Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-18-2011, 03:29 AM
dream5695 dream5695 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Posts: 48
Question erasing unused space

I know this has been dealt with before, but I've tried all the others, most of them are outdated...it's just one of those annoying things that I'd like to get sorted...there must be a way...a simple solution...I have 30 or so bars at the end of a session, I wanna delete this space...I have cleared all automation and there is no midi, audio or anything else in these 30 odd bars...why can't I simply remove them....highlite and delete sounds good...but no...won't happen and I don't wanna go down the consolidate route either! There must be some gurus out there who can offer a simple solution...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-18-2011, 04:31 AM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: erasing unused space

Quote:
Originally Posted by dream5695 View Post
I know this has been dealt with before, but I've tried all the others, most of them are outdated...it's just one of those annoying things that I'd like to get sorted...there must be a way...a simple solution...I have 30 or so bars at the end of a session, I wanna delete this space...I have cleared all automation and there is no midi, audio or anything else in these 30 odd bars...why can't I simply remove them....highlite and delete sounds good...but no...won't happen and I don't wanna go down the consolidate route either! There must be some gurus out there who can offer a simple solution...
I'm not quite sure what your problem is here...

Are you saying you have 30 bars left at the end of a song? Or there are 30 bars left after the audio in the session?

If it's the latter... how is it affecting your session? You can have a 2 hour long session with a 2 minute song and you can bounce just the 2 minutes. The session length is irrelevant to the length of the material.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-18-2011, 05:38 AM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,211
Default Re: erasing unused space

I've had this same problem before. I think it's the result of having audio or midi data that may have been cut to make the song shorter, but for some reason Pro Tools thinks the song is still the original length. IIRC, you can try going to the insert/cut time window, select the bars you want to cut and then cut them - I would select the second option to cut everything. Hope that works!
__________________
Help Us Help You



Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
PreSonus Digimax LT
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS High Sierra Version 10.13.6
Pro Tools HD 2019.6
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-18-2011, 09:54 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,866
Default Re: erasing unused space

or if this is a bounce issue(where you don't want to go back and trim the final file for length) you could pick any audio track that runs from start to finish, consolidate this one track, and select it when you do your bounce(the bounced file will be that exact length).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-18-2011, 10:31 AM
dream5695 dream5695 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Posts: 48
Default Re: erasing unused space

Thanks for the feedback....no it's not a Bounce issue....it's easy to highlite the bars you want in the song and Bounce them...you get just what you want....I guess it's more of an aesthetic thing.....try it yourself...open a new session.....create a few tracks, one of them an instrument track....assign an instrument...in my case Strike....place a midi note in the Midi Edit window...click play and let Pro Tools play the loop....I do this to get the tempo right for a song by playing a guitar along to the kit, better than a click-track!!! Now, Pro Tools may go on for a 100 bars before you stop the drums....then try getting rid of all those bars....you end up with a [bleep][bleep][bleep][bleep] load of space that you don't want....you should be able to just highlite them and delete....as I said before....I can usually find a way to do most things but this has just stump me....maybe there is no way....because as you say....it doesn't matter how much clear space there is at the end of a session....it makes no diffrence when doing the Final Bounce....it's just a matter of tidying things up....why have to highlite the bars you want, why not tidy things up, beginning and end....and Bounce??
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-18-2011, 12:11 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,211
Default Re: erasing unused space

Did you try what I suggested? That usually works for me. The biggest annoyance for me with this issue was when zooming - it messes up the whole zoom scheme.
__________________
Help Us Help You



Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
PreSonus Digimax LT
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS High Sierra Version 10.13.6
Pro Tools HD 2019.6
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-18-2011, 04:29 PM
zoff zoff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 174
Default Re: erasing unused space

Quote:
Originally Posted by cwsand View Post
Did you try what I suggested? That usually works for me. The biggest annoyance for me with this issue was when zooming - it messes up the whole zoom scheme.
I'm not the OP, but I have (I think) the same problem. I have a session that has 1 minute of audio but the timeline is 82 minutes long, don't know how it got that way. Zooming would be much easier if I could get rid of the extra space. I've tried the Cut Time window but it doesn't seem to do anything.
__________________
macOS High Mojave 10.14.2
2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 MacBook Pro Retina, 16 GB RAM
Pro Tools 2018.12
Apogee Duet (Firewire)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-18-2011, 05:33 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: erasing unused space

There's nothing to do in the timeline if you want to shorten it.

Check out preferences. You can set the timeline length in there.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-19-2011, 02:06 AM
dream5695 dream5695 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Posts: 48
Cool Re: erasing unused space

Yer..tried everything...gonna give up on this one....if you click the bottom right + sign, Pro Tools will just zoom out and create 100's more bars....when yer zoom in....it still leaves the odd 60 bars at the end of ALL yer work....you can't zoom in or out to just leave what you've done....there are always empty bars to scroll to.....I've worked with other sequencers far less powerfull than PT and yer can tidy things up just right.....maybe PT don't see this as a priority....heh...but thanks for the offerings....much appreciated
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-19-2011, 08:39 AM
grendizer grendizer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Beirut, Lebanon
Posts: 112
Default Re: erasing unused space

i like this idea!(provided, i understood you correctly) if the song ends at bar 80, there should be an option to lock PT up the timeline from bar 1 to bar 80. in other words, if you zoom all the way out, your window would look bar 1<------------->80 full view.

theres many times where i zoom scrolled out to fast and ended up at bar 376 somewhere. and im like " wth is this? whered my song go?"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
clearing unused regions/disk space jameynate 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-20-2007 12:08 PM
Unused Audio Files NOT ERASING!!! kiwishock 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 10-24-2007 07:51 AM
Eliminating Unused Files/Freeing Up Disk Space benom 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 06-20-2004 10:58 PM
Delete unused space at end of a song? citi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 10-03-2002 01:39 AM
Drive space and unused Audio Princeton 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 06-27-2002 01:31 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:39 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com