Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-23-2019, 11:34 AM
Steve Garman Steve Garman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Oklahoma City, OK USA
Posts: 23
Default Moving a word from one session to another

In most applications I can "copy" a spoken work in one application, close it, open another, and then paste the word in the other application where I need it. I'm trying to do that in PT 12.8, copy a spoken word, close that session, open another session where I need it and then paste the word there, but that doesn't seem to work anymore. I'm thinking it used to but I may be dreaming. Does anyone know a way you can copy and paste spoken words between different sessions in Pro tools?
Thanks,
Steve
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-23-2019, 12:29 PM
Bob L's Avatar
Bob L Bob L is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 517
Default Re: Moving a word from one session to another

Try this -
Isolate the word and create a whole file.
Rename the file as the word or some other name that makes sense.
Save the session and close.

Open the target session.
Import Audio from the first session.

Marginally more keystrokes than copy and paste, but it should work reliably.
__________________
Bob
"Without a song,
The day would never end..."
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-23-2019, 12:48 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,085
Default Re: Moving a word from one session to another

I don't ever remember being able to copy/paste between sessions.

Do as Bob says and consolidate that word to a new file in the edit window (one combo press) and name it. Then highlight the new file and do a reveal in Finder/Windows Explorer. Open new session, drag that file to where you want it.
For such a small task, you don't need to import audio from another session.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-23-2019, 01:49 PM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,298
Default Re: Moving a word from one session to another

I use Import session data, just select the track where the word is and delete it after the word has been placed in the new track.
https://youtu.be/HL-YAxHcfkI
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-23-2019, 07:06 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,863
Default Re: Moving a word from one session to another

I usually export the clip as a file(same sample rate/bit depth as the source session). If I know where I will send it, and I name it(so its easy to find), I will export directly to the Audio Files folder of the destination session and Import Audio from the destination-session's audio files folder(so I know the file actually IS where I want it to be)(I've been stung before with clips that should have been copied, but weren't)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-24-2019, 09:22 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,642
Default Re: Moving a word from one session to another

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Garman View Post
... I'm thinking it used to but I may be dreaming...

Nope, never could - PT clipboard is cleared when session is closed. Have to either export the file or put the 'word' on a track and then import that into your target session.
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Moving a session. eddiesound macOS 0 08-31-2011 01:57 PM
moving session to another DAW eggdog 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-09-2007 02:00 PM
Moving session to MAC Michael Jessen 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 06-20-2005 01:26 PM
moving session mac to mac gclef 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 07-25-2002 08:46 AM
Moving session from NT to Mac Camilo Orozco Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 6 07-07-2000 10:41 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com