Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-10-1998, 10:45 AM
Mark van Aggele Mark van Aggele is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Hilversum, NH, Netherlands
Posts: 4
Default Installing, mute

From Aggele Geluidsstudio's, the Netherlands.
Currently I'm using AudioVision 4.1v5 and OS 8.1

>Are there any other console installing for AV 4.1v5, I only have the read me installing AV 4.0.6.
>Mute after Mark OUT; When I'm recording automatically to the timeline, the machine mutes for a few seconds after the punch OUT. When I check the muted part the sound is normal.
>ProTools 4.1.1 don't run with DAE Extension 3.2.3. (delivered with AV 4.1v5)

Mark
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-18-1998, 08:35 PM
Musiclab Musiclab is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Posts: 144
Default Re: Installing, mute

As far as I know, Pro Tools will work with DAE version 3.2.3. Note that the DAE and DSI (DigiSystem INIT in the Extensions folder) versions must be the same.

AV uses the DSI directly, and doesn't require the DAE. Pro Tools does need the DAE, so this may be where your problem is.

There is a workaround. Make a file (in SimpleText for example) and save in the DAE folder. Be sure to name the file "IgnoreDSIVers".

This will force the DAE to run without checking that the DSI version matche the DAE version. Of course, when the versions don't match, some features may not work properly, but there seems to be no documentation on that (esp. as it would be different for every DAE/DSI combination).

I can't help you with your other question, though. Sorry.

I hope this helps anyway.
Matt Connolly
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-28-1998, 09:29 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,624
Default Re: Installing, mute

First of all, Depending on what version of Pro Tools you are using, Pro Tools most definitely will run on DigiSystem Init (DSI)/DAE 3.2.3

Secondly, I DON'T recommend using mismatched versions of DSI and DAE. Thought Matt's suggestion, in theory, may work there is no reason to do that and in fact you could be causing yourself more hassle than it's worth.

Your best bet is to update the DSI and DAE to 3.3. It can be downloaded here on the Digidesign website.

Most likely, I can't tell for sure because you didn't mention what you are seeing when trying to launch Pro Tools, you are getting the DSI/DAE mismatch error upon launch of Pro Tools.

The fix, update DAE to 3.2.3 as well as DSI or better yet, update both to 3.3.

While you're at it, you should upgrade your version of Pro Tools to be consistent across the board. Give us a call for more info on that, depending on what version you currently have and when you purchased it.

Thanks,

Jon Connolly
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Send mute/solo follows track mute/solo pre-fader Roger_Jam_Jet Windows 3 09-24-2017 02:59 PM
Mute Region or Mute Automation Jeremy Mix3000 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 01-22-2007 08:53 PM
Mute Bug on 6.4 on Osx Golan Amit Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 08-23-2004 06:44 PM
Mute DAMN IT! MUTE!!! hookiefree 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 12-22-2003 02:45 PM
Is there a way to keep PT to mute? marcelloz Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 04-11-2001 10:10 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:41 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com