Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-04-2008, 10:42 AM
garnoil garnoil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,235
Default PT HD voice count

I have PT HD2 and I am relatively happy with the voice count/number of tracks that I am getting. I typically run large session with 120+ audio tracks (a mixture of stereo, mono, surround, and auxes), all TDM plugs, and QT video track. I am now reaching the limit of this system and have been considering adding another PCI-e accel card to increase the umber of voices and number of audio tracks. On the Digidesign website both the PT2 and PT3 appear to have the same number of voices.

"Up to 192 simultaneous (256 total) audio tracks at 44.1/48 kHz, 36 at 192 kHz"

So, will another PCI-e card (to make my system a PT HD3) increase the number of voices?

http://www.digidesign.com/index.cfm?...2&itemid=34329
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-04-2008, 11:04 AM
Delta Music Belgium's Avatar
Delta Music Belgium Delta Music Belgium is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Sint-Truiden, Belgium, Europe
Posts: 576
Default Re: PT HD voice count

In short: no...

I have a HD 7 Accel and have exactly the same voice and track count as you...
__________________
Marc Schellekens
Delta Music Belgium - Pro Tools | HDX Studio
http://www.deltamusic.be

Pro Tools | HDX system:
Mac Pro (Mid 2012) 3.33 GHz 6-core - 32 GB RAM - OS X 10.14.6 - Magma EB7 - PT HDX3 - PT Ultimate 2019.10 - HD I/O 16x16 - HD I/O 16x16 Digital - 192 I/O - 192D I/O (x3) - SYNC HD I/O - Apogee Big Ben - Rosetta 200 - Slate RAVEN MTi2 (x2) in a RAVEN CORE Station + 2 RAVEN CORE Station Sidecars - Almost all available AAX-DSP plug-ins
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-04-2008, 12:57 PM
garnoil garnoil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,235
Default Re: PT HD voice count

Thank you, I was afraid this was the case. Does this mean that in order to increase the voice count (perhaps to get 260 tracks) I must get another complete PT HD2 and sync the two systems together?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-04-2008, 01:26 PM
c-tone c-tone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,093
Default Re: PT HD voice count

Quote:
Originally Posted by garnoil View Post
Thank you, I was afraid this was the case. Does this mean that in order to increase the voice count (perhaps to get 260 tracks) I must get another complete PT HD2 and sync the two systems together?
Yes, or you could make submixes by bouncing several tracks together to a new stereo track to keep the voice count lower, doing a "Save As" in case you need to remix the submix at a later point.
__________________
www.clifnorrell.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-04-2008, 02:15 PM
Delta Music Belgium's Avatar
Delta Music Belgium Delta Music Belgium is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Sint-Truiden, Belgium, Europe
Posts: 576
Default Re: PT HD voice count

Quote:
Originally Posted by garnoil View Post
Thank you, I was afraid this was the case. Does this mean that in order to increase the voice count (perhaps to get 260 tracks) I must get another complete PT HD2 and sync the two systems together?
What would you do with 260 audio tracks?? In Post Production maybe, but I do not understand why you would ever use 260 tracks in a Music Production...

Anyway, indeed you should use another complete PT HD2 and sync the two systems together
__________________
Marc Schellekens
Delta Music Belgium - Pro Tools | HDX Studio
http://www.deltamusic.be

Pro Tools | HDX system:
Mac Pro (Mid 2012) 3.33 GHz 6-core - 32 GB RAM - OS X 10.14.6 - Magma EB7 - PT HDX3 - PT Ultimate 2019.10 - HD I/O 16x16 - HD I/O 16x16 Digital - 192 I/O - 192D I/O (x3) - SYNC HD I/O - Apogee Big Ben - Rosetta 200 - Slate RAVEN MTi2 (x2) in a RAVEN CORE Station + 2 RAVEN CORE Station Sidecars - Almost all available AAX-DSP plug-ins
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-04-2008, 02:36 PM
DrFord's Avatar
DrFord DrFord is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 873
Default Re: PT HD voice count

Isn't there a bigger track count coming in PT8?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-04-2008, 02:46 PM
garnoil garnoil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,235
Default Re: PT HD voice count

"What would you do with 260 audio tracks?? In Post Production maybe, but I do not understand why you would ever use 260 tracks in a Music Production... "

All I do is post for film and broadcast, sorry no music.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-04-2008, 03:00 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: PT HD voice count

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrFord View Post
Isn't there a bigger track count coming in PT8?
only in LE
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-04-2008, 03:01 PM
elicious elicious is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,365
Default Re: PT HD voice count

Quote:
Isn't there a bigger track count coming in PT8?
only for LE... us hd doods didn't even get our rehab rehab'd!
e
__________________
ihatetyping
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-05-2008, 07:45 PM
roberts roberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Toronto, Ont
Posts: 2,438
Default Re: PT HD voice count

Quote:
Originally Posted by Delta Music Belgium View Post
In short: no...

I have a HD 7 Accel and have exactly the same voice and track count as you...
You can have 256 tracks but only the first 192 free voices will play.
If you need to go beyond that you will need to sync 2 systems together.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to free up voice count , is it possible Weird Audio macOS 3 10-30-2012 06:39 PM
HD7 voice count Raoul23 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 7 11-13-2011 02:08 AM
Trouble with Mix Plus voice count... chucknkd Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 03-25-2008 08:44 AM
Voice count for HD3 & two 192s ? Mick F. Cantarella Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 06-29-2002 04:40 PM
Voice count for PT NT|24 Mix Euphony Sound Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 04-21-1999 11:26 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:06 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com