Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-30-2007, 02:28 PM
John Peeples John Peeples is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Houston, TX, USA
Posts: 10
Default Single core vs. dual core vs. quad core

Can anyone comment on whether there would be any significant performance increase if I move from a system with 2 Xeon single core CPU's running at 3.8Mhz to either 2 Xeon Dual Core CPU's running at 2.66Mhz or 2 Xeon Quad Core CPU's running at 1.86Mhz?

I know that neither Xpress Pro or Pro Tools are optimized for Dual or Quad core CPU's so I wasn't sure if it was worth the money to move to a newer system.

Any comments or guidance would be appreciated.

John Peeples
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-30-2007, 02:49 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Single core vs. dual core vs. quad core

Quote:
Can anyone comment on whether there would be any significant performance increase if I move from a system with 2 Xeon single core CPU's running at 3.8Mhz to either 2 Xeon Dual Core CPU's running at 2.66Mhz or 2 Xeon Quad Core CPU's running at 1.86Mhz?

I know that neither Xpress Pro or Pro Tools are optimized for Dual or Quad core CPU's so I wasn't sure if it was worth the money to move to a newer system.

Any comments or guidance would be appreciated.

John Peeples
PT has been optimised for Multicore since 7.0....The more the merrier.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-30-2007, 06:03 PM
Che_Guitarra Che_Guitarra is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 323
Default Re: Single core vs. dual core vs. quad core

Agreed - I moved from a 3GHz P4 CPU PC to a Core 2 Duo 2.33GHz iMac and the flexibility has increased dramatically. That said - If I run a 10 track session with a couple of MIDI tracks and lotsa plugins i'll max the iMac's CPU clock pretty easily. Go for the quad core if you can - if you're runnng a digital workstation the more power at your fingerrtips the better set you'll be for the future when more powerful applications arrive. And make sure you have at least 2 Gig of RAM - the best investment you can make.
__________________
A quality equipment list isn't nearly as impressive as quality results
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-01-2007, 08:02 AM
accession accession is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: On the road again... (Australia)
Posts: 1,319
Default Re: Single core vs. dual core vs. quad core

Quote:
Agreed - I moved from a 3GHz P4 CPU PC to a Core 2 Duo 2.33GHz iMac and the flexibility has increased dramatically. That said - If I run a 10 track session with a couple of MIDI tracks and lotsa plugins i'll max the iMac's CPU clock pretty easily.
Really? Something doesn't sound right with your system/figures.

I just completed a session on a Mac Book Pro C2D 2.4GHz with around 30 or so tracks, over 50 plug-ins, and it only ran up a 1/3 on the CPU meter.

Going back a few years, I used to run 32 tracks and around 25-30 plug-ins on a 450MHz G4 too.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-04-2007, 12:03 PM
samplaire's Avatar
samplaire samplaire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 131
Default Re: Single core vs. dual core vs. quad core

G4 = 7200RPM drive; MBP = 5400 (or 4200?) RPM drive - that is your problem.
__________________
MacPro (modified 4,1) 2.93 hexa/GTX770 4GB/28GB/6TB/Audient iD22/10.12.6/PT2018.12/Logic X 10.4.4/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-05-2007, 05:05 AM
accession accession is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: On the road again... (Australia)
Posts: 1,319
Default Re: Single core vs. dual core vs. quad core

Quote:
G4 = 7200RPM drive; MBP = 5400 (or 4200?) RPM drive - that is your problem.
Actually the G4 was 4200 and the MBP is 7200...

...but that wasn't my point.

I'm highlighting the seemingly lack of power of the previous poster's iMac when comparing it to the power of machines I've used over the years. The iMac should be yielding a better result.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-06-2007, 12:37 PM
samplaire's Avatar
samplaire samplaire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 131
Default Re: Single core vs. dual core vs. quad core

uhm... Sorry
__________________
MacPro (modified 4,1) 2.93 hexa/GTX770 4GB/28GB/6TB/Audient iD22/10.12.6/PT2018.12/Logic X 10.4.4/
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-06-2007, 12:46 PM
samplaire's Avatar
samplaire samplaire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 131
Default Re: Single core vs. dual core vs. quad core

Quote:

Actually the G4 was 4200

You mean the PowerBook G4, don't you? My G4 tower (AGP/400) was equipped with a 7200RPM HDD.
__________________
MacPro (modified 4,1) 2.93 hexa/GTX770 4GB/28GB/6TB/Audient iD22/10.12.6/PT2018.12/Logic X 10.4.4/
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-07-2007, 03:25 AM
accession accession is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: On the road again... (Australia)
Posts: 1,319
Default Re: Single core vs. dual core vs. quad core

Quote:
Quote:

Actually the G4 was 4200

You mean the PowerBook G4, don't you? My G4 tower (AGP/400) was equipped with a 7200RPM HDD.
LOL no, I don't mean the PowerBook, I mean the tower. I may not mean the drive speed (actually thinking back, I thought it was a 5400RPM, but as per yours, all google can come up with is 7200RPM so not sure now).

What I do know is hard drive speed ain't issue here.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-07-2007, 03:28 PM
samplaire's Avatar
samplaire samplaire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 131
Default Re: Single core vs. dual core vs. quad core

!
Now I get it! Thanks for sharing the soundpunk pt forum, nice tips there!
__________________
MacPro (modified 4,1) 2.93 hexa/GTX770 4GB/28GB/6TB/Audient iD22/10.12.6/PT2018.12/Logic X 10.4.4/
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which Mac Mini: 2.7 GHz Dual-Core or 2.0 GHz Quad-Core??? ProMac07 Pro Tools 9 17 01-02-2012 06:56 PM
Intel Core i7 2.0GHz Quad-Core Processor or Intel Core i7 2.7GHz Dual-Core Processor? okodub Pro Tools 9 3 09-23-2011 07:33 AM
Mac Pro Dual Quad core compatable with HD pci core & accell cards? PT8716 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 06-28-2010 07:35 AM
Quad Core / Dual Core / Nvidia or not / I'm lost... AndyJCP 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 02-09-2009 02:44 PM
Low-end dual Core or High End Single Core? SwanseaJack 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 08-04-2006 08:28 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:39 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com