Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-25-2015, 01:52 PM
kierkegaards kierkegaards is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Default MIDI into IO?

How do I connect a 5-pin MIDI cable to my Avid I/O? I have an 8x8 without a digital card. If I get a digital card, what type of ports does the snake expose? The piano only has the 5-pin connector.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-25-2015, 04:03 PM
s.d. finley s.d. finley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Houston, TX. USA
Posts: 1,465
Default Re: MIDI into IO?

you need a midi interface as the AVID I/O has no midi I/O
__________________
sdf

sugarhillstudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-25-2015, 05:01 PM
kierkegaards kierkegaards is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Default Re: MIDI into IO?

How does it hook up to the IO?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-25-2015, 05:14 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,610
Default Re: MIDI into IO?

you can buy any separate MIDI adapter. It does not need to connect to the HD interface.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-25-2015, 06:22 PM
kierkegaards kierkegaards is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Default Re: MIDI into IO?

So any old MIDI interface that plugs into the computer via... USB?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-25-2015, 06:31 PM
s.d. finley s.d. finley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Houston, TX. USA
Posts: 1,465
Default Re: MIDI into IO?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kierkegaards View Post
So any old MIDI interface that plugs into the computer via... USB?
Well kinda. One that is USB and has driver support for your OS. That might narrow down the choices. I am still in TDM'ville and use an older Maudio 4 port USB interface for midi to some of my fx devices, PCM70, H3000.

On the super cheap:
http://www.amazon.com/VicTsing-Cable...ds=USB+TO+MIDI
__________________
sdf

sugarhillstudios.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dr 770 (boss dr rhythm 770) as midi controller/midi output to 11r midi input yellow Eleven Rack 1 05-04-2012 04:33 PM
003 midi ports not there in midi studio setup? Unable to record midi now? TREBLEBLEED 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 12-22-2009 01:06 AM
MIDI Questions On IMPORTING MIDI & Recording MIDI Pro Tools LE 7.4 Michaeldante MIDI 3 03-27-2009 06:42 PM
USB midi vs. din midi-(the old style midi connector) Ling Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 02-19-2009 03:15 PM
Assigning MIDI sounds to MIDI controller and playing sounds with MIDI lalalandguy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-02-2009 01:52 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:10 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com