Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-12-2014, 02:56 AM
Concept Chelia Concept Chelia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sarajevo
Posts: 11
Default Upgrade from PT 10HD to PT 11HD? (bought 10HD on eBay)

Hi people,

I need help from you guys!

I would like to buy the upgrade from Pro Tools 10HD to 11HD. Regarding this purchase, I have some issues that I would like to consult with you. I bought a used Pro Tools 10HD (4 license iLok with Pro Tools 9, 9HD, 10 and 10HD).

1. I transferred the license to my iLok account. So right now I have fully control of my Pro Tools 9, 9HD, 10 and 10HD licenses on iLok.

2. I don’t have Pro Tools 10HD registered on www.avid.com, as I didn’t get the System ID for the purchased product (PT 10HD).

My question is, will I be able to buy and install the upgrade option from Pro Tools 10HD to 11HD without the System ID on my avid account?

Thank you in advance! Cheers!

Mirza
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-12-2014, 03:09 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,109
Default Re: Upgrade from PT 10HD to PT 11HD? (bought 10HD on eBay)

I would think you can, because currently HD licenses are non-transferable so therefore the original owner must have done the transfer of ownership with Avid.

I think the Avid store upgrade procedure only needs to see the proper licenses on your iLok where the new license is sent, because the new license only installs to your iLok if you can first surrender the old licenses.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-12-2014, 03:52 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,916
Default Re: Upgrade from PT 10HD to PT 11HD? (bought 10HD on eBay)

Yes What JFreak said. We did this when we traded a HD license a year ago and when you paid for the upgrade from HD10 to HD10/11 you will get a new serial number that you register to your Avid Account. Then you will have your updates and downloads in that account. Thats how it wolrked for us atleast and should work for you as long as you have the ilok asset for the surrender when upgrading.

Best pf Luck
Christopher
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-12-2014, 04:44 AM
Concept Chelia Concept Chelia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sarajevo
Posts: 11
Default Re: Upgrade from PT 10HD to PT 11HD? (bought 10HD on eBay)

Guys, thank you very much for the info! It was really important for me to know the eventual outcome of the purchase.

I only dont understand the "surrender license" thing. As far as I understood you guys, AVID will take away may Pro Tools 10HD license bundle (9, 9HD, 10 and 10HD) from my iLok account and provide me with a new Pro Tools 10HD/11HD license bundle?

Thank you again for the help!

Kind regards,

Mirza
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-12-2014, 04:49 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,109
Default Re: Upgrade from PT 10HD to PT 11HD? (bought 10HD on eBay)

Yes, that is exactly what it means. Except it is iLok that deletes your old license before you get the new one.

So, be mindful when you buy the upgrade. You need to know 100% what kind of license you are surrendering. The PT10HD to PT11HD upgrade won't work if you have a PT9HD/PT10HD bundle. You need to buy exactly correct upgrade product from the Avid store. Outcome will be just the same, you get a PT10HD/PT11HD license bundle, but there is a difference in surrendering old license -- those must match, otherwise it won't work.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-12-2014, 04:56 AM
Concept Chelia Concept Chelia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sarajevo
Posts: 11
Default Re: Upgrade from PT 10HD to PT 11HD? (bought 10HD on eBay)

So is there an option to buy an upgrade from PT 9HD/10HD to PT 10HD/11HD at AVID distributors? Sorry to bother you guys with this stupid questions, but I need the help.

Regards,

Mirza
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-12-2014, 04:59 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,109
Default Upgrade from PT 10HD to PT 11HD? (bought 10HD on eBay)

Yes, and even earlier versions but it costs more and doesn't concern you.

The point I tried to make is that there are different upgrade options available depending on WHICH LICENSE/BUNDLE YOU CURRENTLY HAVE, so don't just buy the first "PT11 upgrade" but please double-check what licence will be upgraded.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-12-2014, 05:01 AM
Concept Chelia Concept Chelia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sarajevo
Posts: 11
Default Re: Upgrade from PT 10HD to PT 11HD? (bought 10HD on eBay)

Thank you Janne!

Cheers,

Mirza
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 10HD upgrades on ebay harrybarnes Pro Tools 10 10 07-17-2014 03:08 AM
PT 11HD still shipping with PT 10HD? jrmintz macOS 10 03-09-2014 01:12 PM
96K session in 10HD with UAD2plugs, will not run on 11HD ericgreedy Pro Tools 11 4 12-19-2013 08:42 AM
Can't import FCP OMF in 11HD, but can in 10HD Arno Peeters Pro Tools 11 1 10-30-2013 07:24 AM
Upgrading from 9HD to 10HD/11HD simonyeah Pro Tools 11 6 09-30-2013 03:10 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com