Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Pro Tools | S3

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-23-2014, 03:29 PM
The Saxplayer The Saxplayer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Luxembourg
Posts: 77
Default S3 AVB not all Macs compatible

Hi all,

I just added an S3 to my Protoolsrig sand I am trying to enable the audio interface. Audi Midi setup won't show me the network device browser claiming my mac is not avb compatible.

At some stage I got a message saying: enable AVB click assist me but then I don't get any option to enable AVB.

I am running a Mac Pro 2010 Quad core Intel Xeon 2x2.4 GHz 12 GB Ram
Mavericks 10.9.5

It would be really uncool if this Mac would not allow me to use the inbuilt I/O.

I am currently looking into a workaround for the fact that HDX is not playing back safari Audio or Youtube....

Thanks for helping

Georges
__________________
Thanks very much

Georges
The Saxplayer
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-23-2014, 03:37 PM
The Saxplayer The Saxplayer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Luxembourg
Posts: 77
Default Re: S3 AVB not all Macs compatible

Dooh!

Computer: The following Apple Macintosh computers are qualified for AVB audio streaming with S3.
Note that the models listed below must be equipped with a Thunderbolt port to be compatible
Mac mini
iMac
MacBook Pro
MacBook Air**
*Mac Pro computers are not qualified at this time,
**Pops and clicks in the audio stream may be experienced with Macbook Air models on OS X 10.9.x

MacPro not compatible....???
__________________
Thanks very much

Georges
The Saxplayer
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-23-2014, 10:04 PM
Kyle Splittgerber's Avatar
Kyle Splittgerber Kyle Splittgerber is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: CA
Posts: 313
Default Re: S3 AVB nbot all Macs compatible

Hey Georges,

Regarding Mac Pro computers and AVB, only the 2013 Mac Pro supports AVB since that is the only model with Thunderbolt. So no, unfortunately your 2010 Mac Pro doesn't support AVB.
__________________
Kyle Splittgerber
Senior Principal Product Designer
Avid
Berkeley, CA
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-24-2014, 01:48 AM
The Saxplayer The Saxplayer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Luxembourg
Posts: 77
Default Re: S3 AVB nbot all Macs compatible

The Problem is that the Company who sold me the S3 knew my Computer Config and they did not warn me.

Now I cannot use the I/O. I have also no plans to upgrade my computer anytime soon. Maybe the Laptop at some stage.

Different topic but related to my problem.
Would you know if there are any plans to make the HDX compatible with Core Audio? I cannot playback Youtube content which I sometimes have to do.

Thanks
__________________
Thanks very much

Georges
The Saxplayer
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-24-2014, 02:49 PM
Kyle Splittgerber's Avatar
Kyle Splittgerber Kyle Splittgerber is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: CA
Posts: 313
Default Re: S3 AVB not all Macs compatible

Sorry to hear that. AVB is a new technology in the studio space, so perhaps the dealer wasn't familiar with the requirements?

HDX is compatible with Core Audio, but the driver isn't multi-client so you can't use HDX as PT engine and Core Audio sound device simultaneously. Is that what you mean? A workaround would be to route optical SPDIF out of the Mac to optical SPDIF in on the HD interface.
__________________
Kyle Splittgerber
Senior Principal Product Designer
Avid
Berkeley, CA
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-07-2016, 05:26 PM
Egprod77 Egprod77 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 1
Default Re: S3 AVB not all Macs compatible

I My Avid S3L-X works fine with my MacPro 3,1 (2008)

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-08-2016, 04:17 PM
made made is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Berlin
Posts: 228
Default Re: S3 AVB not all Macs compatible

try this

http://www.sonnettech.com/product/prestogigpro.html
__________________
i7 3,39GHz, 32GB, PTHD2018.12, OS 10.12.6, S3, Transport, (EuCon 19.5.1.44)
LIO
AJA XT-Express
Reaper 5.97, Fireface UCX
MacbookPro i7 PTHD2018.12 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-09-2016, 12:22 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,669
Default Re: S3 AVB nbot all Macs compatible

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle Splittgerber View Post
Hey Georges,

Regarding Mac Pro computers and AVB, only the 2013 Mac Pro supports AVB since that is the only model with Thunderbolt. So no, unfortunately your 2010 Mac Pro doesn't support AVB.
how and why does TB have anything to do with the S3 running audio? it connects to the computer via a cross over ethernet cable right?
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-09-2016, 01:01 AM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: S3 AVB not all Macs compatible

I'm guessing TB and AVB capability were first included on the same Mac Pro model, so the TB port is an easy way of identifying compatible models by sight.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-09-2016, 10:19 AM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,854
Default Re: S3 AVB not all Macs compatible

Quote:
Originally Posted by Egprod77 View Post
I My Avid S3L-X works fine with my MacPro 3,1 (2008)

It seems like Avid has AVB divers for Venue systems that they don't have for Pro Tools systems. I don't get it.
__________________
Brandon Howlett
Vibe Audio Post, Inc.
Re-recording Mixer
Custom Build CPU, HDX 1, Omni, 192 I/O Digital
S6 M10 24 fader
Satellite Mac Pro, HDNative, 192 I/0
Black Magic HD Extreme
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
001 compatible with new macs? Thetics 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 10-07-2006 12:14 AM
Digi, are new Macs compatible yes or no ?!? Mark Haliday Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 04-17-2003 08:19 AM
OS9-compatible brand new Macs still available MGalway Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 03-12-2003 03:46 PM
Are the DP867 macs compatible with PT HD? GrooveEntertainment Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 10-04-2002 12:21 PM
NEW MACS COMPATIBLE !!!! Norbert, Peak Sounds, Inc. Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 08-31-2002 06:48 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:03 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com