Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #611  
Old 02-20-2015, 05:50 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,710
Default Re: Massey and Slate

Explain to me how the groups is supposed to work?
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com
Head Audio/A1 Blue Man Group: Speechless tour

Home/mobile: Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Focusrite Red 8Pre / Protools HD Native 2018.10 Ultimate
Reply With Quote
  #612  
Old 02-20-2015, 08:12 PM
SpinningDisk's Avatar
SpinningDisk SpinningDisk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,474
Default Re: Massey and Slate

Diffently worth the wait. Thank you Steve. You out did yourself. Wow.

__________________
PT 11, PT LE 6.0, DIGI 001, DIGI 003, 27" Late 2012 Intel iMac, Blue and White G3, Reason 7, Celemony, Waves, A.I.R., Softube, XLN Audio, IKmultimedia, Massey
Alesis Masterlink, Alesis Adat LX20,
, Yamaha Motif ES8, Sure SM58, Sure KSM27, Byerdynamic MC 834 N, Event Project Studio 6, Pod Line 6, Focusrite Trakmaster Pro DI, Glyph Drives, Lexicon,
Fender Strats, Ibanez Acoustic, Ibanez Bass, Ibanez Electric.

http://www.johnackermusic.com/
protools@verizon.net

Live and Let Live
Reply With Quote
  #613  
Old 02-20-2015, 08:51 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,652
Default Re: Massey and Slate

Quote:
Originally Posted by JCBigler View Post
Explain to me how the groups is supposed to work?

You route all the tracks to a specific group...and it is supposed to emulate sending individual tracks to a master buss. On a console
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #614  
Old 02-20-2015, 08:54 PM
SpinningDisk's Avatar
SpinningDisk SpinningDisk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,474
Default Re: Massey and Slate

Dumb question YYR123. The channel before or after a VI(amp simulation, AD2 etc.)?
__________________
PT 11, PT LE 6.0, DIGI 001, DIGI 003, 27" Late 2012 Intel iMac, Blue and White G3, Reason 7, Celemony, Waves, A.I.R., Softube, XLN Audio, IKmultimedia, Massey
Alesis Masterlink, Alesis Adat LX20,
, Yamaha Motif ES8, Sure SM58, Sure KSM27, Byerdynamic MC 834 N, Event Project Studio 6, Pod Line 6, Focusrite Trakmaster Pro DI, Glyph Drives, Lexicon,
Fender Strats, Ibanez Acoustic, Ibanez Bass, Ibanez Electric.

http://www.johnackermusic.com/
protools@verizon.net

Live and Let Live
Reply With Quote
  #615  
Old 02-20-2015, 08:56 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,652
Default Massey and Slate

I put them after b/c pre VI is all Midi


I haven't made it home yet since this morning so I am excited to try this out
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #616  
Old 02-20-2015, 08:56 PM
SpinningDisk's Avatar
SpinningDisk SpinningDisk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,474
Default Massey and Slate

Thanks.
Be nice to hear what you think. I'm burnt out from shoveling all day. Look more into it tomorrow.
__________________
PT 11, PT LE 6.0, DIGI 001, DIGI 003, 27" Late 2012 Intel iMac, Blue and White G3, Reason 7, Celemony, Waves, A.I.R., Softube, XLN Audio, IKmultimedia, Massey
Alesis Masterlink, Alesis Adat LX20,
, Yamaha Motif ES8, Sure SM58, Sure KSM27, Byerdynamic MC 834 N, Event Project Studio 6, Pod Line 6, Focusrite Trakmaster Pro DI, Glyph Drives, Lexicon,
Fender Strats, Ibanez Acoustic, Ibanez Bass, Ibanez Electric.

http://www.johnackermusic.com/
protools@verizon.net

Live and Let Live
Reply With Quote
  #617  
Old 02-20-2015, 10:33 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: Massey and Slate

Groups on the VCC are supposed to work like VCA groups. Assigning an instance VCC Mixbuss to the group, with Pro Tools routing to match, it operates like a subgroup master. It's a great way to manage the session, provided you have easy access to the assignments - which you no longer have! Boo!

Sounds good, no doubt. The differences between consoles seems more pronounced in this version (or my memory of VCC 1.0 could be faulty, it's been SO LONG). And is the RC TUBE console a lot tighter in the low end, or is it just me? Probably depends on program material. Fricken sweet regardless.

But I want my track list back.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #618  
Old 02-21-2015, 07:15 AM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,622
Default Re: Massey and Slate

Quote:
Originally Posted by mesaone View Post
Groups on the VCC are supposed to work like VCA groups. Assigning an instance VCC Mixbuss to the group, with Pro Tools routing to match, it operates like a subgroup master. It's a great way to manage the session, provided you have easy access to the assignments - which you no longer have! Boo!

Sounds good, no doubt. The differences between consoles seems more pronounced in this version (or my memory of VCC 1.0 could be faulty, it's been SO LONG). And is the RC TUBE console a lot tighter in the low end, or is it just me? Probably depends on program material. Fricken sweet regardless.

But I want my track list back.
They modeled a different console for RC-Tube and US-A

Via the manual:
Quote:
The Consoles
Every console has been optimized so that it matches the original tone of it's analog counterpart with absolute precision. In most of the consoles, you'll likely not hear a difference. However, the US-A and RC-Tube models were modified to match some new reference units that we obtained, and while the changes are very subtle, we think they are for the better and hope you'll agree!
Reply With Quote
  #619  
Old 02-21-2015, 12:03 PM
CME CME is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ardmore OK
Posts: 3,205
Default Re: Massey and Slate

I thought RC tube was a little more subtle. And the us-a also. But I rarely used it. So wasn't sure.
__________________
2009 Mac Pro - Dual X5650 Xeon 6-core 2.66Ghz procs, 48GB of Ram, SATA 3 and USB 3.0 PCIe cards. R9 280X video card. macOS Sierra. Harrison Mixbus 32C, Studio One 3, Reaper, and pro tools 12 when I have to.
Reply With Quote
  #620  
Old 03-05-2015, 11:29 AM
SpinningDisk's Avatar
SpinningDisk SpinningDisk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,474
Default Massey and Slate

You made a great product Steven Slate .I don't know a lot about mixing, producing, eneginering etc. but I feel very comfortable thanks to sites like this and great plugins like the VMR and the VCC. I don't listen to everyone or take it a full value. I like to take a little bit of this, a little bit of that to make it work. I find myself getting so caught up with all the voices that I don't get any thing done. ie. Gain staging. I spent almost a year trying to figure it out. I'm a writer and singer not and engineer. I just make sure my tracks are at -18 and my bus peaks at -6. For me it works.
So in closing. Thank you all for your help and knowledge.
Steven. Well it speaks for itself. You take the time to try and do it right. It sounds so good I'm thinking its some kind of Black Magic.
Couple things.
1. Would be nice if the rack did incorparate itself into the Avid mixer and seq, such as when you open it, the plugs will open up on the inserts in a vertical fashion.
2. Would be nice to know what plugs I bypassed in the VMR.


__________________
PT 11, PT LE 6.0, DIGI 001, DIGI 003, 27" Late 2012 Intel iMac, Blue and White G3, Reason 7, Celemony, Waves, A.I.R., Softube, XLN Audio, IKmultimedia, Massey
Alesis Masterlink, Alesis Adat LX20,
, Yamaha Motif ES8, Sure SM58, Sure KSM27, Byerdynamic MC 834 N, Event Project Studio 6, Pod Line 6, Focusrite Trakmaster Pro DI, Glyph Drives, Lexicon,
Fender Strats, Ibanez Acoustic, Ibanez Bass, Ibanez Electric.

http://www.johnackermusic.com/
protools@verizon.net

Live and Let Live
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Massey DRT vs slate trigger YYR123 The Drum Room 17 09-24-2014 08:19 AM
FS: Slate VCC, Slate VTM, Soundtoys Radiator apesong Buy & Sell 10 05-01-2014 03:01 PM
Slate Digital and Steven Slate Drums AAX DHL AAX Plug-ins 6 04-22-2013 12:50 PM
WTB: Massey VT3 EQ dawsonaudio Buy & Sell 0 11-22-2012 09:46 AM
Massey DTM... came and went? theaero Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 23 09-25-2009 11:59 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:21 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com