication error. Any ideas anyone?
__________________
nickcath@internet.is
Newcomer Audio Post
MacBookPro 2.3GHz i7 16GB RAM OSX 10.14.6, PT 2019.10 HDn, Avid Artist Control, Avid Artist Mix...,
MacPro 3.5GHz 6 core 64GB RAM OSX 10.14.6, PT 2019.10 HDn, Avid Artist Control, Avid Artist Mix, PT Dock...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-12-2004, 10:18 AM
Mario C Mario C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 325
Default Re: USD Firmware

You probably already know this, but just to be sure....

PT will only use the serial port on the Mix card.

USD Setup will use the Griffin port, but not the Mix card port. This should upgrade the firmware.

Good luck.
__________________
Mario C
Metcom Studios
www.metcomstudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-12-2004, 11:56 PM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,255
Default Re: USD Firmware

You can upgrade the firmware within Protools setup/peripherals/synchroniztion/usd whith the USD cable plugged into the Mix card. You can not use the stanalone USD application, in that way, you must use the serial port/griffin.
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-13-2004, 07:00 AM
Reckless Erik Reckless Erik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Reykjavik,Iceland
Posts: 673
Default Re: USD Firmware

Thanks guys. I have used every combination of port and update program (from PT and the USD Utility) The firmware upgrade I am trying to install is ver 5.03. I keep getting the following error "Download was aborted due to an error in communication. Please power cycle your USD to reconnect ". All cables are correct. Digi Tech Supp I need a hand here!!
Nick
__________________
nickcath@internet.is
Newcomer Audio Post
MacBookPro 2.3GHz i7 16GB RAM OSX 10.14.6, PT 2019.10 HDn, Avid Artist Control, Avid Artist Mix...,
MacPro 3.5GHz 6 core 64GB RAM OSX 10.14.6, PT 2019.10 HDn, Avid Artist Control, Avid Artist Mix, PT Dock...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-13-2004, 10:05 AM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,255
Default Re: USD Firmware

5.01 is pretty solid firmware, are you updating to correct the issue 5.03 fixes? Or are you upgrading just because you can!!!!

If it aint broke dont fix it.

But I just tried it to see!!!!
I used the setups/peripherals window in Protools NOT the setup utility.
Check the USD box under the synchronizer tab. Click the update firmware button, locate your download.
Did you power off the USD for 5 seconds, then power up while holding the set button for 5 seconds? When it asked you??
The USD then looks like its powered off, even though its on, that puts it in boot loader mode. After the firmware upgrade dont close the window until you have powere cycled the USD off, and on. When it asks you.

This was just done with the USD connected to my MIX Core card. Also Protools was running as an application, no session was open.

Hope this helps

__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Firmware Updates lost fader pack. Firmware or personality? Oakdale Post ICON & C|24 0 03-23-2013 01:37 AM
Firmware stewie ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 1 01-31-2012 07:55 AM
Where's the next Firmware? maddmatt Eleven Rack 83 11-19-2010 11:51 AM
Firmware Update HELP. My 003 Rack will not update Firmware. New003RackUser 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 12-17-2007 10:01 AM
Command|8 Firmware 02.01.01 & Firmware Updater 1.4 Avid General Announcements 0 06-08-2004 04:48 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:09 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com