Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-12-2005, 12:10 AM
sgladm sgladm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 120
Default New chipset compatibility, can we get a Dimension?

Digi now state that the 925XE is approved for use with the Mbox:

Quote: "---Digidesign's Mbox is not compatible with Intel 925X, 915G or 915P chipsets.
Mbox is now approved for use with the 925XE chipset. Digidesign has not yet tested the new 915GV and 915GL chipsets. Be sure to check with the manufacturer for the model number of the chipset before purchasing.
----"

The Dell 8400 series houses the '925X Express' based on this page http://www1.us.dell.com/content/prod...=04&l=en&s=bsd

Anyone know if the '925X Express' is the same as 925XE? I'm not at all sure it is, but if so it would finally make a current Dell Dimension Desktop compatible with the Mbox.
Since 925X is clearly stated as 'not compatible', it'd be cool to clear this up.

Thanks,

SG
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-12-2005, 03:22 AM
adamBB adamBB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 26
Default Re: New chipset compatibility, can we get a Dimension?

Are Digidesign giving up on MBox? They're basically saying the MBox is only AMD and old Intel compatible. Specifying that only the 925XE of the newer Intel chipsets will work for their cheap starter package is crazy.

Digidesign need to decide if they want to service the cheaper end of the market and either do it properly or not at all.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-12-2005, 08:41 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,860
Default Re: New chipset compatibility, can we get a Dimension?

With so many good AMD choices, why are people so hung up on Intel?
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-12-2005, 09:31 PM
sgladm sgladm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 120
Default Re: New chipset compatibility, can we get a Dimension?

Quote:
With so many good AMD choices, why are people so hung up on Intel?
This is why : http://edealinfo.com/Misc/dell.shtml#DB4700
great machine, $499 with a 17inch flat-panel. Probably would want to throw in some more ram.
It's just hard to beat the prices Dell offers.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-13-2005, 12:28 PM
meeker meeker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
Default Re: New chipset compatibility, can we get a Dimension?

It's not working for me

I have a Dimension 8400 and picked up the Mbox w/ 6.4 (and 6.7) versions of LE yesterday. I haven't had an issue with the chipset until now and I'm still not sure if it is a 925X or 925XE. The Intel Chipset Identification Utility just detects the chipset as "Intel 925X/XE Express Chipset family". With the latest update (ptle67cs8), latest versions of the Dell/Mbox BIOS, etc. I am consistently getting the interrupt error:

"The operating system held off interrupts for too long. If this occurs frequently, try increasing the "H/W Buffer Size" in the Playback Engine panel. (-6086)"

Very disappointing! Note that I'm running XP SP2 (Media Center Edition actually, but I don't think that matters.)

The software appears to run fine on my laptop (Latitude D600 w/ SP2), but I want to use my 8400!

I am also interested to understand if Digidesign is researching a solution for this problem. With the prices on the 8400's and other 925X-based systems, I'm sure that there is a large base of potential customers out there...

Digidesign: Can you give us an update what the plan is for 925X support? Is it an issue with the chipset or the drivers? Is there any way to make a 925X-based system more compatible (less errors) until a fix is available?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-13-2005, 12:38 PM
Allen Hallada Allen Hallada is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sun Valley, ID
Posts: 6,686
Default Re: New chipset compatibility, can we get a Dimens

Quote:
Quote:
With so many good AMD choices, why are people so hung up on Intel?
This is why : http://edealinfo.com/Misc/dell.shtml#DB4700
great machine, $499 with a 17inch flat-panel. Probably would want to throw in some more ram.
It's just hard to beat the prices Dell offers.
I'm trying to figure out where they are cutting the costs here. You can build a comparable but better performing AMD for about the same price with 512 mb of ram. It uses the A7V600 motherboard and XP 2500 processor. Then you can decide what goes in and what doesn't. Either way big praise to Michael for keeping the prices down. They have to be making the money on the service plans and extras you end up buying before you leave the site. I remember once I tried to assemble that 499.00 computer on Dell.com and I could not keep it below the 500.00 mark no matter what I did. I think you have to call them for those prices and wack them on the head when they try to sell you the service plan.

Allen
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-13-2005, 02:47 PM
fabco fabco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 77
Default Re: New chipset compatibility, can we get a Dimens

From what I've read elsewhere on this site, the only issue with this chipset was that some implementations did not supply enough power on the usb ports. In many cases an externally powered usb hub solved the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-14-2005, 05:04 PM
boombatz boombatz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Boulder
Posts: 48
Default Re: New chipset compatibility, can we get a Dimension?

I have not been able to get my Dell 8400 to work either. I finally gave up and installed the Mbox with my older Dell 8200 and it works like a gem.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-14-2005, 05:05 PM
boombatz boombatz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Boulder
Posts: 48
Default Re: New chipset compatibility, can we get a Dimension?

[QUOTE]
Quote:
With so many good AMD choices, why are people so hung up on Intel?
Because I OWN one.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-14-2005, 05:20 PM
meeker meeker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
Default Re: New chipset compatibility, can we get a Dimension?

Check out this thread as well if you haven't already. Looks like we're getting close to things working on the 8400:

Have we figured out a FIX for the 6086 Error Yet??

-meeker
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU/Chipset compatibility orlandorecording.com 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 05-21-2007 09:23 AM
Dimension 3000 with 865GV chipset SixChurchStreet 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 08-25-2005 12:19 PM
Chipset Compatibility jalpunk General Discussion 1 01-25-2005 09:51 PM
Chipset Compatibility jalpunk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-25-2005 06:20 PM
Chipset Compatibility jalpunk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-25-2005 05:44 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:14 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com