Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Pro Tools | S3

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-03-2015, 01:10 AM
domilik domilik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Berlin
Posts: 87
Default "Speed" of rotary knobs

Is there a way to edit (or even deactivate) this?

I do not get used to it, the rotarys are reacting to the speed they are turned, but I have big problems to find the right speed.

Tried to automate a smooth LR-panning (due to a movement across the screen), and just did not get it. Switched over to mouse...

Never had this problem on my old HUI-controller or on ICON, so I would like to have the rotarys working in that way.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-04-2015, 05:27 AM
domilik domilik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Berlin
Posts: 87
Default Re: "Speed" of rotary knobs

Any suggestions here?

Right now I am not able to do a Left-Right-Panning in the speed I want to move the sound (or the tempo which is given by picture).

Different rotational speed just leads into a much finer pan-resolution, but I want a slower pan-movement in my tempo.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-04-2015, 06:04 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: "Speed" of rotary knobs

the ICONs had selectable options for the knobs velocity (fast, slow, as you describe)

I don't have a S3 to dig around in but I'd look deeper or can you flip the Knob to the Fader
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-04-2015, 05:28 PM
Norrie's Avatar
Norrie Norrie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 116
Default Re: "Speed" of rotary knobs

Can't remember but there maybe somthing you can change in diagnostic mode but I really don't think there is .

As said above I woukd agree just flip to fader.
__________________
I don't suffer from insanity -- I enjoy every minute of it !

Avid S3
Artist Transport
Pro Tools HD 12
UAD Apollo 8P
Audient ASP 880
Mac Pro TrashCan
3.5 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5, 32GB ram
Adams A77x
UAD Quad Thunderbolt Satellite
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-06-2015, 01:29 AM
domilik domilik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Berlin
Posts: 87
Default Re: "Speed" of rotary knobs

Hey, I could not find any adjustment of the velocity by myself. Flipping to Fader of course is a workaround, I will do so, but it makes the Encoders a bit worthless imo.

I've had a set of Mackies before, and also a little Behringer-controller, both worked absolutely well for panning. And I really would like to do this with the S3-Encoders as well. The actual velocity is OK for a very fine trimming (in stop-modus) but it will not let you automate a movement.

Did you guys try to automate a movement (to screen, or music)? Did it work for you? Is it just me?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-05-2015, 05:26 AM
Eruk Eruk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 18
Default Re: "Speed" of rotary knobs

I agree, the speed of the rotary knobs is not very good.
Will there be a software update where the senstivity of the rotary knobs can be adjusted? If not please do make one!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-05-2015, 11:12 AM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 406
Default Re: "Speed" of rotary knobs

This was an issue on the S6 and I believe they added a preference. If the S3 knobs work the same way, they're velocity sensitive. So moving them fast gives big panning and slow gives small precise panning. Which is better on paper than in practice because as you said it makes it near impossible to pan to picture.
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-06-2015, 07:59 PM
teedeecee teedeecee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sydney
Posts: 98
Default Re: "Speed" of rotary knobs

In my view, this issue is the single biggest weakness of the S3.

Tom et al, how do we most effectively request that the S3 rotary knobs have a preference to act in a linear fashion just like your dear S5? I see in the S6 forum that Eddie has been discussing the speed preferences, is there any plan on including the S3 in this?

Regards,

Tony
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-08-2015, 07:23 AM
J-S-Q J-S-Q is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: London
Posts: 208
Default Re: "Speed" of rotary knobs

Definitely a +1 from me on this.

I'd like the option to have completely linear control at all times with some kind of preference setting to adjust the speed/sensitivity. If there was then a further option to add a degree of acceleration, that would be a bonus.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-08-2015, 08:19 AM
ha2dorff ha2dorff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Bergen, Norway
Posts: 242
Default Re: "Speed" of rotary knobs

+1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does "Westmere" qualification apply to "Bloomfield" and "Gulftown" also? bashville Pro Tools 10 5 03-23-2013 04:04 PM
hardware buttons for "preview", "capture" and "punch" evs Post - Surround - Video 1 12-06-2010 01:28 PM
"Slowing down the tape speed" bsmith23 Tips & Tricks 7 05-11-2009 08:03 PM
"Tape" speed MacSean112 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 20 07-01-2003 01:19 AM
The "FATE" of CM LABS "MotorMix" & "MotorMate". Dum dum dum dum... leon777 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 21 10-15-2002 01:00 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:12 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com