Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-22-2010, 11:34 AM
salahadeen salahadeen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Default Three Questions about Pro-Tools LE 8!

Hello folks,

I've been following these forums for a while now, but am glad to finally be a pat of it. Basically I just have three major questions that have been bugging me for the past year and I think it's finally time for some answers! Thank you all in advance for your help. I hope likewise I can return the favor on these boards.

So here are my questions:

1.) How come in some sessions I have to press control - T to zoom in and in others all I have to do is just press T ? I want to be able to just press T without having to hit Control.

2.) Why whenever I record audio into pro-tools does it does it delay for a few seconds before actually recording? Is there a way I can have it start recording the moment I hit record?

3.) Is there a way to have it record a take over a selected area over and over again without having to press record every time I want to record different versions of the same line?

Thanks so much guys. Looking forward to hearing back!
~Omar
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-22-2010, 11:58 AM
BroomPole BroomPole is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 96
Default Re: Three Questions about Pro-Tools LE 8!

Command focus needs to be enabled in order to use hot keys such as zooming with R and T without needing to hold the apple / ctrl key. Look for the little AZ sign in the corner of the window and make sure it's highlighted.

In the transport window make sure Pre Roll is off (Or set to zero) and make sure Meter OFF is not highlighted in the Transport window.

Your looking for "Loop Record" holding apple (might be option I do it without thinking) and clicking on the record button will cycle through your record modes.

-Kevin
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-22-2010, 12:18 PM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: Three Questions about Pro-Tools LE 8!

Hi new poster; I see Broompole has ur questions answered; I jus wanted to WELCOME u & tell u that we're glad that ur a pat
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-22-2010, 12:35 PM
salahadeen salahadeen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Default Re: Three Questions about Pro-Tools LE 8!

Broompole thanks so much! That takes care of the last two questions, although as for the first one, I do have the AZ sign highlighted but it's still not letting me zoom in/out with the R and T. Any ideas?

Thanks Keybeeetsss! I'm glad to finally be a part of the community. :) (What is a pat)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-22-2010, 01:15 PM
salahadeen salahadeen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Default Re: Three Questions about Pro-Tools LE 8!

Nevermind. I found the AZ thing! I thought you meant the AZ in the regions list.

Thank you Broompole for your help!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-22-2010, 04:47 PM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: Three Questions about Pro-Tools LE 8!

Quote:
Originally Posted by salahadeen View Post
Thanks Keybeeetsss! I'm glad to finally be a part of the community. :) (What is a pat)
Quote:
Originally Posted by salahadeen View Post
Hello folks,

I've been following these forums for a while now, but am glad to finally be a pat of it.
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-22-2010, 04:48 PM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: Three Questions about Pro-Tools LE 8!

Quote:
Originally Posted by salahadeen View Post
Thanks Keybeeetsss! I'm glad to finally be a part of the community. :) (What is a pat)
Quote:
Originally Posted by salahadeen View Post
Hello folks,

I've been following these forums for a while now, but am glad to finally be a pat of it.
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-22-2010, 08:14 PM
salahadeen salahadeen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Default Re: Three Questions about Pro-Tools LE 8!

Quote:
Originally Posted by keybeeetsss View Post

lol!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-22-2010, 09:24 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Three Questions about Pro-Tools LE 8!

#2 can also be affected by Record Allocation Time in the prefs
the default is all
try the time setting say 5~10 min depending on what you want to record (just make sure it's set longer than the amount of time you need but not by to much)
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PRO TOOLS 101 questions Euca Design Center 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 05-26-2010 03:06 PM
Pro Tools LE QUESTIONS!!!!!???? coleboy95 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 07-24-2007 09:31 PM
New to Pro Tools. A few questions please. AlanTide General Discussion 0 03-16-2007 05:59 PM
questions about pro tools ae5 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 03-07-2003 11:04 AM
Pro Tools questions Hisham Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 3 11-27-2001 08:53 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com