Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-22-2012, 09:06 AM
Eduardo Apolonia Eduardo Apolonia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Portugal
Posts: 335
Default Anybody successfully running a HDX2 on a Mac Pro 8-core Early 2008 Harpertown?

I'm battling between upgrading my HD3 to a HD6 or upgrading to a HDX2.

Since I have a Mac Pro 8-core Early 2008 Harpertown, and looking at the possibility of upgrading to a HDX2, I didn't want to upgrade at this point to a new Mac Pro since it seems that next year new ones will be released, and it's expected to have big changes.

So, I'm searching for some comfort of anybody that is using a HDX2 on a Harpertown

If someone is using a HDX2 on a Harpertown or even earlier model please let me know how successfully you are using it.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-22-2012, 09:26 AM
francois francois is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 815
Default Re: Anybody successfully running a HDX2 on a Mac Pro 8-core Early 2008 Harpertown?

You are going to spend an extra $6000 for the second card for a system that it not supported ????
HDX1 is about the same as HD6, more if you consider that you'll be using more native plugins waiting for more TDM to be ported to AAX, that where you'll need a faster machine.
__________________
PT 2019 ultimate -HDX1- OSX 10.14.6-MacPro 12 core 3.46
64 Gig ram- D-command 24-Trinnov Dmon
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-22-2012, 09:38 AM
MixerGuy MixerGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LA CA USA
Posts: 810
Default

You can't use HDX on a non supported Mac Pro.

Firmware / buss architecture issues.

And

It is possible (likely ?) that a 2013 pro machine will NOT have PCI slots. Just FYI.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-22-2012, 12:21 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,555
Default Re: Anybody successfully running a HDX2 on a Mac Pro 8-core Early 2008 Harpertown?

There are plenty of people use HDX cards in unsupported macs. Even Avid employees, unofficially of course.

Remember, unsupported just means untested.

There was supposedly an issue doing firmware upgrades with certain Macs but I think I've seen where people were not having any issues.

Tim Cook (Apple CEO) did say publicly that there will be an updated MacPro in 2013. Sure, it might not have PCI slots but I think it will or you could always use a chassis.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-22-2012, 03:20 PM
Eduardo Apolonia Eduardo Apolonia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Portugal
Posts: 335
Default Re: Anybody successfully running a HDX2 on a Mac Pro 8-core Early 2008 Harpertown?

Quote:
Originally Posted by francois View Post
You are going to spend an extra $6000 for the second card for a system that it not supported ????
HDX1 is about the same as HD6, more if you consider that you'll be using more native plugins waiting for more TDM to be ported to AAX, that where you'll need a faster machine.
The problem is that I need/want more than 64 I/O so that I can insert my hardware and use my summing mixers, so 1 HDX card isn't enough.
Although I'm convinced that 1 HDX card is enough for me in terms of DSP power.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MixerGuy View Post
You can't use HDX on a non supported Mac Pro.

Firmware / buss architecture issues.

And

It is possible (likely ?) that a 2013 pro machine will NOT have PCI slots. Just FYI.
I already heard that rumor that new 2013 Mac Pros will probably not have PCI slots. That would be quite disappointing, if I was sure that that was what was going to happen it would make my choice at the moment a lot easier :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmazurek View Post
There are plenty of people use HDX cards in unsupported macs. Even Avid employees, unofficially of course.

Remember, unsupported just means untested.

There was supposedly an issue doing firmware upgrades with certain Macs but I think I've seen where people were not having any issues.

Tim Cook (Apple CEO) did say publicly that there will be an updated MacPro in 2013. Sure, it might not have PCI slots but I think it will or you could always use a chassis.
I know what incompatible/unsupported means to AVID :)
I remember when I had to buy a special SCSI 7200RPM drive to use on Session 8 that only had 8 tracks because of Digidesign compatibility guarantee

But since I already saw some posts of people that had some minor problems with unsupported Mac Pros, I was just trying to get a good sense of what I could expect from using HDX cards on an unsupported machine.

BTW, Is there any chassis compatible with HDX at the moment?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-22-2012, 11:06 PM
MixerGuy MixerGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LA CA USA
Posts: 810
Default

Tim cook only said "something nice for the pros"

He did NOT mention 2013 Mac Pros.

BIG DIFFERENCE !!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-22-2012, 11:38 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,706
Default

Wow how about a bone here COOK

at least 1 pcie card slot
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-23-2012, 01:58 AM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,403
Default Re: Anybody successfully running a HDX2 on a Mac Pro 8-core Early 2008 Harpertown?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MixerGuy View Post
Tim cook only said "something nice for the pros"

He did NOT mention 2013 Mac Pros.

BIG DIFFERENCE !!!!!

A little article for you to read, do read the updated part at the end.

http://macpro.macrumors.com/

Quote:
Update: Apple PR has reached out and clarified that only the Mac Pro is expected to be next updated in 2013. The company had no comment about the iMac, which perhaps means that the iMac could see updates earlier than next year. It has been 406 days since the iMac last received an update, significantly longer than the traditional iMac update interval.
__________________
Manny.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Protools 10 with Harpertown (early 2008) Mac Pro? Dags macOS 26 10-13-2017 06:43 AM
HDX on early 2008 Mac Pro 8 Core.... no go ? :-( Zownd Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 8 12-27-2011 05:04 PM
Will 2008 Quad Core Harpertown Mac Pro work with HDX card ? karljohnson macOS 16 10-25-2011 01:33 PM
Anyone with an early 2008 8 core running pt8? carl_laruso Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 12-18-2008 12:09 PM
TDM On "Harpertown" Cores Running 10.5.1, What about 4-core? SmokinBaldMonkey Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 05-04-2008 12:06 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com