Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-26-2016, 04:33 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Apparently, Slate Virtual Microphone System is no longer vaporware

Just got an email, they're selling it for $999 USD and it includes a preamp, power supply, and microphone.

Not sure this is something I necessarily want to jump into, but at least the price isn't astronomical. $1k is a pretty bang-up price for a good mic (even if it's cardioid only) and good preamp, regardless of accompanying software. The question: is it a good mic and preamp?
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-26-2016, 07:19 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,651
Default Re: Apparently, Slate Virtual Microphone System is no longer vaporware

I bet it so clean, it crazy

It would almost have to be, clean and neutral to emulate the different Mic's
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-26-2016, 08:53 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,698
Default Re: Apparently, Slate Virtual Microphone System is no longer vaporware

Indeed, at that price, I expect they will sell tons to project and home studios that can't afford some serious mics(and I'd bet it ain't half bad either). Just remember some basic stuff;
no mic is perfect on everything
sometimes a cheaper mic is a better choice(like an SM7 for Michael Jackson)
1 mic with several "sounds" is going to cover a lot of ground

Even though I have a nice selection here, I will likely add this at some point(due to my never-ending GAS.....)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-26-2016, 10:58 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: Apparently, Slate Virtual Microphone System is no longer vaporware

I'm just thinking that they're trying way too hard to cast this as a replacement for, say, a u47 but there's no omni pattern. It might be a great piece of kit, but it reeks of hype. Everything is "warm" and "vintage" and "thick" and whatnot.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-27-2016, 05:37 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,651
Default Re: Apparently, Slate Virtual Microphone System is no longer vaporware

Quote:
Originally Posted by mesaone View Post
I'm just thinking that they're trying way too hard to cast this as a replacement for, say, a u47 but there's no omni pattern. It might be a great piece of kit, but it reeks of hype. Everything is "warm" and "vintage" and "thick" and whatnot.


Reeks of hype? Sounds like slate's M.O. If you ask me
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-27-2016, 06:23 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,651
Default Re: Apparently, Slate Virtual Microphone System is no longer vaporware

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Indeed, at that price, I expect they will sell tons to project and home studios that can't afford some serious mics(and I'd bet it ain't half bad either)

1 mic with several "sounds" is going to cover a lot of ground)


Dave I just got a Miktek CV4 and this thing sounds amazing. I can't imagine Slate's offering sounding as good or better than this....
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-27-2016, 03:33 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,698
Default Re: Apparently, Slate Virtual Microphone System is no longer vaporware

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
Reeks of hype? Sounds like slate's M.O. If you ask me
Indeed As for the Miktek CV4, its one of my 2 "go to" vocal mics(Miktek C7 being the other). I also use the CV3 and SM7 a bit, and sometimes even pull out my $300 MXL V89 But the idea of having several variations of mic and the 2 preamp flavors still makes me want..........
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-27-2016, 03:56 PM
SineSwimmer SineSwimmer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: 2 Camden Dr, Pittsburgh, PA 15215
Posts: 3
Default Re: Apparently, Slate Virtual Microphone System is no longer vaporware

Welp, time to start saving the moolah!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-28-2016, 02:07 AM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,010
Default Re: Apparently, Slate Virtual Microphone System is no longer vaporware

It being native. I'm thinking of running it like this. Use it on a track say vocals for example when happy with the combination print it so I can disable the plugin!!! What do you guys reckon? In real life you would have to commit to a preamp


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-28-2016, 06:17 AM
AlexLakis AlexLakis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,243
Default Re: Apparently, Slate Virtual Microphone System is no longer vaporware

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raoul23 View Post
It being native. I'm thinking of running it like this. Use it on a track say vocals for example when happy with the combination print it so I can disable the plugin!!! What do you guys reckon? In real life you would have to commit to a preamp


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
If the VMR system is any indicator here, I'll reckon the CPU footprint will be so low on any modern-ish machine you won't even notice it, so you probably won't ever have to commit (unless you want to for archive/transfer purposes.)

Last edited by AlexLakis; 05-28-2016 at 07:40 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Slate Virtual Microphone System (VMS) Is Here unkJE General Discussion 13 11-04-2015 04:12 PM
WTB: Slate VBC Virtual Bus Compressors Becharax Buy & Sell 4 11-02-2015 12:56 PM
Slate Virtual Console Collection 2 - AAX (now available) Benoni AAX Plug-ins 47 04-26-2015 06:52 AM
New - Slate Virtual Mix Rack nst7 AAX Plug-ins 21 10-22-2013 11:52 AM
Operating system held off... apparently forever? kirkbross 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 03-27-2013 09:46 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:06 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com