Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-21-2012, 01:20 PM
jeremy@jjlee.com jeremy@jjlee.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 15
Default Mixture of Mono and Stereo busses

Hi all,

I'm doing a musical on an SC48. I've done straight plays before, and never had the need to mix mono and stereo busses before. But I do now. I need a mono bus for the vocals and a stereo bus for the band.

I can figure out how to do the mixture on the input side (Advanced panning mode) but not on the output side. I'd like to be able to add an EQ and compressor to the Band subgroup, but I can't find a way to do this. I can put mono plugs into 2 busses for the Left and Right, but they are not linked. This means I'd have to copy/ paste EQ settings, and my compressor might make the stereo image quite wobbly since the thresholds aren't linked.

Any way to do this inside the console?

Thanks!

Jeremy
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-21-2012, 01:29 PM
Greg C Greg C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 131
Default Re: Mixture of Mono and Stereo busses

The 24 buss vari-group mode was just added to the SC48 for Venue 3.0. Once you're in that mode, your groups become assignable just like aux sends (they're actually a 3rd page of sends in the aux control section). So instead of using the bus assign buttons, you use the variable group sends. In 24 bus mode you can link the groups (and auxes) into real stereo pairs and apply stereo EQ and compression plugins. It's a bit of a pain to have to use encoders to assign channels to the groups, but at least you can process the groups the way you want now. I have a feature request in to allow the use of the group assigns so that they automatically dial up those encoders to unity. I hope they implement it. Vote for it on the IdeaScale page!

Check out page 78 of the 3.0 User Guide for detail on setting up 24 bus mode.
__________________
Cameron Pro Audio

Exclusively at the Miners Foundry
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-21-2012, 02:03 PM
jeremy@jjlee.com jeremy@jjlee.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 15
Default Re: Mixture of Mono and Stereo busses

Thanks for this! I'm going to check it out. Sounds a little kludgey, but will allow me to do what I need to do.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-21-2012, 02:04 PM
jeremy@jjlee.com jeremy@jjlee.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 15
Default Re: Mixture of Mono and Stereo busses

And thanks for making me look further for a 3.0 version of the SC48 manual. I was looking the other day, and couldn't find it anywhere. That I knew it existed made me persevere...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-05-2012, 11:39 AM
fat_sound fat_sound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Moscow
Posts: 4
Default

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-06-2012, 12:59 PM
dstagl dstagl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 414
Default Re: Mixture of Mono and Stereo busses

You could use the L/R for band and Mono for your vocals. Then add the L/R and Mono to a Matrix and feed the PA from the Matrix section.
__________________
http://www.goingto11.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
making mono track into stereo or double mono in PT7LE VeganMuso 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 02-02-2012 06:36 AM
How to split a stereo bus into 2 mono busses zenstone Tips & Tricks 3 02-16-2011 06:05 PM
Stereo Aux vs Mono Aux and Turning that Mono into stereo via a stereo Plugin JesseF 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 02-14-2010 10:01 AM
I only get 16 mono busses... Ante 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 07-02-2009 09:58 PM
mono or stereo aux busses for effects peter99 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 06-20-2006 06:43 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:21 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com