Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #161  
Old 11-13-2017, 12:36 AM
walter rohrbach walter rohrbach is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Zurich / Switzerland
Posts: 79
Default Re: Gui lag 12.8.2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anibal View Post
Agreeing 100% with Eric Lambert... I have the same problem, it slows me down and frustrates me... why do we have to deal with this kind of incompetence?
……and have to pay annual subscription on top of it???
__________________
------------------------------
walter-rohrbach.com
Reply With Quote
  #162  
Old 11-13-2017, 02:25 AM
marsian marsian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 126
Default Re: Gui lag 12.8.2

Sorry I posted support feedback that wasn't directly related to the GUI lag in 12.8.2.
So to give you the right background I can explain a little bit.

I have problems with CPU spikes and 9093 errors on low buffer settings since PT12. I opened a support case and AVID gave me this feedback:

The issue which you are describing is currently under with our development team and is being worked on.
we are currently aware of performance issues related to UI updates with certain configurations using macOS El Capitan and Sierra and we are working on modernising the drawing APIs PT uses to solve these problems.
I am unable to tell when exactly the issue will be solved.

So it's not clear that the GUI lag in 12.8.2 is related to that. But it's clear that there are problems to solve.


Cheers
Maik
__________________
PT HDN 2018.12, OMNI, SYNC HD, S3, PT Control, MacPro 5,1 12core 24GB, OSX 10.12.6, BM Decklink Extreme 3D v.10.9.10
------------
mars13.de
Reply With Quote
  #163  
Old 11-13-2017, 07:39 AM
Richard Starkey's Avatar
Richard Starkey Richard Starkey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 13
Default Re: Gui lag 12.8.2

Hi,

i'm having the same issues here. 12,8,2 is simply unusable, but... i must admit that i'm using an unsupported configuration (Mac Pro 3.1).

So, it seems nobody found a solution ? Or did i miss something ?

Then i'm thinking of going back to 12.8.1, do i simply have to run the 12.8.1 installer ? Or should i manually uninstall stuff before doing this ?

Thanks :)
Reply With Quote
  #164  
Old 11-13-2017, 07:44 AM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,097
Default Re: Gui lag 12.8.2

Quote:
Then i'm thinking of going back to 12.8.1, do i simply have to run the 12.8.1 installer ? Or should i manually uninstall stuff before doing this ?
I just trashed prefs and workspace files:
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/t...nd_Preferences

Then I trashed the app and copied it from a backup I had. It's not textbook, but it worked fine. Also note that I'm not instantiating the new Facebook plug-ins that came with 12.8.2. Not sure what would happen if I did.

Everything is snappy again!
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
Reply With Quote
  #165  
Old 11-13-2017, 08:10 AM
Stephen Bond's Avatar
Stephen Bond Stephen Bond is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,065
Default Re: Gui lag 12.8.2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard Starkey View Post
Then i'm thinking of going back to 12.8.1, do i simply have to run the 12.8.1 installer ? Or should i manually uninstall stuff before doing this ?
Just rename the "Pro Tools" something like "Pro Tools 12.8.2 R2" in the applications folder and reinstall 12.8.1

Stephen
__________________
Save an additional 10% off any purchase at Waves!

https://www.waves.com/r/9zsnwd
Reply With Quote
  #166  
Old 11-14-2017, 05:47 AM
Richard Starkey's Avatar
Richard Starkey Richard Starkey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 13
Default Re: Gui lag 12.8.2

Thanks

I will try this !! And still hope that Avid's gonna "give" us a usable 12.8.2 !
Reply With Quote
  #167  
Old 11-14-2017, 06:59 AM
toolz toolz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: uk
Posts: 187
Default Re: Gui lag 12.8.2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard Starkey View Post
Thanks

I will try this !! And still hope that Avid's gonna "give" us a usable 12.8.2 !
Completely, we're all paying the subscription, and the reality ..12.8.2, has essential workflow issues, we really need to see 12.8.3 quickly minus the lag.

It often feels like we're the Beta testers!

They really need to get these kind of issues sorted at Beta stage.
__________________
[B][SIZE="1"]System:
PT 12.8.1 HD-Native PCIe, 48 I/O 16x16, 2012 Mac Pro 12 core 3.46Ghz 64gig RAM, UAD Quad FW, Apple 30” Cinema
Reply With Quote
  #168  
Old 11-14-2017, 08:20 PM
BobbyDazzler's Avatar
BobbyDazzler BobbyDazzler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,000
Default Re: Gui lag 12.8.2

Add me to the list with laggy GUI performance.
I'm getting lag with the multi-tool, as its not changing icon when I move up and down in a clip in the edit window. it's showing the select tool but it's working like a grabber tool or fade tool until after I have completed the edit action.
I'm also beach balling for a few seconds after Bouncing, and if I clip gain with control and mouse wheel, I have to wait a second or so for my machine to catch up as it executes every .5 increment.
Back on 12.7.1 and everything is peachy.
__________________
5,1 Mac Pro Dual Hex Westermere 3.6Ghz, 24gig Ram, Pro Tools HD Native 2018.4, Sierra, Blackmagic Decklink HD Extreme 3D.
Reply With Quote
  #169  
Old 11-17-2017, 12:42 PM
Jeff Schmidt Jeff Schmidt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: San Francisco CA
Posts: 286
Default Re: Gui lag 12.8.2

ditto here - all was fine in 12.8.1 on 10.11.6 until I installed 12.8.2x106

I've downloaded the 12_8_1 installer - is there any reason I can't simply re-name 12.8.2x106 and re-install 12.8.1?
__________________
Curiosity skilled the cat.
Reply With Quote
  #170  
Old 11-17-2017, 12:43 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,526
Default Re: Gui lag 12.8.2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Schmidt View Post
ditto here - all was fine in 12.8.1 on 10.11.6 until I installed 12.8.2x106

I've downloaded the 12_8_1 installer - is there any reason I can't simply re-name 12.8.2x106 and re-install 12.8.1?
On the Mac, yes you can do this. PC? no.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:58 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com