Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-25-2018, 04:01 PM
FunkzzaJ FunkzzaJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Sweden
Posts: 33
Default Presets missing on AIR instruments and effects.

Presets missing on AIR instruments and effects.

Only <factory default>

Anyone recognize?
How to fix?
Advice much needed.


PT 2018.10
Win10 (1803)
First AIR effects bundle 2018.4
First Air instrument bundle 2018.3
Application manager 2018.10

App manager installed the Air bundle updates to current.

Been moving from mac (failed GPU) to PC recently, and quite frankly I don't know if the presets was ever installed on the new PC. Might be initial installation that failed somehow. Or the App manager update.

Tried this :

1. Trashed prefs

2. manual re-install xpand2: Download installer-uninstall-install.

Anyone recognize?
How to fix?
Advice much needed.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-26-2018, 04:38 AM
ChuckS ChuckS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,169
Default Re: Presets missing on AIR instruments and effects.

The AIR presets for Xpand should be in your local documents here: C:\Users\yourusername\Documents\Pro Tools\Plug-In Settings

If they are there then something else the issue, check the alternate below or otherwise:

Check to see if they are in your OneDrive documents instead: C:\Users\yourusername\OneDrive\Documents\Pro Tools\Plug-In Settings

I recently had an issue where a reinstallation of OneDrive moved everything local to the cloud. Not sure if this is it, but if you find the Pro Tools folder in your OneDrive\Documents, copy the entire Pro Tools folder to your local documents and see if that fixes.

An alternate is to change the location of these files in Preferences --> Operation.
__________________
PT 2019.6 DP 10.01 VEP 7.x Komplete Audio6 HP Envy 8G i7 Quad Laptop Win10 (x64 1909)
PT 2019.6 DP 10.01 VEP 7.x 828mkII ADA8200 MTP-AV 2011 Mac Mini i7 Quad High Sierra.6
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-26-2018, 08:08 AM
FunkzzaJ FunkzzaJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Sweden
Posts: 33
Default Re: Presets missing on AIR instruments and effects.

Thanks Chuck.

In my file system...

C:\Users\my user name\Documents\
... lacks the Pro Tools folder.

C:\Users\my user name\OneDrive\Documents\Pro Tools\Plug-In Settings
...Contains folders for all plugins EXCEPT the AIR plugins. Both instruments and effects are missing.

C:\Users\my user name\OneDrive\Documents\
...There are 3 more folders pertaining to the ProTools/plugins installation, namely
AIR Music Technolgy
...containing subfolders for 11 AIR Plugs, with EMPTY Preset subfolders
UVI with empty subfolders
... and yet, the Falcon works just fine.
Toontrack with empty subfolders
...and again, as for the Falcon, It works just fine.

I copied the Pro Tools folder from OneDrive to the local disk as you suggested. Same again. <factory default> only

I also copied the AIR Music Technology folder to the local disk, although empty. Same again. <factory default> only

Things work fine except for the AIR plugs.
What to do?
Any other place to find the AIR presets?
Or anything else?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-26-2018, 08:22 AM
ChuckS ChuckS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,169
Default Re: Presets missing on AIR instruments and effects.

Open up C:\ in the Explorer and search on "Mini Grand" - do you get any folder hits?
__________________
PT 2019.6 DP 10.01 VEP 7.x Komplete Audio6 HP Envy 8G i7 Quad Laptop Win10 (x64 1909)
PT 2019.6 DP 10.01 VEP 7.x 828mkII ADA8200 MTP-AV 2011 Mac Mini i7 Quad High Sierra.6
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-26-2018, 08:49 AM
ChuckS ChuckS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,169
Default Re: Presets missing on AIR instruments and effects.

Also check your setting for PT folders in Preferences. If that points to your OneDrive Docs, that's where PT will look for the files. Then you wouldn't have to move/copy anything locally.
__________________
PT 2019.6 DP 10.01 VEP 7.x Komplete Audio6 HP Envy 8G i7 Quad Laptop Win10 (x64 1909)
PT 2019.6 DP 10.01 VEP 7.x 828mkII ADA8200 MTP-AV 2011 Mac Mini i7 Quad High Sierra.6
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-26-2018, 10:07 AM
FunkzzaJ FunkzzaJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Sweden
Posts: 33
Default Re: Presets missing on AIR instruments and effects.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckS View Post
Open up C:\ in the Explorer and search on "Mini Grand" - do you get any folder hits?
I did so for Boom. TRACK presets folder found...
( OneDrive>my user name>documents>ProTools>Track Presets>Avid>Air Ijnstruments bundle>Boom)
...Therein all presets are found but they are TRACK presets (.ptxp file extension), for track preset use, not PLUGIN presets (.tfx file extension). Presets seem to be the same in naming conventions, but another file extention (.ptxp) for use with track presets.

BUT !! using track preset ( I tried it after watching video tutorial ) the session tempo and meter is changed - options presented are
1. to cancel the track preset or
2. let it rule over entire session tempo and meter.
Could otherwise be workable.

And while searching for regular PLUGIN preset file(s) for Boom (.tfx file extension, as in the Plugin settings folder), I couldn't find any for Boom. Not on C: D: or OneDrive. Presumably the same for Mini Grand, Vacuum, etc

Where are the .tfx files ???
Not even installed???

Approaching meltdown, lets hope I'm still missing something.

Please help.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-26-2018, 10:16 AM
FunkzzaJ FunkzzaJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Sweden
Posts: 33
Default Re: Presets missing on AIR instruments and effects.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckS View Post
Also check your setting for PT folders in Preferences. If that points to your OneDrive Docs, that's where PT will look for the files. Then you wouldn't have to move/copy anything locally.
Yeah. got it. It is pointing to the OneDrive folder where all the .tfx files are stored in the Plug in settings folder and all of its sub folders for all the plugins, EXCEpT for the missing AIR plugs. And as mentioned, I can't find .tfx files for the Boom plug anywhere on C: D: or OneDrive.

Other plugs works just fine regarding presets, as far as I have used them, on this new PC. And their folders are populated with .tfx files

Are they hiding somewhere?
Didn't get installed?
Fixed in 2018.12? (Im on 2018.10)
Any AIR installer upgrade coming?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-26-2018, 10:22 AM
FunkzzaJ FunkzzaJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Sweden
Posts: 33
Default Re: Presets missing on AIR instruments and effects.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckS View Post
Also check your setting for PT folders in Preferences. If that points to your OneDrive Docs, that's where PT will look for the files. Then you wouldn't have to move/copy anything locally.
Lenghty reply to this taken by moderator, since Im new around here. Will come sooon we hope.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-26-2018, 10:34 AM
ChuckS ChuckS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,169
Default Re: Presets missing on AIR instruments and effects.

A little bit of work, but you should be able to copy them from the individual plungin folders to your C:\Users\yourusername\OneDrive\Documents\Pro Tools\Plug-In Settings folder. Try one first so you make sure they appear. No guess as to why they're not being installed to the default folder. If you get an answer, please post it.
__________________
PT 2019.6 DP 10.01 VEP 7.x Komplete Audio6 HP Envy 8G i7 Quad Laptop Win10 (x64 1909)
PT 2019.6 DP 10.01 VEP 7.x 828mkII ADA8200 MTP-AV 2011 Mac Mini i7 Quad High Sierra.6
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-26-2018, 11:57 AM
FunkzzaJ FunkzzaJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Sweden
Posts: 33
Default Re: Presets missing on AIR instruments and effects.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckS View Post
A little bit of work, but you should be able to copy them from the individual plungin folders to your C:\Users\yourusername\OneDrive\Documents\Pro Tools\Plug-In Settings folder. Try one first so you make sure they appear. No guess as to why they're not being installed to the default folder. If you get an answer, please post it.
But there aren't any. No AIR instruments or effects folders in the Plug-In Settings folder.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Missing presets for some of my air instruments in pt 11 bloke Virtual Instruments 10 01-17-2017 09:57 PM
workflow for multiple effects presets bruisedreed Pro Tools 11 5 05-15-2015 02:39 PM
No presets for PT Virtual Instruments/Effects Eminence Front macOS 0 04-06-2015 05:11 AM
Effects plug-in presets Missing in PT 10 dearnest Windows 2 12-26-2012 03:47 PM
Avid virtual Instruments presets missing maurtaza Windows 3 04-18-2012 02:31 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:21 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com