Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > ProControl, Control|24, Command|8

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1641  
Old 01-12-2014, 10:43 AM
8dB.co.uk 8dB.co.uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: Control|24 and ProControl with Pro Tools 11?

I have to say that HUI is working fine on 11HD here, even feeding on changes in Meter ballistics to TouchDaw.

11HD has saved me so much time on this latest project - an absolute godsend. Apart from one workspace corruption it's been rock solid too.

Sent from my iPhone killer
__________________
Pro Tools Utimate 2018.7, on -

i7 5820k 6 x 4GHz (12 threads), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, BM Mini Monitor PCIe, GTX 660Ti 2GB;

Dell Laptop, i7 4x3.6GHz (8 threads ), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, GTX1060MaxQ 6GB;

"Plan B" - i7 6700k, 4 x 3.4GHz, 16GB DDR4, Sierra, AJA Kona LHi, GTX 1050Ti 4GB.

RME FireFace802 + ARC, RME Babyface

Avid D-Command, Artist Control, V-Control, Korg MicroKontrol

7.1.2 Presonus Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #1642  
Old 01-12-2014, 03:38 PM
wimbledonsound wimbledonsound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: London, UK
Posts: 18
Default Re: Control|24 and ProControl with Pro Tools 11?

I'm sure PT11 is fabulous if you don't work with video and don't have a ProControl, Control24 etc that are affected by this move. But that's clearly why we are here in this monster thread and anyone with these controllers in a pro facility is unlikely to have personally tried ProTools 11. Not worth the risk.

I think we are at an interesting time technologically where the hardware and software for sound does everything it needs to do for now, and there's no real need to upgrade as often. There's loads of power in a 4 year old computer to do everything we need in music and audio post production, so any upgrade would only really be necessary when something actually wears out, or when the software offers something truly revolutionary. Which it doesn't.

So we vote with our wallets and everyone will continue to request PT7-9 sessions until further notice.
__________________
Sound Designer, Post Production Audio Mixer
www.peterrolls.com
Reply With Quote
  #1643  
Old 01-12-2014, 03:40 PM
8dB.co.uk 8dB.co.uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: Control|24 and ProControl with Pro Tools 11?

I do film and TV post. Have had no problems with video at all. The only "problem" there has been has that 11HD can run types of video that 10 can't.


Sent from my iPhone killer
__________________
Pro Tools Utimate 2018.7, on -

i7 5820k 6 x 4GHz (12 threads), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, BM Mini Monitor PCIe, GTX 660Ti 2GB;

Dell Laptop, i7 4x3.6GHz (8 threads ), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, GTX1060MaxQ 6GB;

"Plan B" - i7 6700k, 4 x 3.4GHz, 16GB DDR4, Sierra, AJA Kona LHi, GTX 1050Ti 4GB.

RME FireFace802 + ARC, RME Babyface

Avid D-Command, Artist Control, V-Control, Korg MicroKontrol

7.1.2 Presonus Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #1644  
Old 01-12-2014, 03:53 PM
wimbledonsound wimbledonsound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: London, UK
Posts: 18
Default Re: Control|24 and ProControl with Pro Tools 11?

I heard reports from ProToolsExpert of poor video playback quality and delay problems on BlackMagic cards in PT11.1... are these now resolved?

Looking forward to getting back on topic...
__________________
Sound Designer, Post Production Audio Mixer
www.peterrolls.com
Reply With Quote
  #1645  
Old 01-12-2014, 03:54 PM
8dB.co.uk 8dB.co.uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: Control|24 and ProControl with Pro Tools 11?

Never been an issue on Windows as far as I know. One massive benefit of 11 is being able to use such devices. 11 was an essential update for me.

Sent from my iPhone killer
__________________
Pro Tools Utimate 2018.7, on -

i7 5820k 6 x 4GHz (12 threads), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, BM Mini Monitor PCIe, GTX 660Ti 2GB;

Dell Laptop, i7 4x3.6GHz (8 threads ), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, GTX1060MaxQ 6GB;

"Plan B" - i7 6700k, 4 x 3.4GHz, 16GB DDR4, Sierra, AJA Kona LHi, GTX 1050Ti 4GB.

RME FireFace802 + ARC, RME Babyface

Avid D-Command, Artist Control, V-Control, Korg MicroKontrol

7.1.2 Presonus Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #1646  
Old 01-12-2014, 04:08 PM
wimbledonsound wimbledonsound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: London, UK
Posts: 18
Default Re: Control|24 and ProControl with Pro Tools 11?

Unfortunately that's not the case for anyone with a ProControl or Control 24. For us it's the opposite experience - our essential interface to the DAW is switched off in PT11 with no viable upgrade path.

At least if I throw away all my hardware and switch from Mac to PC I'll be sorted. Where do I sign? :)
__________________
Sound Designer, Post Production Audio Mixer
www.peterrolls.com
Reply With Quote
  #1647  
Old 01-12-2014, 05:09 PM
8dB.co.uk 8dB.co.uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: Control|24 and ProControl with Pro Tools 11?

Thing is, 11 has increased the power of my existing system with 64bit (a dirty word on this thread I know), and saved me having to switch to a way more expensive Mac in order to use pcie video hardware. So, it's been a saving for people like me. Then throw in the time savings and ease of collaboration and it has more than paid for itself already. I know all about eol's - I was one of those people in the nineties buying six figure digital consoles. One situation could have necessitated a five figure "upgrade" just to keep the console alive, just two years old, as the proprietary hardware was no longer being made. THAT'S getting screwed over by advancing technology....

Sent from my iPhone killer
__________________
Pro Tools Utimate 2018.7, on -

i7 5820k 6 x 4GHz (12 threads), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, BM Mini Monitor PCIe, GTX 660Ti 2GB;

Dell Laptop, i7 4x3.6GHz (8 threads ), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, GTX1060MaxQ 6GB;

"Plan B" - i7 6700k, 4 x 3.4GHz, 16GB DDR4, Sierra, AJA Kona LHi, GTX 1050Ti 4GB.

RME FireFace802 + ARC, RME Babyface

Avid D-Command, Artist Control, V-Control, Korg MicroKontrol

7.1.2 Presonus Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #1648  
Old 01-12-2014, 07:04 PM
bcwiz's Avatar
bcwiz bcwiz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: vancouver
Posts: 508
Default Re: Control|24 and ProControl with Pro Tools 11?

Humph!
Reply With Quote
  #1649  
Old 01-14-2014, 07:10 AM
louieshowers louieshowers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 569
Default Re: Control|24 and ProControl with Pro Tools 11?



hmmm.....yikes. What were they doing right in 2006? I think they should start trying a little harder to make customers happy. I am not naive enough to say that writing drivers for these controllers in PT11 will solve their problems...But it is definitely a piece of the long term solution. That alongside of releasing bugless software that doesn't crash or only work on a narrow range of special tweaked computers.
__________________
Windows 7 64 Ultimate: SP1
PT 10.3.8

------------------------------------------------------
¨WHERE´S MY CHECKBOOK?¨
https://soundcloud.com/louieshowers

Last edited by louieshowers; 01-14-2014 at 10:56 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #1650  
Old 01-14-2014, 07:16 AM
sparky3000 sparky3000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 75
Default Re: Control|24 and ProControl with Pro Tools 11?

Wimbledon,

I work mostly in post as well.

Loads of video problems in 11. Not even sure where to start. Luckily I kept my main system on PT10 which still functions perfectly.

And yes... because of this 11 debacle, I'm committed to spending no money on any avid products for at least 2014.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vote for Control 24/ProControl drivers for Pro Tools 11 tekis ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 14 05-10-2015 05:14 AM
ProControl Vs Mc Control? surroundnoob ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 2 08-13-2011 04:05 PM
Should I get a Control 24 or ProControl??? A Spooner ICON & C|24 3 03-23-2005 10:59 PM
Should I get a ProControl or Control 24??? A Spooner ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 6 03-17-2005 10:48 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:08 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com