Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 02-25-2019, 06:18 AM
clausiii's Avatar
clausiii clausiii is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 1,801
Default Re: What brand ssd?

have two 512GB Crucial in my MBP since 2014 (or so). not a single problem since then.
__________________
My ears! My ears!
clausiii
-----------------
MacBook Pro i7 Quad 2.6GHz 16GB RAM
ProTools 2019.5
Digidesign Command|8
macOS Mojave
MOTU 4pre
MOTU Track16
Axiom Pro 25
LinnStrument 128
Roli Seaboard Block

tons of stomp boxes
tube amps
guitars
noise
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-25-2019, 08:23 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,035
Default Re: What brand ssd?

All Samsung drives here.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.12 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-25-2019, 09:13 AM
::F-L-E-X::'s Avatar
::F-L-E-X:: ::F-L-E-X:: is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 116
Default Re: What brand ssd?

Never had a Crucial SSD fail me... yet!! (Some are still going strong after 4-5 years) - particularly if you refresh them with Parted Magic

In terms of the (advertised) speed differences between manufacturers... the real world difference is arguably imperceptible in everyday use....

I'd avoid budget SSD's, but in general, I'd say the technology has reached a maturity that can be relied on... but as always back up!
__________________
www.fluidity-studios.net
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-25-2019, 10:05 AM
gnjlee gnjlee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Santa Fe, New Mexico
Posts: 190
Default Re: What brand ssd?

Samsung EVO here.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-26-2019, 04:22 PM
climber climber is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North Conway, NH
Posts: 317
Default Re: What brand ssd?

I need to replace the drive in my MacPro trashcan. looks like Apple or OWC are the only options. any suggestions? going from a 250 to 500...
__________________
__________________
Al Hospers
bass, vocal, composer, engineer

CleverSounds Recording

------------------------------------------------------
OS X Mojave, Late 2013 MacPro, 6 core, 32 GB RAM, Orion Studio , PT2019.10, Slate Raven MTi, ISA428, ADL600, Distressor, Grace 501, Dimedio, Obsidian, One LA, BAC500, Harrison 32 EQ, UAD2 OCTO, Focal 6 be, Auratones...
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-26-2019, 06:07 PM
audiobob's Avatar
audiobob audiobob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Houston
Posts: 933
Default Re: What brand ssd?

Three Samsung SSD's and 2 M.2's have been great here.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-27-2019, 09:14 AM
7Seas's Avatar
7Seas 7Seas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Portugal
Posts: 65
Default Re: What brand ssd?

Quote:
Originally Posted by climber View Post
I need to replace the drive in my MacPro trashcan. looks like Apple or OWC are the only options. any suggestions? going from a 250 to 500...


OWC Aura Pro X. Buy the kit with the enclosure to be able to reuse the old drive. Note must be on High Sierra or above. If not use the old Aura, that are more expensive and slower.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-27-2019, 09:31 AM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,810
Default Re: What brand ssd?

I use Samsung drives. Other than the firmware issue associated with a particular EVO drive a few years ago (it required a painstaking fix to resurrect the drive, but it worked and it functions properly now), they've been solid.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-27-2019, 10:05 AM
jaybot jaybot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: perth western australia
Posts: 12
Default Re: What brand ssd?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Lambert View Post
I use Samsung drives. Other than the firmware issue associated with a particular EVO drive a few years ago (it required a painstaking fix to resurrect the drive, but it worked and it functions properly now), they've been solid.


I’ve been needing to upgrade to SSD’s on my good ol’ 2011 MacBook Pro to a 1TB or min 500 Gig internally and on my old iMac Quad Core (I got for a steal...$300 with 16 gig Ram)
What do you guys recommend hard drive wise? (Oh and your trusty 2011 can be upgraded to 16 gig ram easy!! And your Quad Core can go to 32 gig no problem too)
I’m living proof


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-27-2019, 02:20 PM
lampmusic lampmusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 339
Default Re: What brand ssd?

What's the word on Western Digital SSD?


After reading these reviews I'm getting a little gun shy about my 1tb sandisk ultra (samples only)
__________________
Main System MBP 2016 (touch strip) 16G Ram.


I own a PTHD 11 which I still use on a native system in main studio (not sure if is worth the $ for reinstatement)


Doing most of my mixing work in PT 12 vanilla.
OS X 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Brand new Mbox, Brand new pro tools LE 7.4. "unable to locate digidesign hardware" eltore23 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 02-03-2012 11:13 AM
A brand new, Better day. fly_with_v Eleven Rack 1 04-08-2011 06:40 PM
Unable to get Pro Tools 8.0 to launch w/ brand new Mac Pro and brand new 003 ohheyandrew 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-16-2009 11:18 PM
The brand new HD with brand new Mac won't launch... Rammelt Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 07-18-2007 04:25 AM
Brand of RAM? Matt Whritenour 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 04-04-2006 09:54 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com