Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-01-2012, 03:38 PM
Weird Audio Weird Audio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 99
Default How do I free up voice count in HDX

I have somehow met my system limitations, I cannot go any further with my project. Is there a NEW way of freeing voice,s .
The TDM way of muting does not seem to work. What is the method of this in HDX . Just learning to be better .
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-02-2012, 07:47 AM
Weird Audio Weird Audio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 99
Default Re: How do I free up voice count in HDX

OKI DOKI thnx ppl
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-08-2012, 10:58 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,031
Default Re: How do I free up voice count in HDX

There is not enough information about your dilemma for us to be instantly helpful.

Are you on HDX1?

I assume you have used all 256 voices, is that correct?

Are you mixing DSP plug-ins with Native, and do you understand the way this uses voices?

How many actual audio tracks are in play?

Telling us a little more about the session in question would be helpful.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.12 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-09-2012, 11:28 AM
Weird Audio Weird Audio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 99
Default Re: How do I free up voice count in HDX

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
[COLOR=black][FONT=Verdana]
[COLOR=black][FONT=Verdana]Telling us a little more about the session in
Currently operating with HDX1 with MP and Lion .
Guestimate of 90 tracks aux,s buss,s incl. 65 vocal channels Almost all instruments are in stereo . All 60 vocals in mono into stereo buss,s of coarse.
Yes I do mix dsp and non dsp plugins . All native plugs come first , never after dsp. Im pretty much all DSP on audio tracks and buss,s then all native on aux tracks. @96k for the moment , I personally hear a big difference in 96 vs 48 . I had to merge some vocal parts to save on voices . Style volume and dynamics differ greatly so I have been hesitant on merging to many tracks .
That would easily quadruple the mix process .
All native before dsp . all unused tracks deleted .
I was in the process of deleting aux tracks to free voices but now its a huge automation mix .
All very possible in PT now a days but not my style .
Hence the reason to free voice count or it will take a complete remix on 60 channels and plugs of level , plugs , eq , sends and buss automation . You name it it will have to be automated . NOT FUN for a mix that is 70% finished . I might as well start over , and say good bye to 80 hours of effort . the entire song will be a huge automation cluster fXXk.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-09-2012, 12:03 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,031
Default Re: How do I free up voice count in HDX

Well, it seems that you are well aware of the choices.

Simplify the session.

Reduce the sample rate.

Go with HDX2.

I don't know of anything else that would help to any great extent, unless you are running HEAT in Pre Fader mode followed by a native PI on each channel. That's another big voice stealer.

My choice would be the sample rate, but it seems you are not sold on that concept.

Maybe someone else will chime in with something better.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.12 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-09-2012, 12:54 PM
originalscottyg originalscottyg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 527
Default Re: How do I free up voice count in HDX

Quote:
Originally Posted by Weird Audio View Post
Im pretty much all DSP on audio tracks and buss,s then all native on aux tracks.
Isn't this part of the problem? Native plugins on Aux tracks use extra voices, right?
__________________
Scott Gatteño
Yessian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-09-2012, 08:27 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: How do I free up voice count in HDX

Quote:
Originally Posted by originalscottyg View Post
Isn't this part of the problem? Native plugins on Aux tracks use extra voices, right?
yes they do
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to free up voice count , is it possible Weird Audio macOS 3 10-30-2012 06:39 PM
HD7 voice count Raoul23 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 7 11-13-2011 02:08 AM
PT HD voice count garnoil Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 11-05-2008 08:47 PM
Trouble with Mix Plus voice count... chucknkd Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 03-25-2008 08:44 AM
Voice count for PT NT|24 Mix Euphony Sound Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 04-21-1999 11:26 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:02 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com