Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-25-2013, 05:34 PM
Mr Midwest Mr Midwest is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Illinois
Posts: 14
Default "Crackling" noise during playback and vocal recording

I don't think its the latency ?!?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-25-2013, 06:11 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,104
Default Re: "Crackling" noise during playback and vocal recording

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Midwest View Post
I don't think its the latency ?!?
How are users supposed to guess what is causing this problem when we know nothing about your system. As I've asked for on your other posts. Start with reading the "Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!" link above and post a Sandra report.

Crackling problems are typically caused by under-spec hardware, especially the audio/session hard drive, overloading the CPU with plugin processing and/or by faulty/buggy plugins or by improper clocking when using an external digital source like S/PDIF.

What exactly are you recording? (e.g. vocals into what exact Microphone goign into what exact connector in the interface? Or if its a USB Microphone in a Pro Tools SE bundle, what exact microphone?). If not a USB Microphone then what exact audio interface and driver version? What session sample rate? What exact version of Pro Tools ? (You now have Pro Tools SE 8.x.x installed?) What are all the playback engine settings (post a screen shot of the playback engine dialog). If ignore errors is checked uncheck it and see what error Pro Tools thows. Try a buffer size of 512 or 1024 samples, does the clicking problem go away entirely? What plugins are in use in the session? Does this happen with no plugins instantiated in the session? Does this happen with a new empty session?

You would have been much better off combining your multiple one line cryptic posts into one clear post, and providing some useful level of description right up front in that thread. Hopefully a moderator here will combing all your recent posts and move them to the appropriate Pro Tools SE/Legacy products forum.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-30-2013, 04:44 AM
t4d t4d is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: uae
Posts: 12
Default Re: "Crackling" noise during playback and vocal recording

I get this sometimes in PT win64 with eleven rack,. just change your buffer settings it cleans it up for me,. up or down it does not matter for me it appears if I do alot of plugin editing ( adding changing settings etc ) while playing the track.

post more info when you get it
__________________
3D Artist by day,. Muso by night.

Intel I7 - Win 7 64bit - 16 Gigs ram - SSD sata3 HD's - Eleven Rack - Reason - Sonar X2 Pro - Reaper - Melodyne - Oh and 20 guitars and not enough fingers to play then all ...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-30-2013, 08:17 AM
ajhous's Avatar
ajhous ajhous is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Illinois
Posts: 44
Default Re: "Crackling" noise during playback and vocal recording

As stated above, it is usually due to the specs of your computer not keeping up with what pro tools is trying to place on it.
Try going to the playback engine, and change everything to the highest value.

It may be a faulty microphone.
__________________
AJHBEATS
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-14-2014, 05:40 AM
louieshowers louieshowers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 569
Default Re: "Crackling" noise during playback and vocal recording

if you are on a windows machine with an mbox3, and you are using the latest driver, there is your problem. It is unusable. Download the previous version. Even if you aren't on an mbox..try another version of your driver. http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...nload/en379411

I really enjoy the mystery. Thanks for the challenge! I enjoy the cryptic posts! I am happy that you haven't wasted more of your valuable time downloading the SSi software and posting a Sandra Report...way to avoid being another unpaid troubleshooter for a super fragile and problematic product.
__________________
Windows 7 64 Ultimate: SP1
PT 10.3.8

------------------------------------------------------
¨WHERE´S MY CHECKBOOK?¨
https://soundcloud.com/louieshowers
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-24-2015, 05:27 PM
dg27 dg27 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 252
Default Re: "Crackling" noise during playback and vocal recording

Quote:
Originally Posted by louieshowers View Post
if you are on a windows machine with an mbox3, and you are using the latest driver, there is your problem. It is unusable. Download the previous version. Even if you aren't on an mbox..try another version of your driver. http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...nload/en379411
I'm experiencing this crackling issue and I'm wondering whether this advice is still valid.

I'm using PT 11 with an MBox 3.

I have the MBox 1.1.10 driver package.

My system specs are Win 7 Pro 64 bit, SP1
i7 930 @2.80 GHZ
24 GB RAM
Samsung 840 Pro 512 GB boot drive

Project files are on an internal WD Caviar Black storage drive.

I never notice this this when recording a real instrument; only when using a mic. Have tried a couple of different mics.

Any advice would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-04-2016, 11:45 AM
tadabailey tadabailey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Randleman, NC
Posts: 3
Default Re: "Crackling" noise during playback and vocal recording

T4D

I did as you advised and it is working great!!!

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-29-2016, 08:19 AM
Pedro perez Pedro perez is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Escondido Ca
Posts: 304
Default Re: "Crackling" noise during playback and vocal recording

I have a simular problem since upgrading to Sierra,all sessions play back fine but if I arm a track for record i get this low level sctrachy sound on and off,if i set buffer to 1024 it seems to go away but playing tru amp models etc, becomes useless. I use Focusrite clarett 8 PT 12.6 sierra any help is apreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-29-2016, 06:50 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,703
Default Re: "Crackling" noise during playback and vocal recording

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pedro perez View Post
I have a simular problem since upgrading to Sierra,all sessions play back fine but if I arm a track for record i get this low level sctrachy sound on and off,if i set buffer to 1024 it seems to go away but playing tru amp models etc, becomes useless. I use Focusrite clarett 8 PT 12.6 sierra any help is apreciated.
Since this section of the DUC is for Windows users, I doubt you will get much help here. Go into the Mac section and post there. Be sure to include great detail on your system, specs, interface, etc(its pretty much impossible to give too much info)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Static "Playback" with Protools and Static "Playback" with windows files 39lashesmedia 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 05-20-2011 05:57 AM
Blocking the "P" and "F" sounds in vocal tracks. ice0-5 Tips & Tricks 6 03-18-2011 10:20 AM
hardware buttons for "preview", "capture" and "punch" evs Post - Surround - Video 1 12-06-2010 12:28 PM
Problems "incree h/w buffersize" in playback/recording shaung 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 07-20-2009 02:15 AM
White noise "bursts" during playback mjames08 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 6 04-06-2009 10:44 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com