Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-16-2003, 11:05 AM
quence quence is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Tampa
Posts: 38
Default amount of time to leave cpu on

what is too much...or too low.....
people tell me to leave it on long as possible...others say to cut if off after a certain amount of time...what do you guys reccommend...because the people that were telling me this, dont have digi 001...they just use their cpu's for internet......also, is it a good idea to un plug digi 001 from back of cpu if im not using it ?...
please advise.......thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-16-2003, 11:14 AM
IntelDoc IntelDoc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Monument, Colorado
Posts: 4,193
Default Re: amount of time to leave cpu on

They like to be left on.... Should not hurt it at all. I have the 002 and leave it plugged up all the time. When I want to use it, I turn it on. CPU time should not matter, but it is good to REBOOT from time to time.

If you are using windows, it will usually do it for ya when you least expect it!

Later
__________________
MONUMENT SOUND

MONUMENT SOUND ON REVERBNATION

Monument Sound Facebook

"Changing how people hear music one track at a time"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-16-2003, 11:28 AM
silence_of_stone silence_of_stone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Georgia
Posts: 1,424
Default Re: amount of time to leave cpu on

Reboot!! Good advice. LOL.
Seriously, though, I have heard both sides of the story and personally I turn my computer off when I am not using it. I almost never have problmes with my computers.
I started this habit because i would notice that things would happen during the night, or when I was away, and when I would return I would find my computer all screwed up.
It turns out that my area has frequent power outages, usually no more than a flicker, but several during the day or night would freak out my pc.
Since I do a cold restart once a day, I do not have any problems.
Knock on wood, of course, but its been a while since I have had a debilitating crash since I started this habit.
__________________
Ad astra per aspera...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-16-2003, 11:43 AM
IntelDoc IntelDoc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Monument, Colorado
Posts: 4,193
Default Re: amount of time to leave cpu on

If you do leave it on, I recommend the UPS for the system. Uninterrupted Power Supply. A good one goes for about 100 bucks at your local computer rip off store. Online they are a little less. Get one on your system and the power surges will not be a problem. Helps when you are recording and it is raining outside too. If the house takes an outage, you are still rolling. I leave my stuff on all the time. I actually have 4 systems running. 1 for music, one for animation and rendering, and the others are storage and backup. GEEK I know! But it works. I also have one that scans all my systems for viruses nightly. That way I do not have to put Norton on my PT system. I also use Diskkeeper to defrag nightly too. That is the main reason why I keep them on all the time. Plus, I look at it this way. Servers are setup to run all the time to get things to where they need to go. They are rarely shutdown, rather rebooted and then the cache and temp files cleaned out. I work in the IT world as a Server Administrator for my real job and just see how it works and stays stable. Are home systems servers? Not all, but they can still be run in the same manner. Just make sure that you have proper ventalation for the systems.

Hope that this helps???

Later...
__________________
MONUMENT SOUND

MONUMENT SOUND ON REVERBNATION

Monument Sound Facebook

"Changing how people hear music one track at a time"
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-16-2003, 04:08 PM
Cali Hendrixx Cali Hendrixx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 148
Default Re: amount of time to leave cpu on

The advice i took froms someone on here was to turn in on in the morning and then at night before you got to sleep......that should not bother it at all.
__________________
Hey man im just tring to get a grip on this stuff!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-16-2003, 06:29 PM
kCmCg kCmCg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Nashville
Posts: 159
Default Re: amount of time to leave cpu on

I would just leave it on...doesnt hurt anything. I would however set up a power saving profile that stopped your HDD from spinning after a certian idle time. The mechanical parts is what will wear.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-16-2003, 07:39 PM
Lowfreq Lowfreq is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Newbury Park, Ca.
Posts: 651
Default Re: amount of time to leave cpu on

If you are on your machine several times a day/week, leave it and reboot now and again as mentioned. But if your not using your machine for several days, why not shut it down?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-17-2003, 09:37 AM
minimoog minimoog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 681
Default Re: amount of time to leave cpu on

local power issues aside, it is worth while checking the specs of your hard drives to see what the maximum recommended power-up hours are. this information is available from the manufacturers website. only a recommendation of course but will possibly minimise the risk of hard drive failure.

this goes for all mechanical parts. you don't want the cpu fan to seize while you're out doing the shopping, do you?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-17-2003, 11:28 AM
Steve Moore Steve Moore is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 660
Default Re: amount of time to leave cpu on

If I am not mistaken, power surges happen at startup and shutdown on any power supply. Most power supply failures occur at startup. In other words the machine is running fine, you shut it off and then it won't power back up.

Most IC's getting good power and cooling can stay on for years before 'wearing out'.

So my recommendation is get a good active UPS (don't skimp) that regulates and cleans voltage as well as limits it (spikes, lightning strikes, etc.) and leave your system on. Reboot once in awhile before strating a new session for example.

That being said, cooling is CRITICAL. And I power everything down and unplug from the walls during electrical storms in any event. Same goes for long periods of inactivity (rare for me).

The point is power supplies are the most common form of failure in PC's. The more you turn them on and off the sooner they will fail.
__________________
Cast of Characters Audio
San Antonio, Texas
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please help, trying to fit a set amount of measures to a time marblecatdog 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 22 04-19-2010 06:00 AM
Leave Mbox 2 Pro powered on or off all the time? msb212 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-23-2008 04:15 PM
Do you leave your Mbox/PT on all the time? Herkimer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 05-29-2007 03:27 PM
New AMD MOBO? Is it time to leave the K8V behind? rpatterson38 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 01-04-2005 10:55 AM
amount of time spent on recordings??? metaltim 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 01-31-2003 12:06 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:26 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com